Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-03, 02:35 AM   #1
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Thumbs up Got a new 5800 Ultra on the way

I got the last PNY newegg had. It's OEM. No problem there tho.
The PNY does not have any game software with it anyway.
After I made my order I went back in and now out of stock.
My CC and all is already confirmed.
Should be here tuesday. 421 bucks with overnight shipping.
I was going to get a BFG but the sites CC confirm was screwed up and it would not go through. I went to newegg and they had one and I got it.

I just hope it's stable on my G-bay chipset mobo.
My 9700 Pro sure was not.
And yes I had the newest drivers etc. It's a AGP problem with the 7205 chipset and the Radeon.

Please hold the flames. I know it's slower I just want stable.
I sick of working on it more than I play.

Anyone here have a PNY?
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium

Last edited by bkswaney; 04-19-03 at 05:11 AM.
bkswaney is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 05:45 AM   #2
Typedef Enum
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 191
Default

I don't know man...I mean, nVidia is just weeks away from letting the cat out of the bag (NV35).

I think that NV35 will end up being worth the wait.
Typedef Enum is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 07:56 AM   #3
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Cool, im sure you will be pleased with it. Mine is wasted at the moment because i can play games at a much higher res than my monitor can support - but im going to solve that problem soon.

NV35 might be good yes, but the NV35 isnt out now and no one know when the NV35 will be out. People are just gussing its soon and i wont be 'upgrading' my FX unless the NV35 is pretty special. Be funny if NV35 turns out to be a Quadro FX 3000 or something else unexpected lol

You know with the 5600 Ultra not performing as well as it could has anyone thought that the NV35 could be a replacement for the mainstream market?
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 08:01 AM   #4
Hanners
Elite Bastard
 
Hanners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 984
Default Re: Got a new 5800 Ultra on the way

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
I just hope it's stable on my G-bay chipset mobo.
My 9700 Pro sure was not.
And yes I had the newest drivers etc. It's a AGP problem with the 7205 chipset and the Radeon.
Not trying to flame, and I certainly don't blame you for wanting to find a card that's fast and stable on your platform, but I'm a little curious as to what happened between today and two days ago when you posted this on Rage3D:

Quote:
I'm not sure why some of u r having problems with older 9700's and X8.

I have a rev 1 9700 Pro and it works just fine on all MOBO's I've tried.
It's on a new G-bay 7205 Intel chipset now with X8 running no problem.
I do not see any problems using it on a 875P board.
From what I understand the 875 and 7205 are a lot alike
in many ways.
__________________
Owner / Editor-in-Chief - Elite Bastards
Hanners is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 08:26 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Um, why would you switch from 9800 to 5800? The 9800 eats Ultra for breakfast in 3dmark2k1, and it beats it in 2k3, even with the 5800's higher clock EDIT: of course it would be worthwhile to switch if you have compatibility problems... doh

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-22.html

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-23.html
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro

Last edited by Gator; 04-19-03 at 09:10 AM.
Gator is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 08:45 AM   #6
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default



Did you even read the post?

Quote:
I just hope it's stable on my G-bay chipset mobo.
My 9700 Pro sure was not.
Oh and those were pixel and vertex shader speeds. Which i believe on the NV30 can be affected A LOT by the drivers. I noted you were also very selective of the links there werent you. We can all play that game. See the 5800 Ultra eats the 9800 for breakfast. Infact the Ti4800 beats the 9800 in Serious Sam there lol.

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-17.html

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-21.html

__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.

Last edited by RobHague; 04-19-03 at 08:48 AM.
RobHague is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 08:48 AM   #7
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Sorry, I just did a quick google search for 9800 5800 comparison. But I'm also pretty confident the 9800 is a better card overall. EDIT: but like he said he had compatibility problems... doh

Quote:
Originally posted by RobHague

Did you even read the post?
Oh and those were pixel and vertex shader speeds. Very selective of the links there werent you. We can all play that game.
http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-17.html
http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...800pro-21.html
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro

Last edited by Gator; 04-19-03 at 09:10 AM.
Gator is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 08:50 AM   #8
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

He hasnt got a 9800. He had a 9700 - and the reason he switched was because it wouldnt work stable on his mainboard.

The 9800 v 5800 debate is urrm for another day either NVIDIA or ATI card is good, it all depends on what you want.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline  

Old 04-19-03, 08:53 AM   #9
walkndude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

can you read gator, he said he was having compatibility problems with his 9700 and current mobo...

Geesh give it a break allready.

edit: you beat me to the punch rob
 
Old 04-19-03, 09:09 AM   #10
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Oh... ok I'm a dumby, sorry. I'll update my posts. Sorry, I'm deathly ill today
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 12:22 PM   #11
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Smile Hope your feeling better soon!



Being sick sucks
Kev1 is offline  
Old 04-19-03, 12:34 PM   #12
Rogozhin
Registered User
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: oregon
Posts: 826
Default

Im a little curious about Hanner's post.

First you say it has no problems at rage3d.com then you post here that the reason why you are buying the fx is because it has compatability problems.

Kinda Wierd.

rogo
Rogozhin is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.