Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-07, 07:50 PM   #13
Niot
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 369
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12
Being that lexan won't ground out your mb you could just mark the holes and drill em. I would still use some spacers of some kind. You could find everything like rubber spacers at the same store.

You will need a saw to cut that lexan as well because it comes in sheets. I think if I get time I may build one.
I'm not that handy.
Niot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 02:54 PM   #14
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niot
I'm not that handy.
Find a motherboard tray and rest it on some bricks.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 03:06 PM   #15
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Running without the case?

Tech Stations:
http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g/c2...ons-Page1.html
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 03:41 PM   #16
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Running without the case?

When I test components I don't bother assembling a PC. You can really boot up anything in less than 5 minutes, once you make some practice.

You don't even need a switch; a small screwdriver or coin to short-circuit the jumpers is all you need to start up / rebbot a PC !
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 03:46 PM   #17
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Running without the case?

Those "racks" seem rather expensive.

Just get an old piece of crap ATX case with a layout that suits you, remove all of the side panels and cut off anything you don't want.


Besides, you still have to attach the motherboard and components to those systems just like you would with a case. If you're just using it for temporary testing purposes it'd be easier to just set the motherboard on some books and be done with it. Thats what I do.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 03:48 PM   #18
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Those "racks" seem rather expensive.
/concur

I would own one if they were under $50 though.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 10:00 PM   #19
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Running without the case?

Wouldn't it be worse if you leave your parts out in the open? You will collect dust, hair, etc on the parts.


On a lighter note, take a look at this. He made a case out of lexan.

http://translocator.ws/2005/10/15/my...omputer-case/1
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 10:29 PM   #20
Niot
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 369
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Wouldn't it be worse if you leave your parts out in the open? You will collect dust, hair, etc on the parts.


On a lighter note, take a look at this. He made a case out of lexan.

http://translocator.ws/2005/10/15/my...omputer-case/1
No, they collect more dust in the case, because of the damn fans blowing dust in and gets trapped in side that cuts my hand every time I try to clean it.

Also, having it in the open lets you clean it easily, no more clogged cables, don't have to buy new cases every 4 years, no need for expensive case fans and cooler temp than 6X80mm fans in the case.
Niot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-17-07, 11:14 PM   #21
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Running without the case?

Large, low speed, filtered fans FTW.

Since I got my Lian-Li case with 120mm fans with grilles in front of them, I rarely have to clean my system. I just have to wipe off the grille from time to time. It has collected less dust in 6 months time than my previous system running faster, non-filtered 80mms in a month. Also, invest in a small air-compressor for blowing out everything. Canned air is nice and all, but doesn't compare to the power of a real compressor.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 11:55 PM   #22
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
Large, low speed, filtered fans FTW.

Since I got my Lian-Li case with 120mm fans with grilles in front of them, I rarely have to clean my system. I just have to wipe off the grille from time to time. It has collected less dust in 6 months time than my previous system running faster, non-filtered 80mms in a month. Also, invest in a small air-compressor for blowing out everything. Canned air is nice and all, but doesn't compare to the power of a real compressor.
And where can you get these grills?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-07, 12:09 AM   #23
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Running without the case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
And where can you get these grills?
Mine came built in to my Lian-Li. They look like the old car speaker grille style perforated metal.
They are just like these here:
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/25...tml?tl=g36c223

Almost any of these might do the trick:
http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l2/g36/...n_Filters.html
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-07, 12:41 AM   #24
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Running without the case?

Oh, it's just metal mesh. That's what I need. Thanks for the links.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In bid for patent sanity, judge throws out entire Apple/Motorola case News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 12:20 AM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 06:20 AM
Check out my new PC Case! LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 13 09-17-02 01:48 AM
hard drive light on case "dead"? Goofas General Hardware 7 08-13-02 10:14 PM
Glad to see this site back up and running john19055 Feedback Forum 53 07-30-02 03:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.