Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-07, 03:40 AM   #61
GeeeEighty
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 209
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
I'm not sure what they're like stock.
but I do have an 8800GTS in here which more than likely has a big part to play in my proc's temps.

I doubt that really has anything to do with it. I used to have 8800GTX's in SLI and I remember how worried I was about the affect it was gonna have on my CPU temp.

With the 2nd GTX added the temps with my CPU only rose a whopping 2c.
GeeeEighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 11:11 AM   #62
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeeEighty
I doubt that really has anything to do with it. I used to have 8800GTX's in SLI and I remember how worried I was about the affect it was gonna have on my CPU temp.

With the 2nd GTX added the temps with my CPU only rose a whopping 2c.
I'm quite sure it is the GTS. Tried my buddies 7600GT- and my temps seldom ever got above 40*C at stock.

Remember, this isn't a "full tower" like what most other members here have. It's a mid-tower in comparison to the likes of the Stacker 830, Cosmos, or any of the Silverstone TJ series.

I'm sure if this were a larger tower the GTS probably wouldn't have much of an effect on temps.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 02:12 PM   #63
GeeeEighty
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 209
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
I'm quite sure it is the GTS. Tried my buddies 7600GT- and my temps seldom ever got above 40*C at stock.

Remember, this isn't a "full tower" like what most other members here have. It's a mid-tower in comparison to the likes of the Stacker 830, Cosmos, or any of the Silverstone TJ series.

I'm sure if this were a larger tower the GTS probably wouldn't have much of an effect on temps.

Mine is a mid tower as well, it just doesnt make sense man. I had 2 8800GTX's and just one of those runs hotter than a GTS anyway and my CPU temps were hardly affected at all by this.
GeeeEighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 10:32 PM   #64
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeeEighty
Mine is a mid tower as well, it just doesnt make sense man. I had 2 8800GTX's and just one of those runs hotter than a GTS anyway and my CPU temps were hardly affected at all by this.
Now you've got me stumped. It's usually rather cold in my house, yet with the 8800GTS in my temps are high. Over at my buddies house it is usually warm but with the 8800GTS out and just one 7600GT my temps were "normal".

Here's hoping that Eliminator "eliminates" my problems.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 03:46 AM   #65
GeeeEighty
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 209
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Now you've got me stumped. It's usually rather cold in my house, yet with the 8800GTS in my temps are high. Over at my buddies house it is usually warm but with the 8800GTS out and just one 7600GT my temps were "normal".

Here's hoping that Eliminator "eliminates" my problems.

Have you tried to remount your CPU cooler yet? I see that you have after market cooling for the CPU so something just doesn't sound right.
GeeeEighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 11:54 AM   #66
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeeEighty
Have you tried to remount your CPU cooler yet? I see that you have after market cooling for the CPU so something just doesn't sound right.
I have. I'm even using AS5 currently as the thermal grease.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 01:19 PM   #67
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Redeemed, GG
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 10:37 PM   #68
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Redeemed, GG
Thanks.

I'm going to lap this HSF. Maybe that is why it isn't doing as good a job as it seems it should. This *is* a beast of a cooler- but it has been off and on a bunch of different mobos. Maybe a good lapping (no crainger, I wasn't offering ) would do it some good. I always clean it as best I can every time I have to remove it from a mobo, and I clean the processor thoroughly as well- but that doesn't work nearly as well as lapping it.

Hmm... I'm gonna' be bying the Eliminator tomorrow. I'll use that in the meantime untill my rig with the E6600 is up and running. Then I'll use the Eliminator for my E6600 and have this Big Typhoon lapped so it should work wonder with this Opty then.

Oh, and even after hours in Oblivion at 1680x1050, 4xAA, 16xAF, GCAA, TMSAA, and all in-game options 100% maxed- it still hasn't gotten higher than 50*C. Maybe I will try my luck with 3Ghz... just to see.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-07, 10:11 PM   #69
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Okay, my Eliminator arrived a few days ago but wasn't able to install it till now. Here are the pictures:

Before:













And here is with the Eliminator installed:







And the first problem...





The side panel would not go on the case cause the 250mm fan got in the way. So, I had to remove the fan, and then remove the mesh that covered the hole on the side of the case in order to get the side panel to go on. I could not leave the mesh on cause the plastic stubs that the fan screwed into stuck out too far. So I just installed the fan on the outside of the panel so there wasn't a big gaping hole and to help cool the rest of the components. Here are some pictures:







Anhow, she's up and running at 3GHz now, and temps are no where near what I was hoping for. I have several ideas as to why, I'll get into those a bit later. Benches are comming up next!
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 10:55 PM   #70
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol











http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=4204596

My temps get near 60*C still. When installing the waterblock, I had a hard time getting it on without it slipping here and there, so I'm betting the AS5 didn't get to set that well.

Also, I'm sure my case fan on the side being as it is has a part to play in my temps. Overall, I am thinking that I'm taking this Eliminator out and putting the Thermaltake Big Typhoon back in. I can live with 2.8Ghz. Heck, before much longer I'll be running an E6600 and I'll use this Eliminator for that CPU.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 11:22 PM   #71
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Outside plumbing FTW!
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 11:43 PM   #72
Buckeye
Registered User
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Isn't that 3DMark03 you are using ?

Try the 06 version and see what you get.

Wait I see you are usining several versions there.
What screen rez are you running those tests at ? Mine defaults to 1280x1024.

Only reason why I ask is I am not sure what you guys consider a test run at for screen rez.
__________________
New Build Coming Soon
Powered by Liftoff and soon to be cooled by H30.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NV30 FINALLY Being launched!! sancheuz Rumor Mill 77 10-16-02 08:41 AM
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 02:17 PM
Finally... soundview00 NVIDIA Linux 4 10-02-02 09:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.