Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-07, 11:33 PM   #37
miahallen
Registered User
 
miahallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 73
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48
i can. is there a way to set the affinity to only 2 cores? cuz when you start it up its just command prompt. do i change the affinity on command prompt or wait till the loop start. and then, will the game crash if i change the affinity while it's looping? once i know how, i will give you guys benches!
You can ALT-TAB at the load screen and change the affinity...but do not ALT-TAB back in, just minimize the task manager, for me ALT-TABing back in took me out of fullscreen mode. But for the benches I just listed, I did it in windowed mode anyhow, it simplified the process.
__________________
THE POST COUNTER IS NOT AN INTELLIGENCE METER
Asus Rampage IV Formula || i7 3820 @ 5GHz || 32GB G.SKILL @ 2000MHz
tri-SLI eVGA GTX 580 @ 900-1150MHz || 120GB Vertex 3 & 500GB Momentus XT
Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU || Samsung 305T Plus || Windows 7 x64
miahallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 12:57 AM   #38
miahallen
Registered User
 
miahallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 73
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
Next I'll be checking the scaling with the CPU @ 333x9=3.0GHz
CPU @ 333x9=3000MHz
PCIe @ 100MHz
RAM @ 800MHz 4-4-4-12 T2

1 Core
0.09/17.46/45.47

2 Cores native
20.18/36.12/47.47

2 Cores non-native
22.11/36.98/47.24

3 Cores
19.87/36.38/48.76

4 Cores
20.36/36.28/46.31
__________________
THE POST COUNTER IS NOT AN INTELLIGENCE METER
Asus Rampage IV Formula || i7 3820 @ 5GHz || 32GB G.SKILL @ 2000MHz
tri-SLI eVGA GTX 580 @ 900-1150MHz || 120GB Vertex 3 & 500GB Momentus XT
Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU || Samsung 305T Plus || Windows 7 x64
miahallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 01:40 AM   #39
StellaArtois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
CPU @ 333x9=3000MHz
PCIe @ 100MHz
RAM @ 800MHz 4-4-4-12 T2

1 Core
0.09/17.46/45.47

2 Cores native
20.18/36.12/47.47

2 Cores non-native
22.11/36.98/47.24

3 Cores
19.87/36.38/48.76

4 Cores
20.36/36.28/46.31
Good testing. Looks pretty limited at 2 cores and above. Could you please try a run with all crysis settings to low, except physics at very high?
StellaArtois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 01:43 AM   #40
miahallen
Registered User
 
miahallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 73
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
Multi-core will be beneficial in the experience, particularly in faster but also smoother framerates. 64-bit and higher memory will yield quicker loading times. We recommend quad core over higher clock.
What I find most interesting about my results, is that not only is the E6850 better than the Q6600, but it's just as good as the QX6850.

Of course these results are only for the demo, where the claim was made about the game...we'll see
__________________
THE POST COUNTER IS NOT AN INTELLIGENCE METER
Asus Rampage IV Formula || i7 3820 @ 5GHz || 32GB G.SKILL @ 2000MHz
tri-SLI eVGA GTX 580 @ 900-1150MHz || 120GB Vertex 3 & 500GB Momentus XT
Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU || Samsung 305T Plus || Windows 7 x64
miahallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 02:37 AM   #41
Chrisimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

How about someone of you quad-core users place a very strong tornado into the island map at the first outpost (with the GPS jammer) and measures his core usage?

I can bring my framerate to 0 if the tornado is strong enough. I have a dualcore but didn't measure the core usage yet. How do you do it btw. I've read somewhere that I shouldn't use the Task Manager...
Chrisimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 11:41 AM   #42
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Yea and prove Crevat Early wrong..
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 02:33 PM   #43
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

From my testing I haven't seen more than two cores being used. Unreal Engine 3 games use the 4 cores much more than Crysis.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 06:04 PM   #44
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by miahallen
Already been working on it.
Thanks for the test!

too bad no advantage after 2 cores though
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-07, 06:12 PM   #45
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Who is this guy?

Okay, I can perhaps imagine, someone from a relatively big publication getting a prerelease gold copy of the game from Crysis. But if I were EA, I'd put him under a NDA to not say anything until after the game is released...... Anyone else think this is odd? Or this guy Peckham and PCWorld thought it was worth breaking the NDA for...... Or the EA didn't make him go under NDA, or the NDA expired already...
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 10:01 PM   #46
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by TacoXPS2
Crysis demo is multi-core. I ran windows task manager under performance both cores were at 75% on my E6400 @ stock. I wanted to make sure so I went into BIOS and disabled core 2 and ran the CPU benchmark with rez @ 800x600 all medium settings. I averaged 24 FPS. Then went back and re enabled core 2, ran bench and got 38 FPS. Crysis is obviously using more than 1 core. I'm not sure why everyone thinks its single. I'm sure it doesn't use much resource on a quad, but dual definitely benefits.

Ran test on:
Windows XP SP2: nVidia 7950gt 169.04 drivers: 2 GB DDR2 @ 800: E6400 @ 2.13 Ghz


I played the demo again last night @ 1920x1200,everything on high,but particles,and post processing,and volumetric effects on medium,and I also had the task manager running on my secondary LCD.All four cores were pumping away with 1 and 2 between 70 to 90%,and 3 and 4 hovering around 30 to 55% each.I did nothing to the ini,or any other game files.All I did was boot it up like I normally do. Its possible I still had **** running in the background though.

I hope the FULL retail game does what Cevat said it would on a QUAD,or many will cry foul.... and be quite pissed,given that more then a few other titles already take some advantage of a quad now.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 10:09 PM   #47
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legend
There are a handful of games that currently make use of a quad and a whole lot more coming very soon. Also G0 stepping Quads overclock about as well and some even better than dual cores.
I'm getting the same overclock on my quad as I did with my E6600. I understand the Quads take more juice to overclock. I'm afraid to go for more because it sucks more power to do so. My set up should be running at least a 750 watt PSU for what I have and I only have a 650 watt.
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 10:23 PM   #48
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by malachi1313
I'm getting the same overclock on my quad as I did with my E6600. I understand the Quads take more juice to overclock. I'm afraid to go for more because it sucks more power to do so. My set up should be running at least a 750 watt PSU for what I have and I only have a 650 watt.
The G0s don't take more juice--at least in most cases they don't. I'm running less voltage on my quad than I did my E6600 and I'm clocked 150MHz higher.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.