Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-07, 07:49 PM   #97
avirox
Registered User
 
avirox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0
any crysis config suggestions for the ff specs?

core2duo e6420 @3.2ghz
2gb ram
8800GT (stock)
1280x1024 (no AA)
my desired FPS = 30-35 (minimum)
at 1280x1024, dx9 w/ all @ high should be no problem for 30-35fps mins (most of the time) and it shouldn't dip much below that. 1680x1050 w/ all @ high (what I play at with my GT) would be pushing it, but I generally get 25fps or more.
avirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 08:19 PM   #98
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0
i forgot... i want some very high graphics settings but not all. i want a mix of very high, high and medium settings.

-sunshafts
-very high water
-decent textures
You can try mine bottom page 4 and see if you like it
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 08:29 PM   #99
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
You don't need to change any files, that's the beauty, you only need to create a file called system.cfg; use nodepad and copy all the commands lines in you want, then save it as "system.cfg" and it'll be saved as the correct format. Place the file in the main Crysis folder (det one that also contains Bin32, Bin64 etc.)
Gaco, what's the differance between making a system.cfg and making a autoexec.cfg? is there no difference at all? Works the same way?
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 08:37 PM   #100
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0
any crysis config suggestions for the ff specs?

core2duo e6420 @3.2ghz
2gb ram
8800GT (stock)
1280x1024 (no AA)
my desired FPS = 30-35 (minimum)
At that res, you could use mine if you don't like the washed out look. Gaco's "1.0" works really well too.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 09:29 PM   #101
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

How do you get the info to print out on the game?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 10:57 PM   #102
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
IMO, color grading makes the colors worse. I'd rather have it like FarCry and have bright, vivid colors rather than washed out.
Shaders - Very High


Shaders - Very High w/ r_ColorGrading=0
q_ShaderPostProcess=1 in Autoexec.cfg


I couldn't agree more You'll need q_ShaderPostProcess=2 to still be able to do sunshafts but sunshafts cause a little bit more loss of color vibrance though.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 11:15 PM   #103
4q2
----BURP!-----
 
4q2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 118
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Well I've experimented with a few of the configs posted here and others.

Here's what I'm running now.

-------------------------------------
sys_spec_GameEffects = 3
sys_spec_ObjectDetail = 3
sys_spec_Particles = 3
sys_spec_Physics = 3
sys_spec_PostProcessing = 3
sys_spec_Quality = 3
sys_spec_Shading = 3
sys_spec_Shadows = 2
sys_spec_Texture = 3
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects = 3
sys_spec_Water = 3
sys_spec_Sound = 3

d3d9_TripleBuffering=1+

e_foliage_wind_activation_dist = 25
e_max_entity_lights = 16
e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods = 0
e_gsm_lods_num = 3
e_water_ocean_fft = 1
e_water_tesselation_amount = 10
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy = 4096
e_detail_materials_view_dist_z = 256
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation = 45
e_shadows_max_texture_size = 512
e_view_dist_ratio = 60
e_particles_lod = 1
e_vegetation_min_size = 1.5
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation = 50

es_DebrisLifetimeScale = 1

g_battleDust_enable = 1
g_ragdollDistance = 40
g_ragdollMinTime = 20
q_Renderer = 3
q_ShaderFX = 3
q_ShaderGeneral = 3
q_ShaderGlass = 3
q_ShaderHDR = 3
q_ShaderIce = 3
q_ShaderMetal = 3
q_ShaderPostProcess = 2
q_ShaderShadow = 1
q_ShaderSky = 3
q_ShaderTerrain = 3
q_ShaderVegetation = 3
q_ShaderWater = 3

r_ssao_amount = 0.7
r_SSAO_darkening = 0.6
r_HDRlevel = 0.65
r_ColorGradingDOF = 0
r_ShadowJittering = 1
r_ShadowBlur = 0
r_UseEdgeAA = 0
r_sunshafts = 1
r_BeamsDistFactor = .5
r_BeamsMaxSlices = 32
r_colorgrading = 1
r_UsePOM = 1
r_UseEdgeAA = 0
r_WaterGodRays = 1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality = 3
r_WaterUpdateDistance = 0.2
r_MotionBlur = 0
r_DepthOfField = 1
r_EyeAdaptationBase = 0.2
r_TexturesStreaming = 0

-----------------------------------
To be honest I have no idea what some of the commands are doing but I'm getting really good visuals and a frame rate around 20-30 most of the time with a few dips and spikes here and there.

I'm running 1024x768 but with 4xAA on. I hate jaggies and the edge AA just doesn't cut it for me. I also have motion blur off because I don't like that either, besides, when you get to be 40 years old plus, motion blur is built into your eyes.

