Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 11-21-07, 12:48 PM   #1
six_storm

Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Cisco Suggestions

Well, I've decided that I want to focus my concentration on networking and network administration. When I graduated my local tech school two years ago, I left with my A+ and Net+, also had my CCNA book and simulator software purchased. Well, I found it last night and started reading back through it and it got me wanting to work towards a CCNA and maybe other Cisco certs.

What I want to do is setup a small CCNA lab but I have no idea where to start. I've taken a look at eBay and there are quite a few Cisco routers and switches that are pretty cheap (I don't have much cash right now, Christmas is a b*tch) but I don't wanna get something so outdated that I'll be wasting my money. Can anyone direct me on what model router and switch to buy in order to setup a small lab?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 08:21 PM   #2
evilchris

Default Re: Cisco Suggestions

12 port 2950-EN and 2x 2621's.

I will get you current code if you need it.
Old 11-21-07, 09:19 PM   #3
six_storm

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
12 port 2950-EN and 2x 2621's.

I will get you current code if you need it.
Thanks for the reply. Looks like I'm going to be spending $500 just for one router and one switch according to eBay. craigslist doesn't have anything locally, except for really old models. I'm not expecting new models but I'd like to have something that will last for a little while.

What about these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-64D-1...QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2610-Route...QQcmdZViewItem
Old 11-21-07, 09:53 PM   #4
six_storm

I found a brand new 24-port 2950 sealed for $250 w/free shipping so I think I might just grab that for right now. Now I just need some extra parts to add with my spare parts and make a new server.
Old 11-22-07, 02:18 AM   #5
JMischief