Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-03, 11:26 AM   #1
Ronald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Ronald
Default Corruption on display using twinview...

I just got an MSI Ti4400 and driver installation was a breeze, within 10 seconds with the new installer without rtfm, My compliments!

Using driver 4349:
On Redhat 9 everything seems to be fine, but my self build system (along the lines described by www.linuxfromscratch.org) I have a problem. When i have twinview running at different resolutions, it corrupts the display after the nvidia splash screen goes, keep resolutions equal and all is fine. Configured as 2 seperate displays "AGPNoTwinView" the displays also do not corrupt.
I cannot screengrab this, xwd over ssh captures it distortion free.
(same resolutions is uncool, since they are a 17" and a 14")

The fact that it works in redhat, and not my self build seems to indicate the problem is somewhere with me, but i have no clue where to search for such a problem.

however, stepping back to 4191 the problem with twinview goes and all seems fine (not tested this in redhat) which seems to point back to the nvidia software.
I do get back another problem with this driver, it blinds my consoles while running X and after. they are responsive, i can login blindly and startx ;-)

Attached only Xf86Config since the logfiles didn't show anything wrong (just WW about resolutions), and the xwd dump also was good.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (8.1 KB, 107 views)
Ronald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 11:33 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

On the console thing, are you running a framebuffer console at all? Check what's listed in /proc/fb.

If you are (if that file exists), then try turning it off by passing vga=none to your kernel at boot time. If you aren't using a framebuffer (if the file doesn't exist), try passing vga=ask or vga=788 (for 1024x768) or vga=794 (for 1280x1024). Or, look around in /usr/src/linux/Documentation for a list of the supported framebuffer resolution numbers. You'll also want to make sure that you're using the VESA VGA driver.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 11:42 AM   #3
Ronald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Ronald
Default

No i don't run FB at all, not nv, not vesa. I compiled those all as modules so the kernel cannot load it whatever boot params i throw at it ;-)

(this part did work correctly with 4349 driver)

(running devfs)
[18:40:41][root@louise:~]# cat /proc/fb
[18:40:48][root@louise:~]# ls /dev/fb*
. ..
[18:41:20][root@louise:~]#
Ronald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Russian Masterpieces Put on Display Using NVIDIA GPU Technology News Archived News Items 0 06-25-12 04:10 PM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
TwinView, fullscreen on TV brosen NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 10:29 AM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 06:45 AM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 09:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.