Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-07, 05:26 AM   #1
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Hi,
I've got a GeForce 8600M GT using latest 100.14.19 driver.

When I run compiz-manager from a consolle I see:
compiz-manager
Checking for Xgl: not present.
Detected PCI ID for VGA: 01:00.0 0300: 10de:0407 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Comparing resolution (1280x800) to maximum 3D texture size (8192): Passed.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
Checking for Xgl: not present.
Starting kde-window-decorator

why xgl is not present? What does it means?
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 09:20 AM   #2
mooninite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 477
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

That's perfectly normal and that's exactly what you want.

XGL is not required and you do not want to use it.

XGL was required a long time ago because the nVidia driver did not support the GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap extension. Now it does, so XGL is no longer required.
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 07:28 PM   #3
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooninite
That's perfectly normal and that's exactly what you want.

XGL is not required and you do not want to use it.

XGL was required a long time ago because the nVidia driver did not support the GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap extension. Now it does, so XGL is no longer required.
Ok, if you tell me that is normal is ok

I have another questions...
When I start compiz with:
compiz --replace gconf

I've got this error:
compiz (video) - Warn: No 8 bit GLX pixmap format, disabling YV12 image format

What does it means?

I have another problem too
When I use KDE with compiz enabled and I switch to framebuffer usinf CTRL + ALT + F1 and then return to kde with ALT + F7 kde seems to crash.
I can see only a black screen and I need to kill kde with CTRL + ALT + BACKSPACE.

Can you help me please? This is very annoying...
Thanks!
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 08:48 PM   #4
mooninite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 477
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Do this as root:

Code:
nvidia-xconfig --add-argb-glx-visuals
Then restart X (CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE) and try again.
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 06:17 AM   #5
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooninite
Do this as root:

Code:
nvidia-xconfig --add-argb-glx-visuals
Then restart X (CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE) and try again.
I have this line in my xorg.conf,
same problem.
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 06:59 AM   #6
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

this error is harmless, its from the video plugin that requires a patched mplayer to work anyway. It should not cause you any problems. If you have any thats you are searching in the wrong place.
So what exactly does not work for you?
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 07:16 AM   #7
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
this error is harmless, its from the video plugin that requires a patched mplayer to work anyway. It should not cause you any problems. If you have any thats you are searching in the wrong place.
So what exactly does not work for you?
If you read better there is something else that isn't harmless.
I have another problem too
When I use KDE with compiz enabled and I switch to framebuffer usinf CTRL + ALT + F1 and then return to kde with ALT + F7 kde seems to crash.
I can see only a black screen and I need to kill kde with CTRL + ALT + BACKSPACE.

Can you help me please? This is very annoying...
Thanks!
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 07:22 AM   #8
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

which driver version are you using?
try disabling sync_to_vblank if you are using a driver version < 100.14.23
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-11-07, 08:14 AM   #9
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
which driver version are you using?
try disabling sync_to_vblank if you are using a driver version < 100.14.23
I'm using 100.14.19.
Where I can find 100.14.23 and how can I disable sync_to_vblank?

Please be patient, help me
Thanks!
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 06:48 PM   #10
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: Fedora 8 and compiz fusion....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sblantipodi
I'm using 100.14.19.
Where I can find 100.14.23 and how can I disable sync_to_vblank?

Please be patient, help me
Thanks!
Disable sync to vblank in nvidia-settings ( for example in terminal: nvidia-settings ).

100.14.23: http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d...100.14.23.html .
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Bug Report] Xid error after resume with 307.02, and compiz stops working. John K. NVIDIA Linux 0 05-09-12 02:42 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.