Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-07, 12:38 AM   #1
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,130
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Phenom BIOS update

I've been reading around on different sites about BIOS updates, and my motherboard finally has a Phenom support BIOS update. I've read a few cases where people updated their BIOS without having a Phenom yet and they weren't able to use their computer because the BIOS update stopped supporting their current CPU and started supporting the Phenom. Is it a better idea to flash WHEN I have a Phenom in my hands (I know, I know...but I don't have money for Intel quads )? Because I haven't heard of anyone having problems with a Gigabyte board BIOS flash yet.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 11:35 PM   #2
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Wait until you have said chip.All bios releases for K10 revolve around AMD.

Check out the Tech Reports article on K10's 'No Ship' order (Phenom and Barcelona) AMD is in huge trouble right now.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-07, 08:44 PM   #3
Tho Jo Smale
Maximum Speed
 
Tho Jo Smale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
Wait until you have said chip.All bios releases for K10 revolve around AMD.

Check out the Tech Reports article on K10's 'No Ship' order (Phenom and Barcelona) AMD is in huge trouble right now.

Yep, they fooked up bigtime.

I'm embarrassed to say that until today's news I was going to purchase a new X4 processor. However now my money must go to Intel.


JC
__________________
AMD X4 9850+ 200X15 Ram @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12 2T
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe (silly 3 year old mobo can't do DDR1066 with Phenom....damn ASUS!)
4gb Corsair PC8500 XMS2
Thermaltake 750w PSU
HIS Radeon 4870 1024MB 800/960 Cat 9.4 Beta
Creative X-FI APU
Western Digital 640gb Sata II Harddisk
Logitech Z-640 5.1 surround speakers
Lg 52X cd r/w and Lg 16x DVD R/W Lightscribe
3dmark06 14410 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8600451
Newbs Helping Newbs brings a tear to my eye
Tho Jo Smale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 08:12 AM   #4
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Hopefully the next version of the phenom and opteron quad will have this fixed. This is why no one could find the damn things.. they pulled them from shipping.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 02:43 AM   #5
GunshyGabe
Registered User
 
GunshyGabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

If you are getting a Phenom. I Would wait till the B3 revisions. The B2's have the TLB bug. When you get a B3 revision processor, update the BIOS. The B3 should be shipping in March of 08 if you can wait.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit
Asus M2N SLI Deluxe
Athlon64 X2 5000+ Black Edition @ 3Ghz (231x13)
Seasonic M12 500 Watt
Sapphire HD 3870
Patriot 4 GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Samsung 500gig SATA 2
Creative Xi-Fi Extreme Music
LG GGC-H20L BLU-RAY HD-DVD Reader BD-ROM
Samsung 216BW 21.6" LCD
Saitek Gamers Keyboard
Logitech G5 Lazer Mouse
Logitech 5300e 5.1 speakers
GunshyGabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 02:46 AM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tho Jo Smale
Yep, they fooked up bigtime.

I'm embarrassed to say that until today's news I was going to purchase a new X4 processor. However now my money must go to Intel.


JC
Umm... mind if I ask what I missed? How did AMD mess up this time? Is there some massive flaw with the Phenoms? I've tried browsing around for what you guys are talking about but can't find nothing.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 07:30 AM   #7
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

I guess the L3 isn't working propperly and it destroys performance. Theres already (suposidly) a work around with custom kernel patches in linux, so I don't see how big of a problem this is.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 07:41 AM   #8
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic
I guess the L3 isn't working propperly and it destroys performance. Theres already (suposidly) a work around with custom kernel patches in linux, so I don't see how big of a problem this is.
Would you read what you just wrote?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-07, 07:49 AM   #9
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Umm... mind if I ask what I missed? How did AMD mess up this time? Is there some massive flaw with the Phenoms? I've tried browsing around for what you guys are talking about but can't find nothing.
Read this...and this follow-up.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 09:46 PM   #10
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,130
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by GunshyGabe
If you are getting a Phenom. I Would wait till the B3 revisions. The B2's have the TLB bug. When you get a B3 revision processor, update the BIOS. The B3 should be shipping in March of 08 if you can wait.

I'm impatient. Intel, here I come.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 10:23 PM   #11
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
I'm impatient. Intel, here I come.
Unfortunately there is no reason to go AMD right now. They have fubared their K10's.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 10:54 PM   #12
Gorion
Papahs Pleez
 
Gorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 715
Default Re: Phenom BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q
Would you read what you just wrote?
Yeah but AMD could release a turd with pins sticking out of it and a12ctic would tell us all how great it is.
__________________
The Bird is the Word.
Gorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making Progress: Tribes Ascend's Accelerate Update News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-12-12 07:30 AM
Tribes: Ascend Staying Alive update adds sticky grenades, disco Brute News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-22-12 07:10 AM
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 04:15 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 05:10 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.