Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-03, 01:05 AM   #1
aalto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Unhappy GeForce4 - X Windows using 99% CPU

I've managed to get the nvidia driver (version: 1.0-4349) successfully installed and working with my GeForce4 MX440SE card on my AMD Athlon/K7SEM motherboard (256MB RAM/30GB HDD). When I boot Redhat 8.0 it successfully starts the GDM login (X Windows), where I can login and use X Windows for about two to three minutes. After that X Windows locks up and is using all the available CPU. When I strace the process, it seems to be hung on this loop:

--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) ---
sigreturn() = ? (mask now [])
--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) ---
sigreturn() = ? (mask now [])
--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) ---
sigreturn() = ? (mask now [])

I've check though all the files in /proc/driver/nvidia and everything looks fine. Additionally my XF86Config looks fine, as you can see:

# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
# InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

#Section "InputDevice"
## If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
## this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
## also use USB mice at the same time.
# Identifier "DevInputMice"
# Driver "mouse"
# Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
# Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
# Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
# Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
#EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster 15GLe"
DisplaySize 270 200
HorizSync 30.0 - 50.0
# VertRefresh 50.0 - 120.0
VertRefresh 60
ModeLine "1400x1050" 129.0 1400 1464 1656 1960 1050 1051 1054 1100 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1400x1050" 151.0 1400 1464 1656 1960 1050 1051 1054 1100 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1400x1050" 162.0 1400 1464 1656 1960 1050 1051 1054 1100 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1400x1050" 184.0 1400 1464 1656 1960 1050 1051 1054 1100 +hsync +vsync
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
# Driver "vesa"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

Option "MvAGP" "2"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
# Screen 0
EndSection

#Section "Device"
# Identifier "Videocard1"
# Driver "nvidia"
# VendorName "Videocard vendor"
# BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
# Screen 1
#EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Modes "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "Screen"
# Identifier "Screen1"
# Device "Videocard1"
# Monitor "Monitor0"
# DefaultDepth 16
# SubSection "Display"
# Modes "800x600"
# EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Depth 16
# Modes "800x600" "640x480"
# EndSubSection
#EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection

...I've also played with the "MvAGP" device options, trying numbers 0-2, but to no avail.

If anyone could give me any help or hints, it would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance!

alex
aalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 03:02 AM   #2
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

The option for AGP selection is correctly:

Option "NvAGP" "n" # n: 0-2

I think this should have given you an unknown option error in the log file at /var/log but perhaps not.


(ramble from coder who doesn't backtrace...)
The cpu problem I cannot really offer advice on, only to wonder what windowing system you are using, and perhaps what the 'Alarm clock' refers to? Are you perhaps running a buggy dock app?
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 04:22 AM   #3
BigFish7
Nvidia
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 310
Send a message via ICQ to BigFish7 Send a message via MSN to BigFish7
Default

my friend had the same problem with geforce3 (he had a vir)
just format and it should be fine (it fixed the problem, with his pc)

P.S. he had winXP so i might be wrong...
BigFish7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:57 PM   #4
aalto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Talking

Thanks - That was exactly the problem. Now that I've fixed this typo everything works perfectly.

Thanks again!
aalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
At what CPU speed Does the GeForce4 Ti 4600 max out? DenverBuc NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-08-02 06:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.