Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-07, 11:02 PM   #13
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12
I think I need to get professionally calibrated.
Just remember that if you pay less than $60 you'll probably get more than you bargained for.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 06:51 AM   #14
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
I have sharpness set to 50%. Would that be considered an "enhancement"? I think it looks wonderful at 50%. However, any higher than that and you start to see grain.

I really need to find my camera....
I think it depends on what TV you're using. When viewing HD content shouldn't sharpness be set to zero because anything above this is adding artificial sharpness to a 1:1 pixel image? It certainly is that way on an LCD.
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-07, 06:25 PM   #15
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by npras42
I think it depends on what TV you're using. When viewing HD content shouldn't sharpness be set to zero because anything above this is adding artificial sharpness to a 1:1 pixel image? It certainly is that way on an LCD.
CRT
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-07, 06:52 PM   #16
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
CRT
Yeah, sorry, you say that like a few times in your first post... I wouldn't have thought my advice would really be correct in your case.
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-07, 08:01 PM   #17
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by npras42
I think it depends on what TV you're using. When viewing HD content shouldn't sharpness be set to zero because anything above this is adding artificial sharpness to a 1:1 pixel image? It certainly is that way on an LCD.
FYI for Sony TVs zero sharpness is actually around 35. Below 35 and it artificially blurs the picture, above it and it artificially edge enhances it.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 05:56 AM   #18
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined
FYI for Sony TVs zero sharpness is actually around 35. Below 35 and it artificially blurs the picture, above it and it artificially edge enhances it.
lol. Considering the sharpnes on my TV goes from 0 to 20 there is something amiss there.

EDIT: 0 to 30 sorry, I just checked.
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 06:18 AM   #19
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by npras42
lol. Considering the sharpnes on my TV goes from 0 to 20 there is something amiss there.

EDIT: 0 to 30 sorry, I just checked.
Sony TV? Thats odd, the older ones generally didn't have numbers on the scale IIRC (and you had to figure out 35% by the # of notches), while the newer ones are 0-100.

The new Toshiba REGZA models also blur the image under a certain number, like 45 i think. Its not the same as it used to be where 0 = no edge enhancement. You need to use something like DVE test pattern to see where the cutoff is.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 06:54 AM   #20
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

I'm in the UK so the models and menus may be different to NA.

I have 2 Sony LCDs. One of my TVs is about 12 months old (i.e. when the model was released) and I got it about 9 months ago (46" 1080p model). The other is about 18 months old and I got it 12 months ago (40" 720p). They have roughly the same menu system, with numbers.

Its a blue background system with white text overlaid and solid orange bars that fill up. Looks much nicer than the old green bars that I think you're talkin about with no numbers.

When I check it I think it looks best with the Sharpness set to Min on HD content. I haven't checked with a DVE test pattern or anything. If you start to raise the sharpness you can start to see solid white edges being added to the picture. You don't really start to get artifacts in the surrounding image until about 10-15.

Maybe they removed that 'negative-sharpness' part of the scale on these models.
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-17-07, 09:37 AM   #21
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Perhaps.

For the record the two I used that were ~35% before starting to blur detail on test patterns were the Sony KP-57WS520 (2004 model) and the Sony KDS-60A3000 (2007 model).
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-07, 09:05 AM   #22
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

I got my 50" panasonic plasma hooked up yesterday. Looks phenomenal. I backed down a lot of the color/brigghtness settings as they come all vivid and as npras said, people looked all oompa loompa.

I did a pseudo calibration using owner settings from the AVS forum and then tweaked it watching finding nemo and then watching bourne supremecy and got a good balance between the exaggerated colors pixar uses and natural colors of the real world movies.

I've had the TV doing the burn in (it's a plasma thing) for about 15 hours so far. I'm going to let it run during the day while we're at work and while we sleep for a week (trying to hit the recommended 100 hour mark) and then tweak the settings again.

Luckly for me, the panny plasmas all seem to be pretty uniform when it comes to the panels looking the same, as in, the owners all seem to end up pretty much with the same color settings so there are a few guys who have had professional calibrators tune their TV's and the folks using these settings seem to like them the best and that's more or less where my settings ended up after about 20 minutes of tweaking the colors.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-07, 01:21 AM   #23
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
I wouldn't bother with a standard res TV. Its a $200-$400 job to calibrate a TV.

I know that may sound expensive, I thought it was too. However I have to say its worth it. I may try to take a picture of my TV, but no promises as CRT's again are hard to take pictures of due to refresh.
Wow you're rich

Can I borrow some money? I only have an 8800 GTS and my Crysis frame rates are so bad ("The Jerk" starring Steve Martin (Guy begs for money for new leather seats on his plane)
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-07, 01:38 AM   #24
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by npras42
If you start to raise the sharpness you can start to see solid white edges being added to the picture. You don't really start to get artifacts in the surrounding image until about 10-15.
My Sharpness is set to 45. It's all default. I didn't bother messing with it because it's an HDTV, lol. Mind giving me some advice on how to calibrate my TV? It's only a month old if that helps.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WoW: Vivendi May Be Looking To Sell Activision-Blizzard News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Blizzard Beats Early WoW Blues With Cross-Server Zones News Archived News Items 0 05-11-12 05:40 AM
Wow Iphones are weak. Roadhog Mobile Devices And Smartphones 9 05-03-12 09:59 PM
Wow sytaylor General Hardware 15 10-10-02 07:31 AM
vietcong..wow thcdru2k Gaming Central 9 10-08-02 12:36 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.