Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-07, 11:15 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

also fine here, no stuttering
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 11:48 PM   #14
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Ok I just tested it using fraps... outside at the beginning at 1920x1200 Full dynamic lighting I get 10-20fps, however unlike Crysis the framerate here "feels" shocking at those kind of frames. Crysis is at least somewhat playable at 15-20fps, this is NOT. Plus I get the stuttering whenever near fire and strafing.

What kind of frames are other people getting? My 3DMark06 is 13000 which is about normal... so something else must be up?
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 12:08 AM   #15
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Is rare because you have Vista 64 and 4 gb of ram . The habitual problem is in Vista 32 with the Vista bug with the RAM usage .

You have some AA mode in the NV control panel ?
Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 12:19 AM   #16
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Nope, AA is disabled in global settings and in profile settings and in game options (that does nothing anyway though).

Also Vsync seems broken? I can't force Vsync at all, except when using D3DOverrider.

When talking to Sidovich I get 30fps, then I go outside and I get 15fps. I must have got at least 25fps outside on XP with much inferior hardware.

Ok when I lower the resolution to 800x600, I get 35fps outdoors.

Crysis has better performance than this
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 12:37 AM   #17
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Nope, AA is disabled in global settings and in profile settings and in game options (that does nothing anyway though).

Also Vsync seems broken? I can't force Vsync at all, except when using D3DOverrider.

When talking to Sidovich I get 30fps, then I go outside and I get 15fps. I must have got at least 25fps outside on XP with much inferior hardware.

Ok when I lower the resolution to 800x600, I get 35fps outdoors.

Crysis has better performance than this
You turn off the trasparency antialeasing ? I did not have any problem in Vista 32 and Stalker - with older drivers - strange . The framerate at 1080p with some mods was 30 - 60 fps
Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 12:53 AM   #18
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Setting everything in CP to off (like for 3DMark test) does very little to help the fps.

Ok if I set the resolution to 1920x1200 and disable absolutely everything in advanced options (all sliders to minimum), I get an average of 60fps, but 40fps when looking at fires + fire stuttering.

When I gradually increase the settings, the fps gradually decreases. If the top 4 sliders are almost at max, fps drops from 60 to 30, and if other things like sun shadows are enabled, fps then drops to 15-20 or worse.

This is without any mods at all, but I found installing float32 to do pretty much nothing framerate wise, seemed worse actually.

I tried only installing 1.0003 but with no difference, so currently running 1.0005.

I bet if I went to XP I would all of a sudden get double my current fps
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 12:59 AM   #19
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,969
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

The Game browser thingys didn't work for me.

I got the Stalker BoxArt placed in the right areas but i still get the crappy icon instead of BoxArt for this game.

I thought all the games in the last 2 years would have all the data for them in the game browser.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 01:03 AM   #20
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Setting everything in CP to off (like for 3DMark test) does very little to help the fps.

Ok if I set the resolution to 1920x1200 and disable absolutely everything in advanced options (all sliders to minimum), I get an average of 60fps, but 40fps when looking at fires + fire stuttering.

When I gradually increase the settings, the fps gradually decreases. If the top 4 sliders are almost at max, fps drops from 60 to 30, and if other things like sun shadows are enabled, fps then drops to 15-20 or worse.

This is without any mods at all, but I found installing float32 to do pretty much nothing framerate wise, seemed worse actually.

I tried only installing 1.0003 but with no difference, so currently running 1.0005.

I bet if I went to XP I would all of a sudden get double my current fps
This perfomance not is normal . The game in Vista , in my PC , run better than "The Witcher", GOW , etc . And the triple fremerate of Crysis - or more -
Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-07, 01:10 AM   #21
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Yeah damnit I'm really considering going back to XP32... I love Vista but the performance is still so random...

Perhaps by the time 9800 comes out things will improve...
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 01:17 AM   #22
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

meh, just dual boot. At first everything sucked in Vista for me, then after the drivers got better I've switched to mainly using Vista, the only reason I still use XP is for "The Witcher"
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 07:07 AM   #23
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Wow... I just installed Vista SP1 RC1 and it seems to have fixed the low fps... now I get a solid 55-60fps outside at Full dynamic 1680x1050 Which is more like what it should be

Now to get rid of that campfire stuttering....
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 07:09 AM   #24
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Stalker Not Showing Up in Vista Game Browser

Are you making fun of their campfire songs?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 12:35 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 12:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Can we all be honest about STALKER jkmetal Gaming Central 53 05-10-12 10:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.