Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-06, 04:36 PM   #1
fahlen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Hi, I've been searching the forum, but with no luck. I have a Gigabyte K8NSC motherboard, AMD64 3700+ processor, and an NVIDIA 6800 GT (AGP) graphics card. I just bought the motherboard and installed Fedora Core 5. Now I'm faced with not being able to get AGP to work. I've installed kmod-nvidia-1.0.8756-2.2.6.16_1.2111_FC5 from the livna repository.

dmesg gives me the following messages:

Code:
Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ f0000000 size 32 MB
Aperture from northbridge cpu 0 too small (32 MB)
AGP bridge at 00:00:00
Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB (APSIZE 0)
Aperture from AGP bridge too small (0 MB)
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM

...

agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.
agpgart: Consider rebooting with iommu=memaper=2 to get a good aperture.
PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU.
I can find no options regarding AGP aperture or IOMMU in the BIOS.

Has anyone come across the same problem and solved it? I'd be very grateful for any help.

/Markus
fahlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 04:41 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

You need to try booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter (as was printed in the dmesg output that you posted).

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 05:11 PM   #3
fahlen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

I forgot to mention that I've tried that, but it didn't make any difference Thanks for your reply.
fahlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 08:49 PM   #4
deBeuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 21
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Have you tried updating the motherboard's BIOS? I had this exact same problem when I bought my Asus A8V Deluxe, flashing with the latest BIOS fixed it for me.
__________________
Words! Nothing but sweet, sweet words that turn into bitter orange wax in my ears.
deBeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-06, 12:39 PM   #5
gizzi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Hi,
i got the same problem. And it seems that the mainboard is f*cked up. Well, actually only for linux users.
My Mainboard is GA-K8NSC-939 (AMD Athlon64 3000+) and my Geforce 6200 is running sloooooow...
I updated the BIOS yesterday, but unfortunately this problem is still unsolved.
gizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-06, 12:57 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

I'd like to see bug reports from anyone experiencing this problem while booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 01:30 AM   #7
gizzi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I'd like to see bug reports from anyone experiencing this problem while booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter.

Thanks,
Lonni
As mentioned above, this kernel parameter doesn't effect anything at all. You get the same error output as without "iommu=memaper=2".
I also tried "iommu=memaper=3" which i saw in another forum, and it did cost me 256MB of RAM (which is my graphics card memory amount).
The only workaround for this I know is to deactivate K8 IOMMU at all (iommu=off as append line doesn't work at all, too).
gizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-06, 06:17 AM   #8
gizzi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

I uploaded some syslog http://nopaste.php-q.net/214645
gizzi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-02-06, 10:48 AM   #9
Albert87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

I have the same problem and same out put

agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.


Motherbord k8nsc, and im experiance problems when running with more then 1 DDR memory bank... Its running as shell server, so the graphics do not matter.

THE PROBLEM...
As said, the problem occurs when running with more then 1 memory bank (like 2 x 512 or 1x1GB/2x512) im getting kernel panics after a few hours, a day or meaby a few days...

Q:
Does the video card run with shared memory with this problem?! Then I can imagine the problem we experiance...
EDIT It seems that it does!!
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
Mapping aperture over 65536 KB of RAM @ 4000000

------------------------------------------------/EDIT
Does this problem occurs with other linux distro's? We experianced the problems with centos 4.2 aswell.

Is there any solutions to this problem?!

Regards,
Albert

Last edited by Albert87; 07-02-06 at 11:44 AM.
Albert87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-06, 03:46 PM   #10
vnywn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Pressing Ctrl-F1 in BIOS enables advanced settings. You can then set the AGP aperture size (to 64MB or more). This should fix the problem.
vnywn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-06, 05:20 PM   #11
Albert87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnywn
Pressing Ctrl-F1 in BIOS enables advanced settings. You can then set the AGP aperture size (to 64MB or more). This should fix the problem.
That sounds verry optimistic, reading ur posts above?! Could it be that simple?

Box running at data center so its not 1,2,3, tested, but im going to for sure...

Any other sugestions or will the solution by vnywn really fix it all ?!
Albert87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-06, 06:56 AM   #12
Albert87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5

Would this problem occour with a pci vid. card?
Albert87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.