Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-03, 01:22 AM   #25
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
Most recent BIOSes (I don't know if Epox's is included, but ... maybe) have a boot block option. It's only enough code to get the CPU and a floppy drive initialized, but if you have another computer (and it sounds like you do, considering you're posting here ), then use it to make a bootable floppy that's just DOS formatted, with an autoexec.bat that runs the flash program with the right BIOS version.

What happened when you tried flashing it? Did you lose power in the middle of the flash, or did you hit ctrl-alt-delete to reboot or something before it was done? That's the only way I've ever heard of a BIOS flash failing...
your first method I have tried but does not work
second method is difficult because it is hard to get the bios chip out without special tools

I change another motherboard,but they have the same bios version

nothing happened during my bios flash process(I have do this several times in other computers)

besides the method to downgrade the bios,is there any safer one to get the openGL working??
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 08:42 AM   #26
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

no solution?
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 10:22 AM   #27
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

well, does re-flash the BIOS to the original BIOS, does boot the system?

regarding the Nvidia's Linux driver and Epox 8RDA+, i'm afraid there's no other workaround at this time, since u can only :
1. downgrade the BIOS (not working for u)
2. wait till Epox release new BIOS (hopefully fix the prob)
3. wait till Nvidia release new driver (also hopefully fixed the prob)
4. forget Nividia driver, use nv instead (say good bye to 3D in Linux )
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 12:09 PM   #28
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Try driver 4363? It's possible that this is one of the fixed bugs in it... (it was just announced today)
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 01:56 AM   #29
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
Try driver 4363? It's possible that this is one of the fixed bugs in it... (it was just announced today)
I have just tried the new driver,but does not work.
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 02:04 AM   #30
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bahamot
well, does re-flash the BIOS to the original BIOS, does boot the system?

regarding the Nvidia's Linux driver and Epox 8RDA+, i'm afraid there's no other workaround at this time, since u can only :
1. downgrade the BIOS (not working for u)
2. wait till Epox release new BIOS (hopefully fix the prob)
3. wait till Nvidia release new driver (also hopefully fixed the prob)
4. forget Nividia driver, use nv instead (say good bye to 3D in Linux )
I have planed to do some 3D modelling work in linux(the software is for linux only),but I can do nothing but waiting now
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 03:03 AM   #31
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

what's ur epox 8rda+ revision?
are u sure u didn't flash it with correct BIOS?
maybe u downloaded BIOS for 8rda (not the "+" one)?
not to confuse here, 8rda and 8rda+ are totally different mobo
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 09:11 AM   #32
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bahamot
what's ur epox 8rda+ revision?
are u sure u didn't flash it with correct BIOS?
maybe u downloaded BIOS for 8rda (not the "+" one)?
not to confuse here, 8rda and 8rda+ are totally different mobo
my mobo is 8rda without 1394 and network card,bios version is 0305 and I am sure I download the correct bios except the version is older. Is downgrade bios feasible??I have upgraded the bios many times sucessfully and only downgraded once with failure
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-25-03, 10:10 AM   #33
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

uhmmm, i think downgraded BIOS shouldn't be a prob....., unless there are different revision for the mobo, and only a newer BIOS compatible with that revision

anyway sorry to give u trouble with downgrading BIOS
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-03, 06:39 AM   #34
photofox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bahamot
uhmmm, i think downgraded BIOS shouldn't be a prob....., unless there are different revision for the mobo, and only a newer BIOS compatible with that revision

anyway sorry to give u trouble with downgrading BIOS
,comfort, I changed the mobo(not bios) again to an old version with my friend and the video card's openGL works now with 5000fps
thanks for your suggestions ,otherwise I will still be confused with the driver.
Why do you install linux??just for fun or work?
photofox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-03, 07:18 AM   #35
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

glad to hear that

for both
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.