Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-07, 03:46 PM   #1
RHboom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default SHAPE extension

I've recently installed driver 100.14.19 for Linux x86/x86-64 on my Fedora 7 with a 8600GT card. Installation was a breeze, no complaints there, chapeau!
BUT...
The SHAPE extension seems to be missing! oclock is not round! and the rounded window frames are not rounded.
Is this a known issue?
RHboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 03:53 PM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Add Load "extmod" to the "Modules" section of the xorg.conf file.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 04:40 PM   #3
RHboom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: SHAPE extension

That simple! Thanks.
RHboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 05:23 PM   #4
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP
Add Load "extmod" to the "Modules" section of the xorg.conf file.
This is interesting... Please help...

I have two laptop. Two identic laptop. Same laptop, both using fedora 8, both using 100.14.19...

In one laptop I can use compiz and SHAPE extension without using "extmod" (this means 800FPS in compiz benchmark)
and in another laptop I can't use (SHAPE extensione, compiz) if I don't use "extmod"....

With extmod I get slower performance...
How this is possible?

What I need to have SHAPE extension without using "extmod"....

Thanks!
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 06:09 PM   #5
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sblantipodi
This is interesting... Please help...

I have two laptop. Two identic laptop. Same laptop, both using fedora 8, both using 100.14.19...

In one laptop I can use compiz and SHAPE extension without using "extmod" (this means 800FPS in compiz benchmark)
and in another laptop I can't use (SHAPE extensione, compiz) if I don't use "extmod"....

With extmod I get slower performance...
How this is possible?

What I need to have SHAPE extension without using "extmod"....

Thanks!
no one can help me here?
Please
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 08:05 AM   #6
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

same laptop (Acer 5920G, 8600M GT),
same distributions (Fedora 8),
same driver (100.14.19)
same xorg.conf

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder26)  Wed Sep 12 14:29:17 PDT 2007

# Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "dbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "it"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Synaptics"
    Driver         "synaptics"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "LG Philips"
    ModelName      "LP154WX4-TLB2"
    #HorizSync       30.0 - 75.0
    #VertRefresh     60.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "AddARGBVisuals"        "True"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals"     "True"
    Option         "RenderAccel"           "1"
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "1"
    Option         "NoRenderExtension"     "0"
    Option         "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "1"
    Option         "TripleBuffer" "true"

EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
in one laptop if I run compiz --replace all is fine,
in the other laptop this command give "no sync extension, shape missing".

This is unbelivable.
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 11:55 AM   #7
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: SHAPE extension

What versions of X do your systems have? I think some newer versions load extmod by default.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 01:12 PM   #8
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP
What versions of X do your systems have? I think some newer versions load extmod by default.
X Window System Version 1.3.0

This is strange because as I mentioned I use fedora 8 with two same laptop with the same configuration.
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-07, 01:41 PM   #9
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

if it can help you helping me (if you want to be so kind
here the
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log
of both laptop:

Laptop1_Xorg.0.log
Laptop2_Xorg.0.log

I noticed that one laptop tell:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "AddARGBVisuals" is not used
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" is not used

and the other laptop don't.
As I repeat I both laptop uses:
Fedora 8, same installation procedure with same xorg.conf and same nvidia driver (100.14.19)...
Both laptop are Acer 5920G same hardware...

Please help.
This is strange because in one laptop I got 800FPS in compiz and the other one runs slow also with euforia screensaver.

PS: Now I'm using extmod on both laptop.
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 02:23 PM   #10
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: SHAPE extension

One configuration is using /etc/X11/xorg.conf as its config file and the other is using //xorg.conf.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 02:37 PM   #11
Sblantipodi
Registered User
 
Sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 154
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP
One configuration is using /etc/X11/xorg.conf as its config file and the other is using //xorg.conf.
You are so kind, I'm sorry if I'm boring you.
How can I change this?

I want that both laptop uses /etc/X11/xorg.conf but I'm not able to do it.
Can you help me? THANKS!!!
__________________
FPC Bench, a good java benchmark for mobile phones and PDA.
http://www.dpsoftware.org
Sblantipodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-07, 02:39 PM   #12
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: SHAPE extension

Just delete or rename //xorg.conf.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 06:45 AM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 12:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.