Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-07, 06:47 AM   #13
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

It's fixed.. check the other thread
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-07, 12:10 AM   #14
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

550w was plenty
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-07, 12:30 AM   #15
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
550w was plenty
So upgrading the PSU will not fix it conking off and restarting during memory check when FSB control (CPU Host Control) is enabled?

Is it that my motherboard is faulty?

Just seems funny that when I put the GTS back in there is no problem... that points towards there not being enough power?
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-07, 01:50 AM   #16
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

My rig pulls 283 watts at boot with a 3.4GHz quad and a GTX (now a GT havnt tested that yet) That includes 4 hard drives and a crap load of fans. load hits high 300's but a 550W is still capable of powering it. grab a kill a watt meter there like $20 dollars I think home depot carries them Oh and those power draws were measured at the wall so factor in 80% and your only using 260 at boot and maybe 350-375 load
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Fedora 16, GTX 550Ti, random X hangs, "Attempted to yield the CPU..." MquwIBUO NVIDIA Linux 7 06-12-12 03:39 PM
At what CPU speed Does the GeForce4 Ti 4600 max out? DenverBuc NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-08-02 06:15 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
CPU limitations abound! PCarr78 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 10-03-02 07:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.