Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-07, 08:48 PM   #1
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

I recently had an urge to O/C my system by another 400MHz. I had to bump the voltage up of the CPU, which actually puts my idle temps now at 42C. I've ran Orthos and its pretty darn stable. However when I am playing or typing sometimes my keys appear to stick. If I bump it back down to stock this doesn't happen. I mean they don't physically stick, but the pc acts like thats whats happening.

Any suggestions on this? I was considering bumping the voltage up a bit more, not much just one up. I have no clue why its doing this though. It almost acts like it can't handle the amount of input I am using my keyboard for. I notice it happens most in BF2 when I am flying the helicopter.. The helicopter will literally turn all the way around as if I were holding my D key down which would make the helicopter turn right. It does happen sometimes typing, but its not as noticeable as in BF2 or other games. It defiantly has to be related to my O/C as I've tried other keyboards with no avail.

Any suggestions would be great.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-07, 09:18 PM   #2
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

well my only suggestion is try bumping up the voltage... if that fails then pcie frequency at 110mhz
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-07, 11:23 PM   #3
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

Does 1.38V sound reasonable for 3.4GHz?

One more thing could increasing the PCI-E clock lower the amount of voltage I need to give the CPU to run at this speed, or does it just give it extra stability?
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-07, 11:49 AM   #4
andy_nv
Registered User
 
andy_nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 300
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.
andy_nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-07, 11:55 AM   #5
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andy_nv
I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.
My voltage is 1.5v as well, and my cpu is running a little warmer than usual....
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-07, 11:59 AM   #6
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andy_nv
I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.
Yeah mine is at 1.4 now... A bit above it, but like you said in Windows under most programs, and even in the bios it shows at 1.38V
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-07, 10:25 AM   #7
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

I need 1.36v for 3.2 and can prime 3.6GHz on 1.46v. 1.5v for 3.4GHz or lower seems kinda high. Sometimes folks believe they have stability problems with their CPU when it is often the memory. They run it at high speed with tight timings and not enough voltage to keep it stable.

You fellows with high voltage on the CPU @ a lower clock might want to try setting your ram and CPU to a 1:1 ratio with average timings like 5-5-5-15 then see if your CPU can hold it's current clock with less voltage. If you really want to remove ram from the equation while you experiment go even more sloppy, like 5-6-6-18.

I always find my max CPU OC on a 1:1 ratio and sloppy timings then tighten up as much as I can while maintaining stability.

I don't need to increase any motherboard voltage on P35 other than vcore until I hit a 423 FSB on a 9x multi with Quad core, then I need to increase CPU VTT to keep it stable. That one is crucial for me @ 3.8.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-07, 10:48 AM   #8
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?

My E4300 1.8GHz can do 3.4+GHz but needs 1.65v the CPU temps are fine but when the Power regualtors hit 98C, the PC crashes. I wonder if 8 phase boards will have any luck.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.