Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-07, 08:14 PM   #25
hellawaits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

there are some pretty intense sequences later where there are mortars and what have you going off everywhere, and none of my cores have even gone near 90%! i remember cevat saying that it wouldn't provide necessarily faster FPS, but reduce overall stuttering and make for a more smooth gameplay. i didn't start this thread with the intention of bashing cevat or crysis, as i have a feeling that we will see a patch on release day fixing some problems of the shipped build. i have confidence that crytek will fix this issue (not using my 4 cores!), the question is how long will it take. if they fail to deliver, don't expect anyone to listen to a thing crytek says in the future.

*edit* i spelled the first word incorrectly and that **** bugs me
hellawaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 09:53 PM   #26
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
So the general consensus is that if it used all four cores, the game will run faster?
i don't think so as the game appears to be heavily GPU limited at the moment.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 09:54 PM   #27
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellawaits
there are some pretty intense sequences later where there are mortars and what have you going off everywhere, and none of my cores have even gone near 90%! i remember cevat saying that it wouldn't provide necessarily faster FPS, but reduce overall stuttering and make for a more smooth gameplay. i didn't start this thread with the intention of bashing cevat or crysis, as i have a feeling that we will see a patch on release day fixing some problems of the shipped build. i have confidence that crytek will fix this issue (not using my 4 cores!), the question is how long will it take. if they fail to deliver, don't expect anyone to listen to a thing crytek says in the future.

*edit* i spelled the first word incorrectly and that **** bugs me

Well if the CPU could do more work to improve performance, by all means thats why I bought a quad. I'd like to see them optimize for multi cores more than they have. You know 20 - 30 FPS ain't a whole lot so if the CPU has to do a bit of work to help out then by all means.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 10:46 PM   #28
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
i don't think so as the game appears to be heavily GPU limited at the moment.
Probably because a certain Mr Yerli said the game will be cpu limited instead of gpu to try and help Intel sell more quads.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 10:47 PM   #29
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conroejoe
I bought mine because all the UE3 based games take advantage of it. Crysis was supposed to, but more dev lies. I love my quad, games are so much smoother with it and UE3 games just roar.



Agreed,but I mostly bought it for video encoding,etc.Gaming a distant second.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
Probably because a certain Mr Yerli said the game will be cpu limited instead of gpu to try and help Intel sell more quads.

I am starting to wonder just how much money Intel stuffed into his pockets. ?
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 12:27 AM   #30
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Does this game even attempt to use the full CPU of the system? I wonder if this is a "bug" or their way of making their own game run like crap and then release a huge update which increases performance tenfold.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 07:47 AM   #31
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
So the general consensus is that if it used all four cores, the game will run faster?
No. The game doesn't care what CPU you've got. I've put my ultra in my brothers old 939 amd machine and got nearly the same frame rate as my OC'd E6600.

The only thing I think the game uses the CPU for is the physics which I also noticed very little differenec between my computer and my brothers when using the ultra.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 11:41 AM   #32
mumstheword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 509
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Maybe Crysis and CryEngine2 is so well developed that it doesn't even need 2 extra cores.
__________________
q6600@3.0ghz
8800GTS-320mb 650/1000
4gb ram
mumstheword is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-07, 09:31 AM   #33
hordaktheman
Hans... boobie...
 
hordaktheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 273
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Isn't that a bit of an oxymoron?
__________________
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.

-Aristotle
hordaktheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:34 AM   #34
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumstheword
Maybe Crysis and CryEngine2 is so well developed that it doesn't even need 2 extra cores.

lol... you'd think it would more of the four cores for the physics and AI. Yeah, I forgot the AI isn't very smart. Shoot one from cover and cloaked and the whole island knows right where you are even the guys in the boats 3 miles out...
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:35 AM   #35
Chrisimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

This is a quote from Cry-Alex of Crytek:

Quote:
Hey guys,

as for the multicore support. The game engine has several heavy processing threads running at any time, with the principal threads being the main thread (AI, game logic, renderer), Physics, Particle system and audio thread, with others such as the streaming, input and network threads using less processor time. As such the game does make use of multi-core processors, including quad core.

Most benchmarks shown so far have been performed under GPU limited situations where the increased performance of the CPU is not seen. The benefits will still be there under very heavy conditions, such as fire fights in the more processor intensive levels.

cheers,
-alex
Chrisimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:42 AM   #36
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hordaktheman
Isn't that a bit of an oxymoron?
haha, indeed
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.