Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-07, 06:40 AM   #1
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default XP32 or Vista64 ?

These are what I have for OSs. I'm not spending on a XP64 so I can "dual boot"..Its one or the other. I went to Vista64 back in the summer so I could "use" all 4gigs of RAM and have the best DX10 experience for this season's games....I'm not unhappy at all with Vista64, it has been generally great, stable and fast. ..I am very unhappy\unimpressed with DX10 gaming. Its a dog on performance and buggy.
This is what I'm playing, NWN2, The Witcher, Hellgate, CoD4 and FEAR: PM...All of which I'd have no problem playing in DX9 under XP. The only other game(s) I plan to buy for a long time is Crysis (and GoW if the crash is resolved or I go to XP) and I'm passing the next round of vid cards.
So the Big Ass question is... Is Crysis worth keeping Vista\DX10 for?
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:02 AM   #2
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

You can run your games in Vista in DX9 mode. Crysis or Gears of War run at the same speed on Vista than XP if you run them in DX9. Lots of people thinks that if you are in Vista you HAVE to run games in DX10.

If you have 4 Gb RAM you can enjoy gaming in Vista like in XP.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:39 AM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaiN
So the Big Ass question is... Is Crysis worth keeping Vista\DX10 for?
actually the big ass question should be, is it worth keeping xp around.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:42 AM   #4
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Use XP-32 today, and upgrade to Vista-64 in the future.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:45 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

he has vista already
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:52 AM   #6
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman
Use XP-32 today, and upgrade to Vista-64 in the future.

QFT - stick with XP 32 for now. You can always install Vista at a later time. Or setup dual boot. Or what I prefer to do is install Vista on a second HD that way you can switch over and play with that or test (or try a game), but when you are done switch SATA cables back and you still have your XP. I don't boot from the Vista drive much, but it's there to test performance, new drivers, patches, games, etc. Yet with a 2 second switch of the SATA cables I'm back to XP.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:52 AM   #7
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
he has vista already

Sorry Bill Gates, look like you are losing another one
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 08:03 AM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

you really stick to negative vista threads like **** to toilet paper.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-07, 08:05 AM   #9
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

You should have absolutely no issues running all the games you mentioned in Vista x64 with your rig. I see no reason at all to go back to XP tbh

Edit- GoW runs flawless on my rig with zero crashes, not sure what gave the impression that it wouldn't
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 09:05 AM   #10
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Sorry, ppl didn't mean to come across so neg., I was having a bad moment this morning....The whole GoW crashing thing got under my skin along with the poor and buggy DX10 performance of Hellgate and the Crysis demo.

As for GoW I was reading 24+ pages of the official thread on the crashing issues...and it looks like as many XP users as Vista users have the same prob...
I had two cups of strong Jo, pulled myself together....and stopped having crazy ideas
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 09:10 AM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaiN
Sorry, ppl didn't mean to come across so neg., I was having a bad moment this morning....The whole GoW crashing thing got under my skin along with the poor and buggy DX10 performance of Hellgate and the Crysis demo.

As for GoW I was reading 24+ pages of the official thread on the crashing issues...and it looks like as many XP users as Vista users have the same prob...
I had two cups of strong Jo, pulled myself together....and stopped having crazy ideas
DX10 is a crazy beast. DX10 will run slower once developer starts enabling all these extra crazy new features, which usually don't improve on visuals.

look at Bioshock dx9 and dx10 performane is pretty much the same. look at lost planet performance will be the same if you keep the same things. once you start enabling all the extra dx10 settings performace will go down.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 10:34 AM   #12
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: XP32 or Vista64 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
you really stick to negative vista threads like **** to toilet paper.

as do you.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.