Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-07, 10:13 AM   #1
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Am looking at getting this (maybe for Christmas), but saw something concerning. Apparently the Wii version only outputs mono sound! No Dolby or even stereo.

For those that are playing it on the Wii, how bad is it?
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 10:20 AM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Mono?

Eek.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 11:07 AM   #3
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Yep. Look about halfway down this page at the "Editor's Note." There's a long thread over at the official Guitar Hero site discussing it. Apparently, Nintendo is aware of the problem and "working on a solution" but that's as much of a response as they give.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 12:16 PM   #4
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic
Am looking at getting this (maybe for Christmas), but saw something concerning. Apparently the Wii version only outputs mono sound! No Dolby or even stereo.

For those that are playing it on the Wii, how bad is it?
My friend brought his GH3 for the Wii over a while back, the sound and graphics are decent. Realising that the Wii isn't a console powerhouse, and GH3 doesn't require much for graphics anyway.

If you don't own any other systems and really want the game, the Wii version will keep you happy. However, I have yet to see down loadable content for GH3 on the Wii, while both the 360 and PS3 have the first set that were released.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 01:21 PM   #5
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme
However, I have yet to see down loadable content for GH3 on the Wii, while both the 360 and PS3 have the first set that were released.
There isn't any, Nintendo wouldn't let them from what I understand.

Regarding the mono thing, apparently none of the reviewers noticed it, so I doubt that it's really that big a deal. I think it also only affects people using the Dolby pseudo-surround sound. If you have the option getting the 360 or PS3 version is probably the better choice anyway since they have the dlc.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 02:19 PM   #6
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Well...the other consoles aren't an option, so it's either Wii or PC version, but even on a 22" monitor, I think the PC version just wouldn't have the same appeal. I am kind of bummed about the sound, though. Not even STEREO? WTF!
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 02:27 PM   #7
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

Might want to wait and see if they can fix it. If it's a Wii firmware bug or something they should be able to take care of it. Whether they can patch it if it's a bug in the game is a whole different story though. Nobody seems to know whether there is a method in place for patching released games on Wii.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 02:31 PM   #8
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

From what I've read, it's not possible, but who knows. The gossip (and that's what it is) is that Nintendo would have to exchange game discs to fix this issue. If true, who knows if/when that would happen. Apparently, they had to do something similar with a different Mario game (Super Paper Mario, I think?).

EDIT: Found it:
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-31-07, 04:20 PM   #9
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Anyone Playing GHIII on the Wii?

UPDATE ON MONO ISSUE:

Just came across this on the Activision support site:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Activision Support
We recently became aware that some consumers have not been able to enjoy the full audio output in the Wii version of Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock. We are currently working with Nintendo and are planning to issue an improved audio experience in future versions of the game. We expect to have re-mastered discs available by early 2008 and we will be offering consumers replacement discs at no cost once they become available. Should you have any further inquiries, please contact Activision customer support at http://www.activision.com/support. Customers based in North America wanting to pre-register for a free replacement disc can call (866) 780-8286 and we will notify you once the replacement discs are available. We thank all of our customers for their support and patience.
I called the phone number and the person that answered stated I was calling the "Activision Exchange Center." She took my name/address/phone number/e-mail and stated they'll e-mail me when the replacement discs are ready.

I'll make a new thread that'll be easier to find, also.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E3 arrives, Sim City astounds, Wii U bemuses News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
What we're looking forward to seeing and playing at E3 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM
To anyone who has an ati 9700 playing...... demonized Other Desktop Graphics Cards 1 10-12-02 01:33 PM
Started playing RTCW again Smokey Gaming Central 5 09-12-02 08:43 PM
What games are you playing right now? nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 52 09-11-02 04:55 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.