Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-07, 07:25 PM   #1
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default 7600GS at 2560x1600

dear nvidia experts:

gentoo linux, fully updated, new HP LP3065 30" monitor, MSI NX7600 GS-T2D256EH Geforce 7600GS card (which prominently advertises dual-dvi dual-link).

alas, no matter what I try in xorg.conf, I cannot get it to display at 2560x1600. It always falls back to 1280x800 (which thankfully the HP supports). I tried 'Option "ModeValidation" "NoMaxPClkCheck', but then my screen becomes a veritable piece of art, albeit a non-sensible one.

I looked at the enclosed nvidia bug report (great debug utility!), and I wonder why I am getting "single-link" rather than "dual-link" in grepping for link.

Oh, and yes, I was smart enough to use a dual-link cable, and to reboot my computer. (And no, it was not one of my finest moments when I first just used my old dvi cable.)

Any help would be appreciated.

Sincerely,

/ivo welch
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (22.1 KB, 144 views)
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-07, 07:32 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

Please note that 1.0-8776 is no longer supported. Does this problem persist with 1.0-9746 and the following options in xorg.conf?
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 10:18 AM   #3
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please note that 1.0-8776 is no longer supported. Does this problem persist with 1.0-9746 and the following options in xorg.conf?
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

Thanks,
Lonni
Thank you for the quick response, Lonni. I know why I no longer buy ATI.

I updated to 8776, and tried it with and without these two extra options, and with and without a specific modeline. Unfortunately, the result is still the same. The monitor/card dances at 1280x800 only.

any idea what I should try next?

regards,

/ivo
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (22.5 KB, 132 views)
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 12:01 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

As you noted, the card seems to only be single link TMDS capable:
(--) NVIDIA(0): HP LP3065 (DFP-1): Internal Single Link TMDS

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 01:44 PM   #5
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
As you noted, the card seems to only be single link TMDS capable:
(--) NVIDIA(0): HP LP3065 (DFP-1): Internal Single Link TMDS

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni

hi lonnie---if this card were single-link, this would make me a rather unhappy camper, but the fault would then presumably lie with MSI, not with nvidia. is there a way to definitively learn whether the card is only single-link? when I call them up, they will probably give me a schpiel about how they only understand windows, and it must be my linux installation that is at fault.

another curiosity: I am enclosing the revised nvidia bug report. alas, the error almost suggests that its the monitor's fault, not the graphics card's fault.

(II) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "2560x1600":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 2560 x 1600 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 268.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 2560, 2608
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2640, 2720
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1600, 1603
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1609, 1646
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: PixelClock (268.0 MHz) too high for
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Display Device (Max: 165.0 MHz).


I very much appreciate the help.

regards,

/iaw
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (30.3 KB, 115 views)
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 01:55 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

I'm afraid that your card is definitely not capable of dual link TMDS, and therefore cannot drive 2560x1600. You'd need a 7600GT (rather than the GS) for dual link TMDS support. See the chart at the bottom:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nzone_extreme_hd.html
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 02:47 PM   #7
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

thanks. I believe you. Look at this:

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...56EH&class=vga

under Key Specifications: dual dual-link dvi support

Grrr...

/iaw
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 03:08 PM   #8
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I'm afraid that your card is definitely not capable of dual link TMDS, and therefore cannot drive 2560x1600. You'd need a 7600GT (rather than the GS) for dual link TMDS support. See the chart at the bottom:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nzone_extreme_hd.html
I now replaced the 7600GS with a 7600GT, more precisely one from gigabyte that is here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125025 .

Alas, same issue: no 2580x1600 support. And, yes, the cable has a full set of 3*8 pins, not the single-link cable.

Any other ideas of what can go wrong here?

sincerely,

/ivo welch
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (29.9 KB, 119 views)
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-01-07, 03:45 PM   #9
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default 7600 GT problems with dual link 2560x1600

The old thread name is no longer applicable, because I have now replaced the 7600GS with a 7600GT, more precisely one from gigabyte that is here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125025 .

Alas, same issue: no 2580x1600 support. And, yes, the cable has a full set of 3*8 pins, not the single-link cable.

Any other ideas of what can go wrong here?

sincerely,

/ivo welch
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (29.9 KB, 101 views)
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 03:46 PM   #10
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

I just reposted this as a new thread, because its now about a 7600GT, not about a 7600GS any longer.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...26#post1182626
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 04:19 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

I'm honestly not sure why you're seeing single link TMDS with the 7600GT card. When I attach a Dell LP3065 panel to a 7600GT, I get the full 2560x1600 resolution when using the 1.0-9746 driver.

I suppose it could be the VBIOS on the graphics card you're using. You might want to contact Gigabyte and ask them to confirm that the card you've purchased has been verified to work with the Dell LP3065 panel.

In some very rare cases I've seen a bad motherboard BIOS cause strange behavior like this. Have you verified that you're using the latest BIOS?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 04:54 PM   #12
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: 7600GS at 2560x1600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I'm honestly not sure why you're seeing single link TMDS with the 7600GT card. When I attach a Dell LP3065 panel to a 7600GT, I get the full 2560x1600 resolution when using the 1.0-9746 driver.

I suppose it could be the VBIOS on the graphics card you're using. You might want to contact Gigabyte and ask them to confirm that the card you've purchased has been verified to work with the Dell LP3065 panel.

In some very rare cases I've seen a bad motherboard BIOS cause strange behavior like this. Have you verified that you're using the latest BIOS?

Thanks,
Lonni
Hi Lonni: last favor. if you have this kind of setup already working, could you please post an xorg.conf and an nvidia-bug-report for me?

regards,

/ivo
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with dual monitors on 302.17 edsrzf NVIDIA Linux 7 07-11-12 06:10 PM
GeForce4 and dual monitor refresh rates elusive NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 1 10-04-02 03:47 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.