Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-07, 04:08 AM   #1
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Well guys, I finally got the nerve to OC my system some. And it booted up at 3GHz first time. I have yet to run any stress tests though- but I think I'll hold off on doing that for now, check my "idle" temps:



Yup, with only a few light background services running (Steam, lightscribe, Sidebar, Everest, etc) it hovers in the low to mid 50s- and that is well too hot for my liking.

So, I'm gonna' drop it down to about 2.8 and see how she be. Though I'm curious, what voltage would you gusy recommend I use for 2.8? Right now I'm at 1.425- could I bring it down to maybe 1.00 and still have enough juice?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 04:14 AM   #2
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

3GHz? You would had done that 2 years ago.

Try 4GHz.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 04:16 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Cool, Redeemed. That's the CPU I'm lookin' at to get in the very near future.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 04:41 AM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

This baby does rock. Xion was bragging up a storm about how awesome Opterons are (on s939 anyways)- and he wasn't lying!

I was almost expecting "problems"- but nope- notta'.

Anyhow, here's some more pics at 2.8GHz:







Anyhow, she is running a bit warm- so I just decided to invest in two of these for her.

I'm contemplating getting the CoolIT Eliminator for this rig as well... but since I've heard so many mixed reviews I'm undecided. Anyhow, these two fans should help out a bit. Right now I have no exhaust- only intake fans (on my case)- so I'm expecting these to lower temps atleast a little.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 05:48 AM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Pretty cool too that you have 4x1GB DIMM and did not have to resort to T2 and 333MHz memory clock
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 05:49 AM   #6
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Yeah, I'm hoping for some good results when I get my 185 as well. I ran my 170 at 2.6GHz, so hopefully that 3GHz isn't out of the question for the 185.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 01:21 PM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Yup, the s939 opty's were great. My opty 175 was greaaaat. I loved it. Alas it was a bit slow for my liking....quad core FTW!!

As far as voltage is concerned....I would run it as low as you can while being stable. So once you determine if you're stable at the current voltage, start dropping it one increment at a time and test stability again. It's hard to say how low you'd be able to get it...definately not 1.00V like you said in your post....maybe 1.40? What is stock voltage on that chip? 1.35V? In the end it all depends on the chip. Oh and I'd use ORTHOS to test for stability. If it runs for 30 min then you're good to lower the voltage. Once it fails, bump it back up a notch and test for a couple hours.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 02:14 PM   #8
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Yeah, I was worried that having 4GB of RAM might cause some issues- I recall people complaining about it a while back. So far no problems. Again, haven't done any stress testing yet- but I did leave my rig running overnight and it never crashed or nothing.

Anyhow, when I get in from work tonight I plan on testing it with Prime95 for a bit. If it doesn't crash while doing that then... on for some gaming, probably a bit of STALKER.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-07, 02:40 PM   #9
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Opteron S939 FTW!!!11 I miss my old 170 @ 2.93GHz...too bad it just couldn't keep up. I remember when I first got it, had one of the best steppings at the time, I almost died
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 03:09 PM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage
Opteron S939 FTW!!!11 I miss my old 170 @ 2.93GHz...too bad it just couldn't keep up. I remember when I first got it, had one of the best steppings at the time, I almost died
Mind if I ask which steppings are supposedly the best?

And even at stock, there really isn't anything this chip wont bulldoze right through. It's no Core2, no Quadcore either- but I haven't found anything that it just can't do yet.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 03:26 PM   #11
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

uhhhh whats the big deal? am I missing something here?
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-07, 03:30 PM   #12
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Finally, 3GHz!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
uhhhh whats the big deal? am I missing something here?


Thanks, asshole!

Anyhow, any word on which steppings are better? Is my Opty one of the better steppings?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NV30 FINALLY Being launched!! sancheuz Rumor Mill 77 10-16-02 08:41 AM
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 02:17 PM
Finally... soundview00 NVIDIA Linux 4 10-02-02 09:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.