Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-03, 02:48 AM   #13
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

I am downloading the BIOS and will tell you later
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 02:53 AM   #14
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

version 0402 of the bios was released on 2003-04-10 ,does it fix the problem?
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 03:35 AM   #15
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

i'm afraid not,
currently i'm using 8rda+ w/ 3129 BIOS + 43.49 NVIDIA driver + RH9
everything works fine except u can't connect ur TV out while using Nvidia 43.49 driver in linux
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 07:46 AM   #16
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

God save me, when I flash the bios to your version,my computer can not boot up any more,what can I do now?Downgrade Bios damaged the motherboard,save me
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 08:18 AM   #17
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

reset the BIOS,
read ur mobo's manual, and unplug the jumper and plug it again
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 11:22 AM   #18
Josemilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Talking

Downgrade BIOS is the solution...

Thanks!!!
Josemilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 04:59 PM   #19
Josemilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by photofox
version 0402 of the bios was released on 2003-04-10 ,does it fix the problem?
No.
Josemilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 08:19 PM   #20
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bahamot
reset the BIOS,
read ur mobo's manual, and unplug the jumper and plug it again
I have tried that method,but it can only reset the cmos but not bios .Is there other methods?
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-22-03, 11:11 PM   #21
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by photofox
I have tried that method,but it can only reset the cmos but not bios .Is there other methods?
if u want to restore ur BIOS, than u have to download it from epox's website, and flash it again with it
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:56 AM   #22
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Most recent BIOSes (I don't know if Epox's is included, but ... maybe) have a boot block option. It's only enough code to get the CPU and a floppy drive initialized, but if you have another computer (and it sounds like you do, considering you're posting here ), then use it to make a bootable floppy that's just DOS formatted, with an autoexec.bat that runs the flash program with the right BIOS version.

What happened when you tried flashing it? Did you lose power in the middle of the flash, or did you hit ctrl-alt-delete to reboot or something before it was done? That's the only way I've ever heard of a BIOS flash failing...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:56 PM   #23
guills
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Are you sure you didn't downgrade your BIOS to a previous revision of your motherboard's BIOS?

I don't know about your motherboard in particular but most motherboards ship multiple revisions of their motherboards and bioses are not compatible across revisions usually because the hardware itself changes.

Guills
guills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:53 PM   #24
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
What happened when you tried flashing it? Did you lose power in the middle of the flash, or did you hit ctrl-alt-delete to reboot or something before it was done? That's the only way I've ever heard of a BIOS flash failing...
agree......
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.