Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-02, 09:28 AM   #1
Jake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 5
Default TNT2 M64 vs Voodoo3 3000 AGP

Hello,
Is there any way to set Windows Home Edition to allow me the option to boot using different vidio cards? The reason im asking this is because my Sony Vaio PC came with a TNT2 M64 with which I am using the 2832 drivers with no problems but there are no video outputs on the TNT2 card. I still have my old Voodoo3 3000 AGP which has a s-video out. My camcorder has a s-video out jack also so I thought the V3 3000 AGP gives me the connection possibility with my camcorder. I ask this also because I have read quite a few posts where people mentioned how well their Voodoo3 worked. Anyways, if there is not a way to set up XP Home to do this, do you think I should just remove the TNT2 M64 and install the V3 3000 AGP? Or should I just live with the TNT2?

Any help would be much appreciated

Thank you

Jake

Sony Vaio
1.5GHz Intel Pentium 4
Windows XP Home Edition
400MHz FSB
256MB PC-133 SDRAM
Maxtor 60-GIG 4D060H3
Pioneer DVD-Rom DVD-117R
Sony CD-RW CRX175E
Nvidia Riva TNT2 Model 64(sony)
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 12:49 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I think you should get rid of both of those cards and buy either an ATI All-in-Wonder 8500 64 mb or a GeForce4 Ti4200 that has VIVO. Either card you can pick up for $200 (the Ti4200 often times will be less ~$160) and you'll get the functionality you're looking for, as well as darn good gaming performance which will compliment your system.

Edit: If your Voodoo3 is AGP, you obviously can't have 2 AGP cards in the same system.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 05:07 PM   #3
Jake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 5
Default

Hi saturnotaku,

Yup, i've been looking at the G4 TI 4200 and will get it soon. But, untill then do you think it would be worth my time to pull the TNT2 and install the V3 3000 for the s-video capability of the V3 so I can use my camcorder? If doing so is gonna result in a noticable graphic loss then I wont even bother and will wait for the TI4200.

thank you.....

Jake

Sony Vaio
1.5GHz Intel Pentium 4
Windows XP Home Edition
400MHz FSB
256MB PC-133 SDRAM
Maxtor 60-GIG 4D060H3
Pioneer DVD-Rom DVD-117R
Sony CD-RW CRX175E
Nvidia Riva TNT2 Model 64(sony)
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 06:13 PM   #4
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Wait....ummm....

The S-Video connection on the voodoo is an S-video OUT, am I correct?

If that is the case, then if you connect your camcorder, using the s-video OUT connection, to the s-video OUT connection on the voodoo, then you get zilch.

Two ports trying to send data, none receiving it.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 06:28 PM   #5
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

If Nephilim is right (and I think he is) you won't be able to do a thing with your camcorder. You need to get a card that has video-in to be able to do any kind of capturing. If this will be the primary purpose of getting the card (as opposed to playing games) then I would say get the AIW 8500. If video capture is something secondary to other uses, then get the Ti4200. In either case, hold out and get one of those cards, especially if there's no video-in on that V3. Even if there is, I would still wait because the capture quality probably isn't going to be exceptionally good, especially when you compare it to what NVIDIA and ATI offer.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 09:03 PM   #6
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the Voodoo3 is almost certainly a better card than the TNT2 M64, swap away!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-02, 05:17 AM   #7
Jake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 5
Question

Hi again,

Why would the s-video on the V3 3000 AGP be video out? Out to do what? I thought the idea was to get video onto a computer so it could be edited. Thank you everyone for your assistance.

Jake
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-02, 02:29 PM   #8
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

That would be for TV output, to use your TV as your monitor.
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-02, 02:53 PM   #9
ErrorS
Registered User
 
ErrorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: indiana
Posts: 77
Default

they got a 8500DV at newegg for $163(USD) and free shipping.. has all the connections you need:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...tby=14&order=1

and it's a hell of a deal

ATI ALL-IN-WONDER RADEON 8500DV 64MB DDR AGP-BULK The revolutionary all-in-one 3D, TV and video experience Powered by the RADEON 8500 GPU 64MB DDR memory Connect a digital camcorder to a PC Digital and analog video capture & editing Radio-frequency remote control Stereo TV-tuner TV-ON-DEMAND Time shifting Interactive Program Guide DVD video playback with Dolby® AC-3 digital audio outputOEM BULK PACK,NO GAME SOFTWARECore 250/Memory 250 Model#: A-I-W 8500DV OEM -OEM Special Free FedEx Saver Shipping

oh lemme add.. a normal vivo card only has s-video out and composite in .. so you would have to get an s-video to composite adapter .. doing this would lose you some quality cuz s-video = ownage
__________________
wrfwrf

Last edited by ErrorS; 08-24-02 at 02:55 PM.
ErrorS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 01:55 AM   #10
Jake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 5
Smile

Hiya's,

I am just learning the digital pic and video in-out portion of computers and V-Cards. Joining this forum has already accelerated the process. I really appriciate your help and want to thank you all for your help.

That 8500DV looks like a good deal. How does it compare to G4 TI4200 in a XP machine?

thank you........

Jake
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 02:40 AM   #11
Bigus Dickus
GF7 FX Ti 12800 SE Ultra
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 651
Default

The Ti4200 will offer better gaming performance, by some 15% to 30+% depending on the game. I'm not that familiar with the ViVo editions of the Ti4200 (which is what you'd be interested in).

The 8500DV will offer the remote wonder package, TV tuner, and all the analog/digital in/out connections you'll need. It also has pretty good gaming performance.
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 04:18 AM   #12
Jake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 5
Default

Bigus Dickus,

Thank you very much.

Jake
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 and overclocked AGP Prefect47 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-16-02 03:50 PM
How much heat can a GeForce4 Ti 4600 handle? Velkator NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-03-02 04:41 PM
NVidia - TNT2 M64 - X Hangs themann NVIDIA Linux 3 09-01-02 02:16 PM
TNT2 M64 and Direct3D drivers? Mist NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 08-13-02 11:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.