Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-07, 08:10 AM   #1
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

I can't even put into to words how CLEAR and PERFECT the picture is now. It was good before. Hell even GREAT before. I Calibrated the TV myself from reading a few manuals and I thought it turned out awesome. Boy was I wrong. I am not trying to brag at all(ok well maybe a little), but I have never seen a TV as crisp and clear as mine now. The guy who calibrated my TV does AMAZING work(he has 10+ years experience and owns the company that serviced my TV).

To anyone thinking about paying someone to professionally calibrate your TV, DO IT. The difference is AMAZING!

BTW, I own a RPTV CRT. I would take pictures, but its really hard to take pictures of CRT televisions so it won't come out right. And for the record, my TV is "only" 720p/1080i. 1080peee can shove it. I'll put my TV against damn near any TV on the market now(that hasn't been calibrated. ).

No evilchris. Not against your TV. Thats why I said "damn near". I'm so happy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 08:52 AM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Didn't even know that could be done. Can it be done on all TV's? Mine's a 32" standard res. Toshiba flat screen CRT. Looks fine but there's always room improvement
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 10:07 AM   #3
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Didn't even know that could be done. Can it be done on all TV's? Mine's a 32" standard res. Toshiba flat screen CRT. Looks fine but there's always room improvement
I wouldn't bother with a standard res TV. Its a $200-$400 job to calibrate a TV.

I know that may sound expensive, I thought it was too. However I have to say its worth it. I may try to take a picture of my TV, but no promises as CRT's again are hard to take pictures of due to refresh.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 10:18 AM   #4
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Cal FTMFW! Grats!
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 10:51 AM   #5
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
I wouldn't bother with a standard res TV. Its a $200-$400 job to calibrate a TV.


Quote:
I know that may sound expensive, I thought it was too. However I have to say its worth it. I may try to take a picture of my TV, but no promises as CRT's again are hard to take pictures of due to refresh.
Is OK TW, I beleive you Sounds good!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 11:24 AM   #6
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Did you get audio done too?
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 11:31 AM   #7
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
Did you get audio done too?
No.

Right now I don't even have a surround sound setup for my TV. I have never heard a great audio setup for a TV, so I don't know what it sounds like. Everyone I know with a home theater setup has it sounding like garbage. I'm a complete audio noob. Maybe if I heard a good audio setup I would become entranced by it and do it myself. However, thats never happened.


Just TV speakers. Yea i know...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 06:18 PM   #8
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Hmm i think i might have to do the same thing. I have a sony 60" sxrd, while 1080p stuff looks good, i was just at best buy and saw an lcd running 1080p and couldnt believe how crystal clear and sharp it was. Mine looks like it has a blur filter running.
__________________
2500k/Asus P67-Pro/8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3/X25-M/p190
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-07, 06:39 PM   #9
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shabby
Hmm i think i might have to do the same thing. I have a sony 60" sxrd, while 1080p stuff looks good, i was just at best buy and saw an lcd running 1080p and couldnt believe how crystal clear and sharp it was. Mine looks like it has a blur filter running.
HD should have NO "enhancements" running. No Edge Enhancer, DRC Pallete, etrc etc tec etc. best Buy also had the thing on Torch mode which is bright and looks "OMGGMGG LOOK!!!" but once you watch it awhile you get tired of orange people.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 06:47 PM   #10
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
HD should have NO "enhancements" running. No Edge Enhancer, DRC Pallete, etrc etc tec etc. best Buy also had the thing on Torch mode which is bright and looks "OMGGMGG LOOK!!!" but once you watch it awhile you get tired of orange people.
Agreed 100%. Switch absolutely everything off, it only adds noise and "Wow/Bling-factor!". Its ridiculous to think about it now considering the picture settings I use but when I got both my Sony HDTVs they came out of the box in Vivid mode. It looked absolutely ridiculous, everyone looking like some sort of oompa-lumpa after a few trips to the tanning salon...
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 08:44 PM   #11
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
HD should have NO "enhancements" running. No Edge Enhancer, DRC Pallete, etrc etc tec etc. best Buy also had the thing on Torch mode which is bright and looks "OMGGMGG LOOK!!!" but once you watch it awhile you get tired of orange people.
I have sharpness set to 50%. Would that be considered an "enhancement"? I think it looks wonderful at 50%. However, any higher than that and you start to see grain.

I really need to find my camera....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 09:28 PM   #12
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Got my TV Professionally Calibrated. WOW!

I think I need to get professionally calibrated.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WoW: Vivendi May Be Looking To Sell Activision-Blizzard News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Blizzard Beats Early WoW Blues With Cross-Server Zones News Archived News Items 0 05-11-12 05:40 AM
Wow Iphones are weak. Roadhog Mobile Devices And Smartphones 9 05-03-12 09:59 PM
Wow sytaylor General Hardware 15 10-10-02 07:31 AM
vietcong..wow thcdru2k Gaming Central 9 10-08-02 12:36 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.