Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-07, 06:12 PM   #1
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

I'm not sure what's causing this, but it's really annoying to get kicked from servers after only 1 minute of play. Does anyone know a way to fix this? I triple checked that I had my punkbuster enabled in options.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 06:38 PM   #2
Sk8rdd00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

You need to have the "PnkBstrA" service enabled otherwise any punkbuster game will kick you after a minute as you've described. If you still get kicked try enabling the "PnkBstrB" service as well.
Sk8rdd00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 06:50 PM   #3
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

both are enabled. Still getting error.

error number is C2028
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 06:55 PM   #4
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

Here's the kick message:



Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	punkbuster.JPG
Views:	3803
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	29408  
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 06:58 PM   #5
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

I have seen this too and it didn't always happen but others would be complaining about it as well. Haven't heard of a fix thou.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 07:04 PM   #6
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

1st time I've seen that one i used the patch never had any problems,looks like a pain hope you get it fixed.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 07:05 PM   #7
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

Just tried manually updating punkbuster too. Now it says my version of punkbuster is newer than the version all the servers are using


What have these guys done???
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-07, 08:14 PM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

punkbuster can be a PITA.

if it was failing to init then you did the right thing by updating. dont know why it's not working...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-13-07, 11:33 PM   #9
dannyboy233
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

Are you running Vista? I had that problem, solved it by going to the CoD4 folder and setting iw3mp.exe to run as administrator.
dannyboy233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 12:14 AM   #10
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyboy233
Are you running Vista? I had that problem, solved it by going to the CoD4 folder and setting iw3mp.exe to run as administrator.
No. XP MCE 2005.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 10:07 AM   #11
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

Assuming they didn't update PunkBuster last night, I may have found a fix...

If anyone with this problem is using Norton Antivirus, this may be the solution. Just put the "punkbusterA" and "punkbusterB" programs in your "allow" list for norton antivirus. I guess Norton was blocking those programs' access to the "master server" or whatever.

Anyway, this fixed it for me.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 12:20 PM   #12
fugu_fish
Registered User
 
fugu_fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default Re: Call of Duty 4 Patch 1.3: Punkbuster fails to connect to server...

I've had this happen since the 1.3 patch, too. I also see people constantly getting PB boots from servers. I have the Steam version of COD4 and I've had a lot of trouble with PB.

Check this out:
Quote:
Friday 12.14.2007 [5:30AM]

Version 1.625 of the PB Server for COD4 has been released to our PB Master Servers for auto-update and to our website download page. This update reverts to PB Client version 2.009 due to recent PB Client builds not auto-updating smoothly. A new PB Client build will be released soon to correct this issue. Kicking has been temporarily disabled at our masters so as not to negatively affect players who do not have PB Client version 2.009.

http://www.punkbuster.com/index.php?...pport-cod4.php

Maybe it will help...
__________________

|Antec 900/GB X58A-UD3R|i7-930 @3.6|6GB OCZ|Corsair TX850|Hannspree HF289H 28" monitor |GB GTX460 SLI|Xonar DX|Seagate Hybrid 500GB| WD6400AAKS 640GB/SG 320GB|WD Caviar Black 1TB |Samsung SH-203B |Windows 7 Pro x64 |Sennheiser HD-280
fugu_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.