Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-07, 11:40 PM   #1
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Question What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQual?

So I have seen people use different settings, but what's the "official" setting in the driver control panel?

Some drivers change the quality/high quality as it seems, so should we always run on "performance" or what?
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 01:17 AM   #2
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
So I have seen people use different settings, but what's the "official" setting in the driver control panel?

Some drivers change the quality/high quality as it seems, so should we always run on "performance" or what?
Application controlled is the default. That's why 3DMark has its own graphic settings. Just turn Vsync off in the control panel. The default resolution is 1280x1024, AA is off, and AF is optimal. If change any AA or AF settings in the NV control panel, and then change the AA and AF settings in 3DMark06, your performance will drop. That's why I always kept getting like 4k-5k 3DMarks.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 01:23 PM   #3
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQual?

Well, High Quality, Quality, and Performance isn't application controlled and varies from driver to driver.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 05:07 PM   #4
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Well, High Quality, Quality, and Performance isn't application controlled and varies from driver to driver.
Even if you put it at one of those settings, you can set everything else to application controlled and the quality setting option will be overridden.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 01:40 AM   #5
HeavyH20
Hardware Addict
 
HeavyH20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 477
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Even if you put it at one of those settings, you can set everything else to application controlled and the quality setting option will be overridden.
No, not really. It changes things slightly, like LOD. And, this setting, unlike AF, AA or like is not changed by the application. Besides, it gains you little to change it with modern video cards. But, if you are looking to edge someone or break a barrier, like 15K, it can help eek out the last couple hundred points.
__________________
QX9650 | EVGA 790i Ultra | 4 GB DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 Tri SLI | CoolMax 1200 Watt PSU | stuffed in a CM Stacker 832 NV Edition with a Dell 3007-HC
HeavyH20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-07, 08:06 PM   #6
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu

What he said
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-07, 09:34 PM   #7
andy_nv
Registered User
 
andy_nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 300
Default Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu

Just for the sake of it, it's usually "Quality", can't remember the last time when it was set otherwise.
andy_nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.11 driver only allows native resolution settings of laptop DFP darinmiller NVIDIA Linux 2 05-30-12 04:45 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 09:49 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Detonator 29.42 vs. 30.82 driver performance lunix NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 16 08-11-02 04:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.