Thanks for all the help guys!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600| EVGA SLI MOBO | 4 gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA GTX 260 |22" Syncmaster 2232GW LCD monitor
SB XFI | Klipsch Audio Spkrs. | 200 GB Maxtor HD |500 GB SEAGATE HD | Enermax 620 Dual Pwr | Lian Li PC60 | Windows Vista Ultimate! | Dx10
4q2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-07, 11:35 PM   #104
delas52
:::::::::::::::::
 
delas52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 517
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Here is a comparison of q_renderer=3 and r_colorgrading=1 in the config vs. not in the config. Water reflections sort of lose all their intensity with those settings on plus I lost about 3 frames. Couldn't that stuff just be done with gamma/contrast adjustments?




Other settings: All high, water on very high, sunshafts on, r_TexturesStreaming = 0, r_useedgeAA=1
delas52 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-07, 12:04 AM   #105
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Delas, try adding these to the autoexe or config file.

r_SSAO_amount = .6
r_SSAO_darkening=.4
r_SSAO_quality = 2
r_SSAO = 1

You can play around with the settings but SSAO affects the shadows and light amount on the water as well.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-07, 03:22 AM   #106
parecon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Down the left hand highway of California
Posts: 65
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate=0.05


According to Mad Boris, these values are the same for high - no need to apply them again.


e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_ocean_fft=1


These are great, I also have this


r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4


I originally abandoned these because I wanted to keep it simple, but I think I'll actually adobt these as well so the water looks more very high'ish, though I sure hope they don't cost much performance, because reading the descriptions and thinking of what they'll do, there are more important parameters for visual quality of the water


q_ShaderWater=2

Dude 2 = high, not very high - why would you want this?
...changes to 3 now... ha, good thing I'm only half way through. I also adopted some of those SSAO tweaks to make the shadows a bit darker and more realistic. Thanks for lettin me know
__________________


| Intel E67oo @ 3.4 | EVGA nForce 68oi SLI | EVGA 88oo GTX Superclocked @ 634.1010 | 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 8oo | 15o GB Raptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic |

| AMD 48oo+ X2 | Asus A8N-SLI Premium | XFX 79oo GTX EE | 2 GB OCZ Titanium DDR 4oo | 15o GB Raptor | WD 5oo GB |Audigy 2 ZS Platinum |
parecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-07, 03:54 AM   #107
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
Gaco, what's the differance between making a system.cfg and making a autoexec.cfg? is there no difference at all? Works the same way?
I could try and explain, but I'll let this guy do it

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakguides.com
System.cfg



This file doesn't exist by default, so you need to create it by going to your \Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis directory, right-clicking on an empty spot and selecting 'New>Text Document'. Then rename this .txt file to System.cfg (not System.cfg.txt). By default Crysis looks for the presence of this file each time it starts, and if the file exists and contains valid commands, they will be automatically executed when the game loads up. As such, this file is the perfect place to store most of the commands you wish to apply to Crysis at startup.



The format for entering a command in a config file is different to that of commands used in the console. If you want to disable motion blur for example, the console command is r_motionblur 0, but when entered in the config file, it needs to be r_motionblur=0, and every command needs to be on a separate line.



Note further that some people recommend creating an autoexec.cfg file in the same directory, instead of, or in addition to System.cfg. This is fine, since any commands in such a file will also be executed automatically when Crysis loads up. However it appears that any commands in an autoexec.cfg file are applied after the game has loaded, and not necessarily during startup, and this may impact on whether certain commands are successful or not, so on balance I recommend using System.cfg. The help text for several of the console commands also refers to System.cfg, so it's best to use this file (e.g. see the help text for r_Driver).



Importantly: Some system commands still cannot be altered by using System.cfg, autoexec.cfg or any other custom user .cfg files. It appears they can only be altered when entered in an original Crysis system file, such as one one of the difficulty .cfg files (e.g. diff_normal.cfg). These commands are denoted by (system) on the following pages, and you should see the Diff_ file section further below for more details.



Finally, you can always execute commands in any existing or custom .cfg file you place in the same directory as Game.cfg by using the exec command. E.g. create a Mytweaks.cfg file, fill it with various commands, and then within Crysis, at any time you can open the console, type exec Mytweaks.cfg and they will all be executed straight away - though clearly commands which need to be altered at startup won't work this way.
http://www.tweakguides.com/Crysis_8.html
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-07, 04:49 AM   #108
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

I just decided to finally ditch motion blur. At first I liked it but without it the game just feels a bit more smooth, almost like there's a bit of a mouselag effect to motionblur (which effectively feels like a bit of mouselag). I'll save this effect for my DX10 card

Also I upgraded the shadow spec from 2 to 3 (medium to high) as I noticed the shadows kinda jittered and they looked a bit too low res (noticed this when I looked at my own shadow). 3/high seems better and overall from turning the shadows up and disabling motion blur, I got +1 FPS in the benchmark and went from 22 to 23.

(post updated)
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.