Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-07, 06:50 AM   #1
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

With my 8800GTS I can change the CPU Host Control no problem. However since I have inserted my new 8800GTX, if I set the Host Control to Enabled, the computer will shut down and restart itself during the POST screen and the setting will be changed back to Disabled. This is reardless of the actual number I set it too, even default 266 etc or even lower numbers like 200 making the CPU frequency 1.8GHz.

Is this because the 8800GTX is draining too much power from my Antec NeoHE 550W? That's the only thing I can think of. The computer at default 2.4GHZ with Host Control disabled is fully stable though, so if it was a power supply thing you'd think other things would go wrong.

When I change from the GTX back to the GTS it is all fine again...

I've tried resetting the BIOS, still the same... also changing voltages and CPU Vcore has no effect.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 04:09 PM   #2
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Just found out same thing happens if I change the PCI Express frequency , I used to put it to 102. If I put it to 100 now or 102, it will reboot during POST and reset to disabled.

Helpp!!
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 04:12 PM   #3
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

How big is the PSU?

Have you tried overclocking the CPU but not all the way to 3.0?
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 05:26 PM   #4
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

It's this one:

http://fastlanehw.com/reviews.php?i=172

Problem is, when I have the GTX in I can't overclock OR underclock. The only way to get it to POST is set the CPU Host Control (FSB) to Disabled so it's running at 2.4ghz stock.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 06:21 PM   #5
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

U tried a BIOS reset?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 06:25 PM   #6
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

When I got the mobo it was running BIOS F7 I think, I updated it to F12 when I got it. I just tried putting it to F8, still the same. I'll try F7 now.

Does anyone think my PSU is insufficient? With Q6600 + 8800GTX + 4GB + 3 hard drives, is that pushing it too much causing this problem? Putting the GTS back in fixes it.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 09:27 PM   #7
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Ok changing Mobo bios to F6 did nothing.

I disconnected two HDDs and my Blu-ray internal drive and now it works! My power supply just must not be powerful enough to run everything in my machine along with the GTX. Still, seems so weird the computer worked fine when CPU Host Control was Disabled with everything connected... Hmmmm..
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-07, 10:33 PM   #8
Prod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Not sure what to tell you man but a 550W PSU for everything you are running does seem to but abit low. You always want to have alittle extra so you are stressing you PSU all the time. You are sure stressing yours with everything you got running on it.
__________________
Core 2 Q6600 GO @ 3.75ghz 1.46v vdroop Mod
Thermaltake ToughPower 1000W
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Case
LITE-ON 20X DVD burner SATA
Lite-On DVD-ROM SATA
WD 2x320 SATA 3gb Raid 0
Win XP 64bit
Evga 780I P07 bios
Evga 2x8800GTX Superclocked 648/1620/2020
Corsair Dominator 2x2gb PC2 8500 4-3-3-9-2T
Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Samsung 37' 1080p HDTV 500s
Prod is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-07, 12:02 AM   #9
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Oh great..

I started to overclock again just now (it will work with 1 HDD disconnected). Since I bought my new Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme, temps have been about 15c lower than when I had my Zalman 9500. So I set the CPU to 3.15GHz and 1.35V. I do 4xPrime95 as usual, and the comp freezes like it sometimes does if not stable...

But now it won't boot at all. Everything powers up but no POST beep. Taking battery out for 5 mins doesn't help nor does using the CMOS jumper. Have I fried my CPU?

1.35V hardly seems like enough to cause it to just die.. also temps while it WAS doing prime95 for about 30 seconds were still far lower than when I had my Zalman 9500.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 04:55 AM   #10
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

When I said try a BIOS reset I meant using the jumper/button on the mobo. You done that?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 05:01 AM   #11
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

Yes I did do that. Not that it matters though now that the comp won't post at all... I have left the battery out for an hour and done multiple jumper attempts... no luck. More info in my topic in General Hardware.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 06:11 AM   #12
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Can't overclock CPU since having 8800GTX!

You posted double, but now that I see this one I am sure your PSU is gone.

You overtaxed it and now it goes into an overcurrent condition at power up.

Antec PSU's suck anyway.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Fedora 16, GTX 550Ti, random X hangs, "Attempted to yield the CPU..." MquwIBUO NVIDIA Linux 7 06-12-12 03:39 PM
At what CPU speed Does the GeForce4 Ti 4600 max out? DenverBuc NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-08-02 06:15 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
CPU limitations abound! PCarr78 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 10-03-02 07:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.