Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-07, 06:53 PM   #13
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

I wish Crysis used up all of my quads. Only thing I've seen so far max my quad was the Windows Performance Index thingy...

Oh yeah I'm having a good day with the technical terms. Was up late playing as much Crysis as i could.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 06:59 PM   #14
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Did any of you guys actually buy a quad specifically for Crysis?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:16 PM   #15
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

I duno about the rest of you but on my machine its using all 4 cores?

__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:23 PM   #16
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

I'd say it doesn't max out all 4 cores for me....but it definitely uses them. Each of them runs at ~50% while playing the game..... (just like aceflier above)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:25 PM   #17
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceflier
I duno about the rest of you but on my machine its using all 4 cores?
The point is that the game isn't using more than what two cores would provide. Your proc is only running at 47.75% capacity in that shot. Can you get a shot that breaks 50%?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:32 PM   #18
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Lightbulb Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
The point is that the game isn't using more than what two cores would provide. Your proc is only running at 47.75% capacity in that shot. Can you get a shot that breaks 50%?
I think you'd have to look to an Unreal Engine game or Lost Planet

__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:36 PM   #19
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
I think you'd have to look to an Unreal Engine game or Lost Planet
What unreal engine game is that anyway?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 07:45 PM   #20
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Medal of Honor: Airborne.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-07, 08:01 PM   #21
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

So the general consensus is that if it used all four cores, the game will run faster?
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 08:05 PM   #22
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Did any of you guys actually buy a quad specifically for Crysis?

I bought mine because all the UE3 based games take advantage of it. Crysis was supposed to, but more dev lies. I love my quad, games are so much smoother with it and UE3 games just roar.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 08:16 PM   #23
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
What unreal engine game is that anyway?
Medal of Honor: Airborne, as Crainger said.
Yep, more info here,

http://www.thattechsite.com/vbulleti...read.php?t=141
and review here,
http://www.thattechsite.com/vbulleti...read.php?t=125
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 08:59 PM   #24
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
The point is that the game isn't using more than what two cores would provide. Your proc is only running at 47.75% capacity in that shot. Can you get a shot that breaks 50%?

I just loaded up a game when the two tanks attack you and hit 53% but didnt get a pic will try again later I'm bz playin at the moment. I'm willing to bet with enough stuff blowing up it can hit higher than that and I'm still early in the game. :0
__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 08:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:30 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.