Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-03, 08:35 AM   #1
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default 43.49 + mdk9.1 + GF3Ti200= blank screen

i installed the newest drivers on my mdk 9.1, and i modified XF86-Config-4 to replace nv by nvidia
now, when i try to boot, i got a blank screen
I used to have the same problem with the 41.91 on my mdk9.0 , so i used the 31.23 and it worked, but now, i HAVE to use the 43.49 drivers and it doesnt work

please help me
------------------
Athlon 850
GF3Ti200 (creative)
MSI K7T Pro2 (KT133, MS6330)
768mb SDRAM PC133
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 05:20 AM   #2
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default

I tried /sbin/lsmod and it shows no "nvidia"
the i tried /sbin/modprobe nvidia as root and it says me
>>nvidia loaded with warnings
then i do "startx" and still got this ****in blank screen
I'm getting mad please help me
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 01:16 PM   #3
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Does disabling AGP help?

Add
Code:
Option   "NvAgp" "0"
to your XF86Config file.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 01:00 PM   #4
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default not worse, but not better

i added your settings for the AGP, and something new happened : now, thereis no more blank screen...
there is the standart command line with a superb black background, and at least 8 colors!!!
i tried startx,; and it shows something strange :
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): ***Aborting***
(EE) Screen(s): found but none have a usable configuration.
Fatal Server Error:
no screens found
XIO: Fatal IO error 104 (connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining

I joined the copy of my XFree log here
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (6.2 KB, 112 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 01:06 PM   #5
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Unhappy not worse, but not better

i tried disabling agp...
i dont have animore blank screen,but i have got the command line
linux seems to have problem loading kernel
i post my Xfree log with
please help me Andy...
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (6.6 KB, 121 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 01:15 PM   #6
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Unhappy not worse, but not better

i disabled agp...
i dont have animore blank screen,but i have got the command line
linux seems to have problem loading kernel
i post my Xfree log with
please help me Andy...
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (13.5 KB, 95 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 01:16 PM   #7
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default and

and here is my XF86Config-4 file...
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (2.8 KB, 100 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 01:17 PM   #8
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default

i disabled agp...
i dont have animore blank screen,but i have got the command line
linux seems to have problem loading kernel
i post my Xfree log with
please help me Andy...

Attachment: xfree86.0.log
This has been downloaded 0 time(s).
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (13.5 KB, 115 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-18-03, 01:17 PM   #9
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default

and now the XF86Config-4 file...
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (2.8 KB, 124 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 04:20 PM   #10
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

That's the standard, catchall error message - just about anything can cause it. Did you install via the installer? If so, can you post a copy of /var/log/nvidia-installer.log?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-03, 04:11 AM   #11
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Yes, i installed the drivers from the 43.49 .run package

here is the log u want
I just had a look into it, and it seems ok...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (1.8 KB, 112 views)
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-03, 04:22 AM   #12
nemesis_rebirth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Default !!!!

I tried again, and i decided to let the blank screen for sometimes..
after ~3-5 minutes, kde finaly loads up!!!
but now, how can i make it boot faster?
5 minutes is, i think, quite a long boot time!!!
but chromium, tux racer, and all mesa test work fine!!
nemesis_rebirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVS3100 (Thinkpad T410) blank screen on resume NvFuchs NVIDIA Linux 2 05-15-12 01:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.