Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-07, 10:37 AM   #37
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conroejoe
lol... you'd think it would more of the four cores for the physics and AI. Yeah, I forgot the AI isn't very smart. Shoot one from cover and cloaked and the whole island knows right where you are even the guys in the boats 3 miles out...
What difficulty are you playing on? Because the old "if you can see them, they can see you" rule definately applies.

I've been able to cap koreans left and right then run, hit cloak and go prone in the bushes and the koreans are left dumbfounded as to my location. Eventually they wander off still searching and I plan the next deadly game of cat and mouse

The enemy ai on delta is VERY good. It's the only way to fully enjoy the combat that I think crytek wanted us to experience.

There's one scene with an old rope bridge connecting a base entrance to a road. I sniped a couple of machine gunners from a bush with the silencer. One was alone and no one else in the vicinity saw it. Second guy saw the other one I killed drop to the ground and he immediately started looking around for the killer. he looked all over and eventually right at the bush I was hiding in for a second and never did anything and eventually started patrolling around again. Now, when I pulled out the un silenced precision rifle and shot a tower sniper, everyone around came charging out onto the bridge. I shot one of the ropes and immediately, they all ran back into the base and took up defensive positions while another small group of them left through the other entrance of the base and ran around the road up to where I was (Which I was long gone and hiding by the time they reached my original bush I was hiding in) and they started searching around the area trying to find me. Meanwhile up in the base, one of the koreans had climbed up into the guard tower and grabbed the dead sniper's rifle and was also looking for me. That's AI.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 10:42 AM   #38
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar

There's one scene with an old rope bridge connecting a base entrance to a road. I sniped a couple of machine gunners from a bush with the silencer. One was alone and no one else in the vicinity saw it. Second guy saw the other one I killed drop to the ground and he immediately started looking around for the killer. he looked all over and eventually right at the bush I was hiding in for a second and never did anything and eventually started patrolling around again. Now, when I pulled out the un silenced precision rifle and shot a tower sniper, everyone around came charging out onto the bridge. I shot one of the ropes and immediately, they all ran back into the base and took up defensive positions while another small group of them left through the other entrance of the base and ran around the road up to where I was (Which I was long gone and hiding by the time they reached my original bush I was hiding in) and they started searching around the area trying to find me. Meanwhile up in the base, one of the koreans had climbed up into the guard tower and grabbed the dead sniper's rifle and was also looking for me. That's AI.
Wow.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 11:29 AM   #39
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

wow, that's amazing.
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 01:21 PM   #40
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

ConroeJoe still wouldn't believe you. Excellent stuff.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 01:42 PM   #41
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

The AI in crysis is very good. Crysis environments are fully destructable, so this means that the AI constantly needs to evaluate the situation. We have never really seen this done before in a game so well.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 01:54 PM   #42
Chrisimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

I guess some people are experiencing more glitches than others with the AI. I had very few (played two times already ). But others seemed to have way more. Might have something to do with hardware or perhaps Vista.
Chrisimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 07:43 AM   #43
Zeus666
Registered User
 
Zeus666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 382
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

edit
Zeus666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 08:52 AM   #44
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Hey guys,

as for the multicore support. The game engine has several heavy processing threads running at any time, with the principal threads being the main thread (AI, game logic, renderer), Physics, Particle system and audio thread, with others such as the streaming, input and network threads using less processor time. As such the game does make use of multi-core processors, including quad core.

Most benchmarks shown so far have been performed under GPU limited situations where the increased performance of the CPU is not seen. The benefits will still be there under very heavy conditions, such as fire fights in the more processor intensive levels.

cheers,
-alex
Are there any benchmarks in which it is the case that the GPU limitation has been removed and the increased performance has been recorded?
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-07, 11:28 AM   #45
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisimo
I guess some people are experiencing more glitches than others with the AI. I had very few (played two times already ). But others seemed to have way more. Might have something to do with hardware or perhaps Vista.
It all depends on the situation. Perfect AI is impossible as we're merely faking it, so there will ALWAYS be bugs and ways to exploit it. Personally I think 'AI' is the wrong word/acronym to use for it, as it's not at all intelligent.

</being an idiot and stating the obvious>
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 11:28 AM   #46
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

No and thats the funny part
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 03:00 PM   #47
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
how can you test cpu usage when you gpu bottleneck the benchmark with ultra settings and high resolution?

Turn the settings to medium or lower, 1024x768 or lower and run the benchmarks again, then try to see if extra cores helps.

Normally I would agree with this,except I own and play games that make better use of my quadcore even at 1920x1200 (Bioshock,SC,Strangehold)
This tells me Crysis is not coded as well.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 03:56 PM   #48
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
Normally I would agree with this,except I own and play games that make better use of my quadcore even at 1920x1200 (Bioshock,SC,Strangehold)
This tells me Crysis is not coded as well.

So because a game needs more power from ur cores it's coded better? A well-coded game will be efficient with the power it is given and not use more then it has to on the tasks it is given. It stands to reason then that Crytek did do a good job coding the engine making things like physics, AI, sound etc. highly efficient processes.

Considering the level of visual detail presented in Crysis the limitations would be more on the GPU then the CPU. As the guy said from Crytek the tests reporting usage so far are not really stressing the processes being run on the CPU. I think the real hang-up is on graphics not on general processing.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.