Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-07, 06:01 PM   #37
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Cfg editing ftw. I wish somebody would make a simple config program (with a GUI) where you could could adjust all the advanced settings, effects, sliders, press APPLY and it would create a new config and you could play Crysis how you want it.
That would be awesome. I loved the apps people made to tweak Thief III and Deus Ex 2.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 06:15 PM   #38
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Cfg editing ftw. I wish somebody would make a simple config program (with a GUI) where you could could adjust all the advanced settings, effects, sliders, press APPLY and it would create a new config and you could play Crysis how you want it.
yea that would come in handy... once i get the game im going to use the very high tweaks in XP and see how it runs but i have a feeling im going to have to go into some in-depth tweaking to make it look good and run decent at 1920x1200
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 07:46 AM   #39
mumstheword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 509
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Anyone try the full 'Very High' config in dx9? Is there anything better added?
__________________
q6600@3.0ghz
8800GTS-320mb 650/1000
4gb ram
mumstheword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 08:13 AM   #40
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

No there is zero difference visually between retail and demo. Zero difference performance wise between demo and retail. What you see in the demo is exactly what you get in retail... only you get a much bigger and better experience game-wise.

I think it's been made common knowledge now that there are much more advanced shaders crysis can use but they didn't include them in the game becuase it would bring even the most powerful machines to it's knees.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 01:23 PM   #41
Talon
Registered User
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 75
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Now that's a great idea. I hope someone does that. I used something like that to configure glQuake. It rocked. I could set every graphical setting and launch the game from it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Cfg editing ftw. I wish somebody would make a simple config program (with a GUI) where you could could adjust all the advanced settings, effects, sliders, press APPLY and it would create a new config and you could play Crysis how you want it.
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 02:21 PM   #42
shrapnel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Hi all
Will someone running Windows Vista 64 bit please confirm that running Crysis with 4GB RAM gives a better frame rate than running it with 2GB RAM ?
__________________
CPU - Intel Core I7 920
MOBO - MSI X58
2x SLI-Zotac AMP GeForce GTX 480 and Leadtek GeForce GTX 480
Monitor- Samsung 2233RZ 120 Hz (3D ready)
Memory - 6GB G-Skill
PSU - CorsairHX 1000 W
Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
shrapnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 02:24 PM   #43
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrapnel
Hi all
Will someone running Windows Vista 64 bit please confirm that running Crysis with 4GB RAM gives a better frame rate than running it with 2GB RAM ?
There will be no HDD/pagefile related stuttering and that usually affects the minimum framerates. You can avoid this stuttering by using "high" textures instead of "veryhigh" on computers with 2GB.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 08:57 PM   #44
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

For those claiming the retail runs better than the demo...can we see some benchmark results to back these claims up ?

If i dont see people with at least a 10 fps increase on HIGH settings in the retail from the demo....im not gonna buy it just yet.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-07, 09:25 PM   #45
ahheadlock
Registered User
 
ahheadlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 360
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrapnel
Hi all
Will someone running Windows Vista 64 bit please confirm that running Crysis with 4GB RAM gives a better frame rate than running it with 2GB RAM ?
I installed vista 64 to run retail version on, since i heard it would perform better. Plus i bought more ram to make use of it.

Retail under x64 w. 4gb ram is running slower than the demo did on x32 with 2gb. The load times are better and so is the IQ. I put that down to the driver. The cruddy texture / water reflection bugs running in 32bit with 169.04 didn't occur in 64bit, which probably account for a lot of the performance drop. Since installing 169.09 the performance has gotten closer, although i noticed 32bit was still a slightly faster in the time demo, but not as much as it was before.

In game it doesn't seem to matter if i run under 32 or 64 bit (or even dx9 or dx10). With detail set to high the performance is pretty much uniformly bad.
ahheadlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 10:15 PM   #46
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

I get horrible stutters in Vista with 2 GB of ram. In XP it plays smooth as can be with no hitches at all! I'm wondering if more ram would help that or if it's just a waste of money.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 10:25 PM   #47
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC
I get horrible stutters in Vista with 2 GB of ram. In XP it plays smooth as can be with no hitches at all! I'm wondering if more ram would help that or if it's just a waste of money.

Vista was just a waste of money. Plays better in XP anyways.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 10:58 PM   #48
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Retail Crysis plays better than DEMO....

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrixteH
For those claiming the retail runs better than the demo...can we see some benchmark results to back these claims up ?

If i dont see people with at least a 10 fps increase on HIGH settings in the retail from the demo....im not gonna buy it just yet.
Theres no fps gain it just plays smoother and doesnt tank with alot of action on screen for me...
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:30 PM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 10:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.