Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-07, 04:07 PM   #49
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monolyth
So because a game needs more power from ur cores it's coded better? A well-coded game will be efficient with the power it is given and not use more then it has to on the tasks it is given.
Neither opinion can be proven because we didn't code crysis or the other games. So argueing over if Crysis truely is not optimized, or is so well optimized that is uses alot less cores than other games is pointless, because nothing can be proven.
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 04:13 PM   #50
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyy
Neither opinion can be proven because we didn't code crysis or the other games. So argueing over if Crysis truely is not optimized, or is so well optimized that is uses alot less cores than other games is pointless, because nothing can be proven.
It's okay, I'm right.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 04:17 PM   #51
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
Normally I would agree with this,except I own and play games that make better use of my quadcore even at 1920x1200 (Bioshock,SC,Strangehold)
This tells me Crysis is not coded as well.
this makes no sense. they make better use? how are u quantifying this?
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 04:27 PM   #52
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude
this makes no sense. they make better use? how are u quantifying this?
We can quantify it using these numbers:
Crysis - 42
Bioshock - 12
Supreme Commander - 60
Stranglehold - 76
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 04:54 PM   #53
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The AI in crysis is very good. Crysis environments are fully destructable, so this means that the AI constantly needs to evaluate the situation. We have never really seen this done before in a game so well.
Unfortunately my copy of crysis has indestructible plants.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 04:59 PM   #54
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Check out this thread especially posts number 9, 14 and 15.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103684

Mind you, that is based on extreme physics with more than 3200 wodden boxes that break into 4 or even more pieces each with their own physical values. I came to the conclusion that they capped the physics so there are enough CPU cycles left for the O.S., visuals, sound, AI etc. but the (physics) limitation is not very dynamic as it is shown between the different CPU's and clocks (mine, nekrosofts and jakups).

I hope Crytek will tweak the physics engine so that faster CPUs will receive a higher "limitation" than slower ones because that way extreme physics maps would be able to run smoother with every new CPU generation. There are many ways to tweak the engine so it is quite possible that the limitation can be changed by a single line in a cfg file.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 08:02 PM   #55
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Physics, AI and some other things are so badly coded that it really chokes the system. Overall, Crysis is a crap from technical point of view in term of coding and executing whole project.

Btw AI is so retarded in Crysis and Physics is nothing spectacular. Sound sucks as well...

I can't believe you guys are still bothering with that game. I tried and i simply uninstalled the crap and never went back to it.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 09:05 PM   #56
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude
this makes no sense. they make better use? how are u quantifying this?

Easy,there is something built into windows,that can be used to show how much cpu utilisation is used per core,per game.

Monolyth,if the next ten PC games that claim to use quadcore cpu's,make as much use,or more,as the three I mentioned over Crysis,Does that also then mean that Crysis is better written,or programmed or optimized then the first ten or 13 ? **** no !

Its far more likely that Crysis is not well programmed,and does not take advantage of quadcore chips as well as Crytek would have you beleive.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-07, 09:13 PM   #57
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Now this is one complaint I (kind of) agree with. This game can be much more optimized for sure. But I don't understand why Crytek head hauncho would say that we could run ultra settings on 8800 E6600 2gigs ram??

Maybe at 800x600 but that's about it, if that. This patch better be a mind blowing patch cause I've already seen COD patch number 4 coming out or has already come out.

Now come on Crytek, I know they aren't known for their efficiency at getting patches out. Far Cry was a joke if you waited for patches, I just think that it's stupid a game takes forever to patch. Unless they have low number of employees or working on many numerous games.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-07, 09:24 PM   #58
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

If the past is of any indication the patch for Crysis will be months late,and will have to be recalled due to bugs.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-07, 02:04 AM   #59
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
Easy,there is something built into windows,that can be used to show how much cpu utilisation is used per core,per game.

Monolyth,if the next ten PC games that claim to use quadcore cpu's,make as much use,or more,as the three I mentioned over Crysis,Does that also then mean that Crysis is better written,or programmed or optimized then the first ten or 13 ? **** no !

Its far more likely that Crysis is not well programmed,and does not take advantage of quadcore chips as well as Crytek would have you beleive.
are u aware that bottlenecks can differ greatly depending on the workload? do you understand that the cpu and gpu each process different things? using your logic i could say all those games u listed are terribly optimized because they dont make full use of 8800 gtx in sli, but thats not the case, the bottleneck is just reversed in those games as compared to crysis
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-07, 01:33 AM   #60
GTVAPSAMTIK
Registered User
 
GTVAPSAMTIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 96
Send a message via MSN to GTVAPSAMTIK
Default Re: Crysis *NOT* optimized for Multi-Core, yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Tbh its no point if the game takes advantage of the extra cores only at low res / lower settings , the cores usage should be at its max even at high res with max settings just like how Lost Planet do.

You are right I was gonna say the same thing. I thought CRYSIS is totally optimized for latest hardware like Multicores and SLI
__________________
__________________
TX-9000 ARMOR LCS II
EVGA NFORCE 780i SLI
4GB OCZ DDR3
Intel Core2Quad E6600 OC to 4.2Ghz
EVGA 2x Geforce 8800 ULTRA SLI
2 x 1TB Western Digital RAID0
SB X-Fi Music;
Belkin n52te
Vista Ultimate 64

www.apoclaypse.com
GTVAPSAMTIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.