Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-07, 08:00 AM   #1
billydv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Default Does Anyone Have DPMS Resume Working Correctly With Compiz-Fusion?

This has driven me crazy for quite some time, I am trying to get this to work to no avail.

I run several boxes
box1 Gentoo amd64, asus a8n32sli, deluxe x2 4200, nvidia 8800gts video card

box2 Gentoo X86, Abit socket a mboard, xp 3000, nvidia 7800gs video card

box3 Debian amd64 using gentoo sources 2.6.23r1 (using uvesa fb for framebuffer splash), asus a8v deluxe, athlon fx57, nvidia 7800gs video card


All boxes are running latest compiz fusion, gentoo with the live ebuilds from git, debian running shame packages. All boxes running nvidia 169 beta drivers

What I have realized is that kscreensaver doesnt work because you get a partial screen covering with the screensaver. Xscreensaver does work but when resuming from standby or power off (monitor only is what Im talking about) I get a black screen with a mouse that moves but nothing else, all I can do is restart x. I have tried all the various methods, vsync checked in nvidia setting, vsync not checked in nvidia settings, vsync checked and not checked in ccsm settings, loose binding, indirect rendering, all give me the same results.

If anyone has a working gentoo or debian setup (or any distro for that matter) with a working dpms resume, please give me full details here so that I may work this problem out. Ive needed to disable dpms to have it work for now.


my xorg.conf

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "True"
Option "standby time" "10"
Option "suspend time" "20"
Option "off time" "30"
EndSection

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/default/ghostscript"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/liberation-fonts-ttf"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/urw-fonts"
FontPath "/usr/local/share/fonts"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "extmod"
Load "wfb"
#Load "xtrap"
#Load "record"
Load "dbe"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbOptions" "grp:toggle,grp_led:scroll"
Option "XkbVariant" ",winkeys"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "IBM CRT 190"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "DPMS" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8800 GTS"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
Identifier "GeForce 8800 GTS"
Option "UseEDID" "False"
Option "DPI" "72 x 72"
Option "SLI" "False"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
Option "Coolbits" "1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "GeForce 8800 GTS"
Monitor "IBM CRT 190"
DefaultColorDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection



My Nvidia Settings

#
# /home/billydv/.nvidia-settings-rc
#
# Configuration file for nvidia-settings - the NVIDIA X Server Settings utility
# Generated on Sun Nov 18 17:58:49 2007
#

# ConfigProperties:

RcFileLocale = C
ToolTips = Yes
DisplayStatusBar = Yes
SliderTextEntries = Yes
IncludeDisplayNameInConfigFile = No
ShowQuitDialog = Yes

# Attributes:

0/DigitalVibrance[CRT-0]=0
0/SyncToVBlank=0
0/AllowFlipping=1
0/LogAniso=0
0/FSAA=0
0/TextureSharpen=0
0/ForceGenericCpu=0
0/GammaCorrectedAALines=0
0/CursorShadow=1
0/CursorShadowXOffset=4
0/CursorShadowYOffset=2
0/CursorShadowAlpha=64
0/CursorShadowRed=0
0/CursorShadowGreen=0
0/CursorShadowBlue=0
0/FSAAAppControlled=1
0/LogAnisoAppControlled=1
0/FSAAAppEnhanced=0
0/RedBrightness=0.000000
0/GreenBrightness=0.000000
0/BlueBrightness=0.000000
0/RedContrast=0.000000
0/GreenContrast=0.000000
0/BlueContrast=0.000000
0/RedGamma=1.000000
0/GreenGamma=1.000000
0/BlueGamma=1.000000
0/OpenGLImageSettings=1
0/XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank=0
0/XVideoSyncToDisplay=1


Thanks
billydv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-07, 09:16 AM   #2
Zirafarafa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Does Anyone Have DPMS Resume Working Correctly With Compiz-Fusion?

Try disabling sync to vblank in your compiz settings
Zirafarafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-07, 04:08 PM   #3
Krayzier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Does Anyone Have DPMS Resume Working Correctly With Compiz-Fusion?

But what if you like vsync?

For some reason nvidia-settings' vsync does nothing for me.
Krayzier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-07, 05:10 PM   #4
Moony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Does Anyone Have DPMS Resume Working Correctly With Compiz-Fusion?

DPMS works just fine on my system:

Fedora 8
KDE
Latest Compiz Fusion 0.60.99
169 beta drivers
nvidia 7300 GS
Athlon 3800+

I can't say for sure, but my guess is that it's monitor related. What happens if you try a different monitor on one of the setups you are having problems with?

Moony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Bug Report] Xid error after resume with 307.02, and compiz stops working. John K. NVIDIA Linux 0 05-09-12 02:42 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.