Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-07, 06:18 AM   #1
Dag_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

I'm having a hard time getting acceptable FPS in singleplayer BF2 on my machine. It stutters even at 800x600 resolution with all graphics and sound options at medium and no AA. Note that this in standard singleplayer with 16 bots, so it's not a question of network lag. At 800x600 resolution I experience occasional low fps during play (it's as if the whole game hangs for a second), but it's more or less constant at higher resolutions.

My PC is a Dell Dimension 8400 w/integrated sound chip
CPU: P4 3,2Ghz
Ram: 3GB 533Mzh memory
Video Card: Point of View 7900GT stock clocked
Hdd: 320 GB Sata 1 drive
PSU: Standard Dell 350w supply
OS: Win Xp home

I've tried normal maintenance stuff (defrag etc), disabling HyperThreading, cleaning out old drivers with drivercleaner and reinstalling new drivers. Normally I'd suspect the PSU, but it seems Dell installs quality supplies and rates them conservatively, so I'm not convinced that's the problem. It runs other games acceptably too (Thief - deadly shadows for example). BF2 ran like a dream on the 7900GT at 1280x1024 on my other computer, a E6600 based selfbuild. Maybe I'm CPU limited with the P4 here?

So, does anyone else here have a similar system? And in that case, how does BF2 run on it?
Dag_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 11:02 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

I think it's your CPU. I had a 2.8Ghz P4 that I ran BF2/2142 on for the longest time, and while BF2 was acceptable on most servers, BF2142 was almost unplayable on Titan mode. I had a 6800 GT and 2 GB of ram, so neither of those were the problem for those games. Supposedly there were people playing with great framerates on higher end processors.

I don't know what to tell you. I upgraded to a Core 2 Duo system, and both BF2 and 2142 are smooth as silk. Granted, the new system is a totally different animal than a P4 system, but that's the only solution I've found. Sorry.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 11:06 AM   #3
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

CPU limited

P4 = Athlon XP
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 12:20 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

Yep most likely your CPU.

its running smooth for me with a X2 4800+ , 2GB RAM , X1900XTX (online 64 players).
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 12:45 PM   #5
K-1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 584
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

I ran the game perfectly smoothly on an Athlon 64 3700+ (2.2 Ghz single core) with a 7900GT at 1280x1024 4xAA for the longest time. Would a P4 really cause that much of a problem? I know they were inefficient chips but were they THAT bad?
K-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 12:46 PM   #6
Dag_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

Thanks, that's what I suspected. Guess this computer is nearing the end of it's useful life, at least as a games machine.
Dag_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 01:37 PM   #7
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by K-1
I ran the game perfectly smoothly on an Athlon 64 3700+ (2.2 Ghz single core) with a 7900GT at 1280x1024 4xAA for the longest time. Would a P4 really cause that much of a problem? I know they were inefficient chips but were they THAT bad?
Yes.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 03:08 PM   #8
SlickRig
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 88
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
Yes.
Bull crap, BF2 is an old game now and a P4 is plenty for it. My first gaming PC ever consisted of a intel p4 at 3ghz 2gb ram and an X850XT PE. Running BF2 at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 16XAF without a single hitch and all options at max. I was picky about my frame rate with this game to so it had to be at 60fps or higher which I never had any problems attaining.
SlickRig is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-07, 03:50 PM   #9
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

With a 3800x2 I still had slowdown on large servers. Don't really anymore.

A 7900gt or 7800gtx will do fine at 1280x1024 on highest settings (with 1.5gb of RAM or more), but on large servers, sometimes 20-30fps isn't too uncommon with a lot going on.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 04:01 PM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

The game ran excellent for me after getting a 7900GTX but when there was a lot going on or the server was packed my 2.5Ghz Athlon 64s (single or dual core... didn't really matter) would slow it down a little.

Its perfect now though.

I can play at 2048x1536 with 4x Super Sampling, 16x AF and vsync on and get 85fps constant all the time.

The increase in my minimum framerates with this core 2 has just been incredible. The 8800GTX just allowed ridiculous resolutions and AA.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 04:07 PM   #11
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

must be the cpu? i have a 7800GT with an Athlon64 @ 2.7 and 2 gigs ram, and i run BF2 smooth as a babies bottom @ 1024x768 4xAa 8xAF "max" settings.

only thing is i run out of vid memory once in awhile, but it's generally smooth 95% of the time ... so it's "definately" NOT your vid card!
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-07, 04:30 PM   #12
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Bad FPS in BattleField 2 with 7900GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickRig
Bull crap, BF2 is an old game now and a P4 is plenty for it. My first gaming PC ever consisted of a intel p4 at 3ghz 2gb ram and an X850XT PE. Running BF2 at 1280X1024 with 4XAA and 16XAF without a single hitch and all options at max. I was picky about my frame rate with this game to so it had to be at 60fps or higher which I never had any problems attaining.
So why don't you give the OP some help then?


You just started gaming on a P4 with X850? Then how do you qualify this statement?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickRig
DX10 is not the make it or break it for Vista as there are plenty of other features that I prefer with it over XP. In time DX10 will mature much as in the same way the transition from DX8 to DX9 took place.

Honestly, it doesn't seem like many of you were around back in those days because if you had been then you would not be in such shock as to why there is not a sudden jump from DX9 to DX10.
Looks like you weren't around back in them days.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Battlefield 3 Thread ragejg Gaming Central 3759 06-01-14 06:45 AM
Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions nin_fragile14 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 58 11-01-02 02:38 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
low fps why??? nipster Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-07-02 03:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.