Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-07, 02:33 PM   #1
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Vista vs XP?

Which OS is better for Crysis? I know I need Vista for DX10 but I dont really see much point since it doesn't seem to use much of DX10. If anything its a second gen DX9 game. With all the latest drivers etc though, is there any real difference between the two?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 02:43 PM   #2
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Round 10!

Ding!
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 02:52 PM   #3
ChaoticNick
o hai
 
ChaoticNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to ChaoticNick
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

People have reported less stuttering and slightly higher FPS under XP, even compared to DX9 mode in Vista.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz - 4GB G.Skill DDR2 800 -Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L - EVGA 8800GTS 512 - Acer 22" AL2216Wbd
Notebook: HP Pavilion dv6700t - Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1GHz - 2GB DDR2 667 - NVIDIA 8400M GS - 15.4" Glossy screen - 120GB HD

Digg | Steam | Xfire
ChaoticNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 02:55 PM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Since the 169.xx drivers i've not had to use XP for Crysis. No more dual boot for me! The 169.25's are very good.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 03:40 PM   #5
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Since the 169.xx drivers i've not had to use XP for Crysis. No more dual boot for me! The 169.25's are very good.
Funky, I'll upgrade quite soon then methinks. I only had an xp disk, so XP it is for now.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 08:39 PM   #6
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Oh god, how many times is this been?

Lets see 100. ah oh well. im nutral but looks better under Vista.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 08:47 PM   #7
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

wtf?

sytaylor I played the game in Vista DX10. I played about half the game with all but shaders(had it on high) on very high. Then someone else told me that I was missing out on some effects like motion blur and depth of field by doing that so I went to high on everything and performance was still great.

Your rig is better than mines so I'm sure that you'll have an even better experience.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-07, 08:52 PM   #8
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Performance is still better in XP for me but the latest drivers did help a little bit in Vista. Also I'd really only recommend the game in DX10 mode if you have SLI.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-25-07, 09:18 PM   #9
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

XP = teh fasterz
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-07, 09:47 PM   #10
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

If you've read some benchies or threads, you would know that the game runs better on DX9 on Windows XP.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-07, 10:39 AM   #11
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Been playing this game obsessively since it was released. In both Xp and Vista..

Updated to the RC1 Service Pack for Vista, and using the 169.25's, with SLI
frame rates are playable, but I still think it needs the patch before I will
consider it fully 'working'. (Works for some people, doesn't work for others)

In Xp it's just ridiculously smooth, I'm sure the average FPS rarely goes under
30.. this is running 1280x1024 with 4xAA and everything maxed using the Dx10
tweaks.

So for now, Xp is the way to go.

EDIT: Yup, just downloaded Fraps and tested in XP. Average 35, never dipped below even with lots of action
on the screen. FPS went between 35 and 50+. Not to shabby.
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-07, 12:56 PM   #12
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Vista vs XP?

Need some advice. I know there is a large performance gain in XP with DX9 tweaks with near DX10 "very high" quality. Nevertheless, there still seems to be a consesus that DX10 "very high" still looks superior.

Tomorrow I'll be getting the parts for my new setup (Q6600, GTX, 4GB Ram) and I'm trying to decide if I should even bother installing Vista x64 as opposed to just installing XP.

This system will be hooked up to an HDTV and I'll run everything at 1366x768. Does anyone have any experience with a similar system under DX10 very high at that resolution and if so is the game playable meaning something like an average of 20 or so fps?
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.