Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-03, 04:48 PM   #1
DaveLister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Dwarf
Posts: 5
Angry Inspiron 8100 and Mandrake 9.0

I have been trying to get version 3123 working on Mandrake 9.0. Later versions don't work at all. I can get it to come up sometimes when I start it in failsafe mode, but never in a normal Linux boot. Attached is the log file generated.

Help!
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.txt (16.2 KB, 200 views)
DaveLister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 06:41 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Can you insert NVdriver by hand? If that works, does X then start?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 12:40 PM   #3
DaveLister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Dwarf
Posts: 5
Angry

DaveLister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 12:41 PM   #4
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Type
Code:
modprobe NVdriver
then
Code:
startx
Does that work? Does NVdriver insert correctly?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 12:53 PM   #5
DaveLister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Dwarf
Posts: 5
Default

No, that didn't help.

Here is the log file with the blank screen.

Getting very frustrated!
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (22.5 KB, 123 views)
DaveLister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 12:57 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

You're now able to initialize the kernel module, so something definitely changed. I imagine that your /etc/modules.conf doesn't have the right lines in it. Your log indicates that X successfully started.

Why are you ignoring the EDID? It could be you're getting a blank screen because the mode that X selected for your screen isn't correct.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 01:34 PM   #7
DaveLister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Dwarf
Posts: 5
Talking

That did it!

I was doing that because a number of other things I read recommended it.

I would like to upgrade to the latest drivers now - but I am afraid to.

Atached is the XF86Config-4 file which finally worked for version 3123.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (3.0 KB, 175 views)
DaveLister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.