Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-03, 09:39 PM   #1
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Question 5800 Ultra

Is there anyone here that has one that is happy with it?
Just wondering.

I've been having a nightmare with my 9700 Pro and Intel 7205 chipset mobo.
I know they benchmark poor but what about IQ etc?
I was thinking about getting one.

How is your overall gaming performance?
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 10:00 PM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

i have one... and personally, i love it... runs every game i throw at it at 1600x1200 2xaa all ingame options maxed... i have yet to see a game bring it to its knees...

btw, the noise doesnt bother me since i have so many fans anways...
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 10:11 PM   #3
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

I play at 1024 with 8x AA and 8x AF 32bit with my Radeon.
But I have stuttering in some games and lockup etc
in others.
I love the Radeon but it paired with a 7205 mobo is bad news.
ATI's drivers still lack in many area's.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 10:47 PM   #4
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default

nForce2 with a GeForce FX 5800 Ultra. Runs great with all the eye candy at 1024 x768 and trouble free.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 10:47 PM   #5
ATI LoVeR 9700
 
ATI LoVeR 9700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
I play at 1024 with 8x AA and 8x AF 32bit with my Radeon.
But I have stuttering in some games and lockup etc
in others.
I love the Radeon but it paired with a 7205 mobo is bad news.
ATI's drivers still lack in many area's.
There isn't an 8xAA option on the Radeon...
ATI LoVeR 9700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 11:30 PM   #6
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATI LoVeR 9700
There isn't an 8xAA option on the Radeon...
yep.. sorry 6.

Sometimes I play maxed on both.
I know the IQ is going to be a little worse than I
get now but if it runs nice and stable I'll be happy.

Asus, Intel nor ATI it seems have even addressed these
problems. Or there is no fix.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 11:37 PM   #7
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

im sure you can play with 1024,768 with 6xaa and 8xaf on the geforcefx with no problem... it only has trouble getting into the higher resolutions with aa and af... you may have to dip the af into the 4x range though...

and personally i dont think you will notice an iq difference... (comparing image quality here, not speed) my friend has a radeon 9700 pro, and really, in splinter cell and ut2003, i notice no differences.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 02:38 AM   #8
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Does anyone have any idea on when the NV35 is coming out?

One thing is for sure from the reviews I read. The FX drivers are bad. Not in a stable point a view but a performance view.
On some test it kicks butt. " eg codecreatures"
So it sure has more in it. The ? is can NV get it out.

Has the newer drivers helped any? Well, from the review drivers.?
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-18-03, 04:43 AM   #9
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,346
Default

bkswaney,what drivers are you using?
The stutter bug got squashed with catalyst 3.2.

Anyway if things don't finally work with radeon 9700pro I would suggest you wait a month for the nv35.

Nv30 has a lot of architectural shortcomings(fog bug,4x1 pipes etc) that you wont notice with DX8 games but will criple your card when DX9 games appear.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8GHz|Corsair H50|MSI X58 Platinum|3x2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20|Gigabyte Radeon 7970 OC 3GB windforce|Samsung SSD 830 256GB/Intel SSD X25M 80GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair TX 750W|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|Silverstone Grandia GD-01 MX Black|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 7 x64 Pro

Last edited by Fotis; 04-18-03 at 04:49 AM.
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 04:46 AM   #10
Uttar
Registered User
 
Uttar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via AIM to Uttar Send a message via Yahoo to Uttar
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
Does anyone have any idea on when the NV35 is coming out?
Long answer: www.notforidiots.com/GPURW.php

Short answer: Paper launch @ E3, avaibility shortly afterwards.


Uttar
Uttar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 06:50 AM   #11
Steppy
Radeon 10K Pro
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
yep.. sorry 6.

Sometimes I play maxed on both.
I know the IQ is going to be a little worse than I
get now but if it runs nice and stable I'll be happy.

Asus, Intel nor ATI it seems have even addressed these
problems. Or there is no fix.
From what I understand, it's a bug with the AGP implementation on GB boards, and Intel has said they have no plans to fix it. Hopefully the FX works for ya.
__________________
Here's my clever comment
Steppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-03, 12:02 AM   #12
N.H.B
No Holds Barred
 
N.H.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Default

Im happy with my card, cant wait till parhelia 2 comes out!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Dual-Core CPU/Winxp Pro 64 Bit Edition on 2x76Gig Raptors Raid 0, 32 Bit on 2x36Gig Raptors Raid 0-both on NFORCE4 chipset/Asus A8N32 SLI-Deluxe MB/PC Power & Cooling 510W SLI PSU/4X512MB Geil PC3500 DDR433 Ultra/2X MSI 7800 GTX 512 MB SLI PCI-E/SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS e/w Creative 6.1CH 575W speakers/Thermaltake Tai Chi Water Cooled Case/Samsung Optical drive 52-24-52-16x cd rom-cd rw-dvd player/Sony 3.5" 1.44mb floppy/BattleChair e/w Eastern DSP surround amplifier/EluminX keyboard/KDS RAD-23 23.1 Inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor/Logitech cordless Laser MX1000 mouse
N.H.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.