Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-07, 04:38 AM   #1
mumstheword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 509
Default Stuttering In Crysis

Anyone have this problem where the game is running smoothly and when you go to certain areas the fps just drops to 1-3 fps and turns into a slide show? It usually happens when i'm around areas with solid structures. This is the same sh*t that happened in the beta.

I'm running on XP @ 1680x1050 with full very high config. I get a steady 17-19fps in most areas. But for example during Recovery level by the building the fps drops to 1-3fps inside and outside the building. Only way to make it run smoothly is to lower everything to medium or drop the resolution to 1280x800.

It's really odd that there's such a discrepancy in performance.
__________________
q6600@3.0ghz
8800GTS-320mb 650/1000
4gb ram
mumstheword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 05:33 AM   #2
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

What's odd is it kept crashing for me dx9 mode, dx10 ran fine and dandy.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 08:04 AM   #3
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumstheword
Anyone have this problem where the game is running smoothly and when you go to certain areas the fps just drops to 1-3 fps and turns into a slide show? It usually happens when i'm around areas with solid structures. This is the same sh*t that happened in the beta.

I'm running on XP @ 1680x1050 with full very high config. I get a steady 17-19fps in most areas. But for example during Recovery level by the building the fps drops to 1-3fps inside and outside the building. Only way to make it run smoothly is to lower everything to medium or drop the resolution to 1280x800.

It's really odd that there's such a discrepancy in performance.
I'd say its that you're running the textures too high by using the "Very High" setting while using a 8800GTS-320mb.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 590 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 128GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:00 AM   #4
dienamite
Registered User
 
dienamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Yep, on very high the textures take up over 600MB of RAM on your graphics card. You'll need to play with high textures, but even then you'll be going over your 320MB limit a few times per level.
dienamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:03 AM   #5
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

No stutters here on High. Very High just takes too much power.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:04 AM   #6
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumstheword
Anyone have this problem where the game is running smoothly and when you go to certain areas the fps just drops to 1-3 fps and turns into a slide show? It usually happens when i'm around areas with solid structures. This is the same sh*t that happened in the beta.

I'm running on XP @ 1680x1050 with full very high config. I get a steady 17-19fps in most areas. But for example during Recovery level by the building the fps drops to 1-3fps inside and outside the building. Only way to make it run smoothly is to lower everything to medium or drop the resolution to 1280x800.

It's really odd that there's such a discrepancy in performance.

Im guessing you are running it in Vista? I have no issues like that in XP but in Vista I notice sudden FPS drops (dual boot). Probably the OS fighting for memory... damn bloatware. Everyone should be playing Crysis in XP to gain an extra 10 FPS.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:17 AM   #7
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Yea, your running out of video memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by conroejoe
Im guessing you are running it in Vista? I have no issues like that in XP but in Vista I notice sudden FPS drops (dual boot). Probably the OS fighting for memory... damn bloatware. Everyone should be playing Crysis in XP to gain an extra 10 FPS.
Can you just PLEASE quit your crap about Vista????!!!! It's in every fricking thread, get lost!
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:19 AM   #8
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Funny I don't remember you existing in this post till now....

So lets let the OP specificy what OS he's using and you can stop your crying now. Who let the kid with the helmet back in?
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-07, 09:33 AM   #9
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

What drivers are you using?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:36 AM   #10
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Yea I had to drop the shadows to med using 169.09, but they were fine at high with 169.04. Nvidia has definitely shown a drop in performance with the latest betas again. 169.09 was alot choppier than 169.04 with shadows on high.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 10:32 AM   #11
mumstheword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 509
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by dienamite
Yep, on very high the textures take up over 600MB of RAM on your graphics card. You'll need to play with high textures, but even then you'll be going over your 320MB limit a few times per level.
Sorry, I should have said I have everything on very high except textures which is set to medium. It maxes at 321 mb so I don't think its a memory problem. Even on All high/medium textures I get the stutter.

It's a fairly new XP installation with the latest drivers and the old ones have been cleaned out. I really can't figure out what the cause is. I never have this problem in any other game. I'm dreading having to contact EA or Crysis for support.
__________________
q6600@3.0ghz
8800GTS-320mb 650/1000
4gb ram
mumstheword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 05:23 PM   #12
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Stuttering In Crysis

The only time I had slow down is when the ice/snow level started. It was running at 7-8 fps. I went out of the game and went back in and was back up to 30.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Nvidia Responds to GeForce 600 Series V-Sync Stuttering Issue News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-18-12 09:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.