Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-07, 07:11 AM   #13
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Ok i set the multiplier to x6, the memory as low as it will go, i can get to 1300FSB, any higher and it craps out!

that with the vcore on 1.35v and the memory on 1.9v

Well now this explains your OC problems Do you have any voltage adjustments in bios for the north/south bridge?
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 07:51 AM   #14
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
Well now this explains your OC problems Do you have any voltage adjustments in bios for the north/south bridge?

Yeah .... well i think so lol.

I think they are on auto.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 07:56 AM   #15
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

well we better unauto them Maybe you have a MCH and SPP? If so raise them. MCH to 1.4V and SPP 1.4V (If my memory is correct)
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 07:58 AM   #16
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Sorry for being a noob here but what are MCH and SPP?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 08:06 AM   #17
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Ok i just checked in the bios, i can adjust the following settings.

NB Core Voltage:
Auto
1.208v
1.393v
1.563v
1.748v

********************************

Vcore Offset Voltage
Auto
+100mv

********************************

All of the above are currently on auto.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 08:10 AM   #18
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
1.4 under load is a safe spot after Vdrop. so say 1.42-1.44 any more and your going to run the risk of killing it. Granted you always run the risk its just more of a risk after that
You can go all the way up to 1.55v before the C2Q CPU's refuse to even boot. I would imagine that because of this, it isn't really possible to damage the CPU by setting the voltage too high so long as you keep it cool enough. Once it hits 125C it shuts down anyways, though I wouldn't push that. They've made these things pretty fool proof it seems.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 08:50 AM   #19
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Ok i just checked in the bios, i can adjust the following settings.

NB Core Voltage:
Auto
1.208v
1.393v
1.563v
1.748v

********************************

Vcore Offset Voltage
Auto
+100mv

********************************

All of the above are currently on auto.

I really hate that board Set the NB to 1.563v and see if your FSB will go higher with the 6X multiplier. If not then your simply screwed.
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-07, 08:53 AM   #20
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Also, run your memory at a slow speed to match the CPU, take it down to 667 stepping speed or even 533 stepping speed to match a 1:1 ratio with the CPU. I acctually gained performance by doing this. The memory runs slower, but in sync with the CPU and at tighter timings.
Interesting. What exactly do you mean by 1:1 ratio? Are you referring to the memory FSB multiplier? If so, it seems the lowest mine goes is 2.5.

EDIT: Nevermind, the list isn't in order by multiplier in my GA-P35-DS3L board's bios. Seems to go anywhere from 2.0 to 4.0 in increments of .5, with a few increments of .1 under 3.

Right now on my Q6700 I am testing my FSB at 366mhz, CPU therefore running at 3.66Ghz and the memory is at a 2.5 multiplier, so its running at 915Mhz.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-07-07, 05:32 PM   #21
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
Interesting. What exactly do you mean by 1:1 ratio? Are you referring to the memory FSB multiplier? If so, it seems the lowest mine goes is 2.5.

EDIT: Nevermind, the list isn't in order by multiplier in my GA-P35-DS3L board's bios. Seems to go anywhere from 2.0 to 4.0 in increments of .5, with a few increments of .1 under 3.

Right now on my Q6700 I am testing my FSB at 366mhz, CPU therefore running at 3.66Ghz and the memory is at a 2.5 multiplier, so its running at 915Mhz.
What I meant by that was my FSB before the multiplier is the same exact speed as my memory before its multipler. For example I am running my FSB at 350MHz (350 x 4 = 1400Mhz FSB for the CPU) and my memory is running at 350Mhz (350 x 2 = 700Mhz for the memory speed). On my motherboard in order to get this I use the PC-533Mhz stepping for my memory. This keeps the memory speed and FSB in sync with each other. It does not make a huge difference but I did notice small performance gains by running the memory in sync (which in this case is 100Mhz below its rated speed of 800Mhz) and with tighter timings. Its a trick that used to work wonders back on the old XP line of AMD CPU's... does not appear to do as much now, but the same idea can be used to get higher overclocks by stepping your memory back in the motherboard to get higher FSB speeds without the memory being your limiting factor
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-07, 09:25 PM   #22
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Hmm...on that subject, what is the highest speed you should realistically expect from name brand DDR2-800 memory? One of mine seems to run ok at 1098Mhz (haven't tried higher yet) and the other runs fine at 1050 but craps out at 1098. Both don't seem to like going below CAS 6 at these speeds though.

I am asking because I am thinking about going to Fry's electronics and exchanging the other stick, but it is a long drive so I am curious what I should realistically expect before I bother doing so.

Also would it be faster to run CAS 4 at 800 or CAS 6 at 1098?
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-07, 05:51 AM   #23
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
Hmm...on that subject, what is the highest speed you should realistically expect from name brand DDR2-800 memory? One of mine seems to run ok at 1098Mhz (haven't tried higher yet) and the other runs fine at 1050 but craps out at 1098. Both don't seem to like going below CAS 6 at these speeds though.

I am asking because I am thinking about going to Fry's electronics and exchanging the other stick, but it is a long drive so I am curious what I should realistically expect before I bother doing so.

Also would it be faster to run CAS 4 at 800 or CAS 6 at 1098?
The only way to know is to give it a try. Try some settings and test em in Sandra and maybe 3DM06 or a game benchmark. I found over 900Mhz on the memory the bandwidth starts to drop off a bit and there was no 'real-world' performance gain. But with a stock memory clocks (800) and tighter timings some games and apps are a little faster. The differences are quite small though really. I'd say go for CAS4 @ 800Mhz. Also running in 'Sync mode' gave me a boost of about 500Mb/s with the memory.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103878
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 02:48 AM   #24
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Help overclocking my quad core?

Just noticed that on this particular memory, the OCZ lifetime warranty specifically covers up to 2.2v for overclocking purposes. I have no idea what voltage my memory currently draws though, and the bios on the D3SL only gives you the option of +.X volts. What is the most reliable way of determining what voltage my memory is currently drawing, that way I know what I can add to it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Also running in 'Sync mode' gave me a boost of about 500Mb/s with the memory.
Isn't it that only certain motherboards allow you to unlink your memory from the FSB? My memory speeds are always a multiple of my FSB (I keep mine at 3x.) CPU is of course a 10x multiple in my case. I assume that this is what is meant by "synced?"

If so I think I'll drop my memory multiplier down to 2.5x in order to use the lower latency timings. I am thinking I am going to lock it down with a 350Mhz FSB as everything seems very stable at that, and it might be realistic for me to keep my CPU cool enough like that as soon as I install my zalman.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.