Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-07, 08:04 PM   #13
alaric
Cyber Jedi
 
alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 75
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

How about: in those 5 years nothing has changed and triple head is still not supported?
__________________
Get my email address from my homepage.
alaric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-07, 07:27 PM   #14
bsoder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gx...gital/home.php


EVE Online at 3840x1024 is a blast.
bsoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-07, 07:34 PM   #15
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314
I don't understand how these threads get dug up....
Probably the Search feature. That'd be my guess.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alaric
How about: in those 5 years nothing has changed and triple head is still not supported?
And apparently no one cared for 5 years. Wonder if using the Quadro cards would help? I know our Surveillance team here at the casino uses them.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-07, 09:26 PM   #16
alaric
Cyber Jedi
 
alaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 75
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoder
Nice, but too small. I want three times 1680x1050.
__________________
Get my email address from my homepage.
alaric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 04:52 PM   #17
dinther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

I think this thread is more current than ever before. Funny to see that people in 2002 thought that 3 displays on a game is a gimmic. Not anymore.

NVidia two monitor span mode is actually useless for most games since the optical axis in just about all games is right in the center of the 3D screen which means just on the seam between two monitors. You can't see where you drive walk or fly.

Using two dual head graphics cards is a solution but now the 3D application needs to share context between the cards which takes time and thus causes low frame rates.

Yet a product like Matrox Triplehead2go deals with that elegantly and people are amazed at the performance. A single card and no context sharing.

I think today the market is very ripe for a triple head card. New cards also should be able to do real-time barrel correction in addition to keystone correction so that the images can be projected undistorted side by side on a curved 180 deg field of view filling screen. LCD projectors have become cheap enough for such setups.

At the very least I expect NVidia to allow to span a 3D context across two graphics cards configured in SLI thus spanning up to 4 monitors.

There a market for a triple head card. With LCD monitors at dirt cheap prices you'd be mad not to run with at least 3 displays all the time. I have been running a system with two 7900GT cards and 3 19" WXGA monitors for over a year and I find a dual screen setup just too cramped.

(Also I want decent stereo drivers back for the NVidia card)
dinther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 05:09 PM   #18
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Lol, wow. This thread has been revived twice!!! Now it's 6 years old!!

I highly doubt nvidia will ever make it so you can span across SLI to span 4 monitors....sure that might be great for the 10 people who would use it. It's just not worth their time.

Here's an idea. Get a triplehead2Go thinger, and attach another one to each of the three spots. Now you have a 9 monitor span!!! (I wonder if that would actually work...) Other than of course your video card grinding to a halt from outputting 17280x1200 9 24" widescreens FTW!!!!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 05:31 PM   #19
dinther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Mate, you obviously never ran a 3 screen system. The extra few hundred bucks for the other 2 LCD screens will be the best money you ever spend on your PC setup.

I am just going through steps to have my entire hardware platform replaced. Currently I am running a D960 processor and two 7900GT's and the machine is hired out for a year so I need a new one. Check out my 3 screen simulator videos www.youtube.com/dinther

The next PC will be a Q6700 quad core processor and a single 8800GTX card with the option to add a second 8800GTX in SLI mode. Indeed I am looking at using a Triplehead2GO Digital box this time around. The sad thing is that that box won't do 3 x 1440 x 900 so in desktop mode things will look pretty crappy.

I don't see why NVidia would not allow a 4 monitor span using two cards. Now I spend the money for that second card on Matrox equipment instead.
dinther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 09:28 PM   #20
Dr@Home
phone is spy
 
Dr@Home's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 172
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Palit's got a 9600GT that can do 4 displays, but i'm not sure if you can use all four at one (or even 3).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814261001
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz under TRUE -- Abit IP35 Pro -- G.skill 2x2GB PC2 8000
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 + 24" Acer X243w + 22" Gateway FPD2275W
Audigy 2 Value + Sennheiser HD485
300GB VR - 500GB - 500GB - powered by 650w Mushkin

AXP 2500+ - Asus A7N8X rev2.0 - 1.25gb pc2700 - ATI 9800pro 128mb - 24" SUN T-rex - 550w CoolerMaster
Dr@Home is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-08, 11:04 PM   #21
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinther
Mate, you obviously never ran a 3 screen system. The extra few hundred bucks for the other 2 LCD screens will be the best money you ever spend on your PC setup.

I am just going through steps to have my entire hardware platform replaced. Currently I am running a D960 processor and two 7900GT's and the machine is hired out for a year so I need a new one. Check out my 3 screen simulator videos www.youtube.com/dinther

The next PC will be a Q6700 quad core processor and a single 8800GTX card with the option to add a second 8800GTX in SLI mode. Indeed I am looking at using a Triplehead2GO Digital box this time around. The sad thing is that that box won't do 3 x 1440 x 900 so in desktop mode things will look pretty crappy.

I don't see why NVidia would not allow a 4 monitor span using two cards. Now I spend the money for that second card on Matrox equipment instead.
Don't get me wrong, I would absolutely love a 3 screen system. Right now I have 2 (main 24" widescreen and a little 17" sitting off to the side). But my point is that perhaps it isn't worth it for nvidia if they spend who knows how much on developing spanning over SLI if only very few people actually use it. Really the only games that support multi-monitor spans like you're using are simulators. The majority of gamers are first person shooter or MMORPG players that don't care for more than one monitor because their games don't support it.

First they would need to get dual monitors working with SLI enabled. Right now you can't even have dual monitors with SLI. Even with both monitors attached to the same video card. This is why I'm never going SLI again. Too much of a pain.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 11:08 PM   #22
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314
Lol, wow. This thread has been revived twice!!! Now it's 6 years old!!

I highly doubt nvidia will ever make it so you can span across SLI to span 4 monitors....sure that might be great for the 10 people who would use it. It's just not worth their time.

Here's an idea. Get a triplehead2Go thinger, and attach another one to each of the three spots. Now you have a 9 monitor span!!! (I wonder if that would actually work...) Other than of course your video card grinding to a halt from outputting 17280x1200 9 24" widescreens FTW!!!!
Actually the TH2G can't even do 3 x 24" at full res because the bandwidth needed is too much for one port.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 11:12 PM   #23
dinther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

No you are wrong have a look here. There are many other uses than professional simulators. Have a look at this list

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/jp/gx...aming/list.php

All those games would support a triple monitor span.

As for SLI yeah you are right, it is a poorly thought out architecture. Like with the TripleHead2Go that should sort of be build behind all this SLI stuff and then you'd be right.

This is why I get a single 8800GTX card with the matrox TH2Go

NVidia hasn't caught on to multi monitor gaming. Matrox has done so for a long time with their triple head graphics cards. Pitty those things are so slow.
I am hoping this revived post wakes someone up at NVidia.
dinther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-08, 05:03 PM   #24
beph
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Triple Head for NVIDIA graphics cards?

Revived for the third time:-)
I have read rumors that new drives should make triple head possible on nvidia cards, anyone knows if this is true?
Of course I mean with full acceleration on all screens.
beph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple Head with two cards on Ubuntu 12.10 loloemr NVIDIA Linux 2 11-22-12 03:21 AM
NVIDIA Preparing New Mid-range Kepler Graphics Cards (PC Perspective) News Archived News Items 0 07-11-12 12:10 AM
Computex 2012: Graphics Cards Round-up News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 01:40 PM
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM
(PR) PNY Launches New Range of Verto GeForce GT 600-Series Mainstream Graphics Cards News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.