Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-07, 01:09 PM   #109
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

tell me can the water be made so you can see your own reflection on the surface would add more "spice" to the game?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-07, 08:47 PM   #110
4q2
----BURP!-----
 
4q2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 118
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

I'm going to ditch Dept of field. About the only time I see it is using the reflex sights and since I've got scopes on my guns I never see it any more. May as well turn it off.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600| EVGA SLI MOBO | 4 gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA GTX 260 |22" Syncmaster 2232GW LCD monitor
SB XFI | Klipsch Audio Spkrs. | 200 GB Maxtor HD |500 GB SEAGATE HD | Enermax 620 Dual Pwr | Lian Li PC60 | Windows Vista Ultimate! | Dx10
4q2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-07, 03:28 AM   #111
kypreos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

FastRedPonyCar could you please post all your configs etc and if possible even maybe upload them? If you do I will love you long time .
kypreos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 06:04 AM   #112
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Thats a great config gaco (the one in post #60).

The game runs great at 1280x960 with 8xAF on my system using that config. Looks fantastic too!

I'm actually pretty impressed with how good this runs overall. I could probably even run it at 1600x1200 with these settings, but I think the extra 10-15fps I get at 1280x960 is worth the trade off.

The beginning part of the game (the beaches and forest at night) run at 30-40fps at these settings. Some dips to the high 20s when I have the flashlight on, but thats no biggy.

I can't wait for a faster card to really make this game shine, but after tweaking it looks and runs pretty damn good for a 1 year old video card.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 06:49 AM   #113
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Thats a great config gaco (the one in post #60).

The game runs great at 1280x960 with 8xAF on my system using that config. Looks fantastic too!

I'm actually pretty impressed with how good this runs overall. I could probably even run it at 1600x1200 with these settings, but I think the extra 10-15fps I get at 1280x960 is worth the trade off.

The beginning part of the game (the beaches and forest at night) run at 30-40fps at these settings. Some dips to the high 20s when I have the flashlight on, but thats no biggy.

I can't wait for a faster card to really make this game shine, but after tweaking it looks and runs pretty damn good for a 1 year old video card.
Good to hear
Are you applying the 8xAF through the Nvidia Control Panel btw? And how expensive on performance is it?

Just started on MP btw.. I'm definently going to change to all high settings for that, I'm getting owned all the time as of now
MP can be both extremely frustrating (expecially when you gets owned, even more than other games like TF2 etc., dunno why), but also very satisfying at times. Lag is a little issue, but noting too serious. I do hope that Crytek improves netcode in the upcoming patches however.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 03:59 PM   #114
odin318
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Gaco would you recommend you config for my specs?

8800gts 640
1680x1050
__________________
gaming > vista x64 :: viewsonic 22" lcd :: evga 8800gts 640 :: evga 650i :: c2d e4300 @ 3ghz :: supertalent 2 gb ddr2-667 :: ocz 700w :: antec 900
odin318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 04:20 PM   #115
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by odin318
Gaco would you recommend you config for my specs?

8800gts 640
1680x1050
Sure and since you have the 640mb version you don't even have to turn the textures down to medium. Don't expect a totally smooth performance though, but see if you can live with it. Shouldn't be more than 10% slower than the GTX I think

Just try it, you can always ditch if you're unhappy with performance. In that case you should just run Crysis in DX9, everything on high.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 02:08 AM   #116
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Tested 3x3 SSAA with 800x600 and it looks very good.
Most of the flickering and artifacts are gone and fps are solid around 20-30.
Some highly specular shaders look amazing, especially water effects.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-21-07, 03:59 AM   #117
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Good to hear
Are you applying the 8xAF through the Nvidia Control Panel btw? And how expensive on performance is it?

Just started on MP btw.. I'm definently going to change to all high settings for that, I'm getting owned all the time as of now
MP can be both extremely frustrating (expecially when you gets owned, even more than other games like TF2 etc., dunno why), but also very satisfying at times. Lag is a little issue, but noting too serious. I do hope that Crytek improves netcode in the upcoming patches however.
Yeah, I forced it through the CP. I'm not sure of the exact performance impact, but 16x AF made the game noticeably slower. I set it back to 8x because its hard to see much of a difference between the two at only 1280x960. Its very playable, but definitely slower than it was with no AF.

I wish the AF looked a bit better though honestly. I think the parallax mapped textures get a bit distorted at a distance and enabling AF makes it sharper but makes the distortion more visible.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 07:34 AM   #118
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Hey, are the high res parallax mapped textures enabled in your config?

Thats the one thing I really want. I haven't had a chance to really dig into the game yet, so I haven't noticed if they are enabled or not.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 11:40 AM   #119
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Hey, are the high res parallax mapped textures enabled in your config?

Thats the one thing I really want. I haven't had a chance to really dig into the game yet, so I haven't noticed if they are enabled or not.
Yes I have included the The r_UsePOM = 1 command that enables the Parralax Occlusion Mapping. I don't know if they're several different quality levels for that, but I haven't seen it or heard of it
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 01:36 PM   #120
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

So what is the single most frame rate hogging setting in this game, and by that I mean System.cfg setting. I can already tell in the game settings that it appears to be the Shaders, but what specifically?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.