Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-07, 09:36 PM   #1
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Crysis 64bit Issues

1) It wont open through the Bin64 folder. It just crashes right away, even with a nocd fix.

2) When running via the 32 bit mode, it crashes within 10 to 20 minutes.
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-07, 09:28 AM   #2
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

First off, don't bother with the 64bit exe, its slower than the 32bit exe at everything. Secondly, you might wanna try bringing your video card back down to stock, I had serious artefact and crashing issues when I tried overclocking using some Gainward OEM software to overclock
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-07, 07:38 PM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by sytaylor
First off, don't bother with the 64bit exe, its slower than the 32bit exe at everything. Secondly, you might wanna try bringing your video card back down to stock, I had serious artefact and crashing issues when I tried overclocking using some Gainward OEM software to overclock
Odd... I have played 64bit... feels about the same as 32bit....
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-07, 07:42 PM   #4
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

Same it fells about the same.
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-07, 11:17 PM   #5
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by XP_GUN
Same it fells about the same.
Fair enough, still no real advantage to the 64bit exe if its crashing especially.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-08, 12:04 AM   #6
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

^ agreed.

breathemetal try to reinstall the game to see if that works? Also try to see if your Audio and Video drivers are up to date. Other than that what is it doing when it crashes? just a black window or nothing?
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-08, 01:53 AM   #7
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

It's actually slower for me using the 32bit exe in Vista 64. And not just slower, like half the FPS slower...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-08, 08:00 AM   #8
Tuningmaster
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 462
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony
It's actually slower for me using the 32bit exe in Vista 64. And not just slower, like half the FPS slower...

Thats odd because 32bit runs the same as 64bit for me and Im on Vista 64.

The only bug I have found with 64bit is the snow parts of the game, the FPS takes a big nose dive where as the 32bit exe is still ok.
Tuningmaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-02-08, 06:21 PM   #9
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

So I just finished installing Vista 64 and while it was installing I took the time to read a few reviews and investigations into DX10 32bit vs 64bit Crysis at "very high." I've yet to get Crysis installed on my 64bit partition but now I think I'm just going to put it on hold as there does not appear to be any benefit at all to going 64bit in crysis.

A few people are reporting that the game "feels smoother" but the numbers seem to indicate that the FPS are exactly the same. Does not seem worth the trouble. Probably should of read a bit more before taking the time to install Vista 64. On the other hand, I'm sure I'll use it in the future..
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-08, 06:29 PM   #10
Tuningmaster
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 462
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
So I just finished installing Vista 64 and while it was installing I took the time to read a few reviews and investigations into DX10 32bit vs 64bit Crysis at "very high." I've yet to get Crysis installed on my 64bit partition but now I think I'm just going to put it on hold as there does not appear to be any benefit at all to going 64bit in crysis.

A few people are reporting that the game "feels smoother" but the numbers seem to indicate that the FPS are exactly the same. Does not seem worth the trouble. Probably should of read a bit more before taking the time to install Vista 64. On the other hand, I'm sure I'll use it in the future..

The FPS is the exact same from 32bit to 64bit Vista. I have tested it both ways.

A lot of people are just getting the placebo affect and I get a kick out of it.
Tuningmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-08, 06:38 PM   #11
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Crysis 64bit Issues

So I went ahead and gave Crysis 64bit a try. It ran terrible. Much worse than Vista 32bit. Perhaps there's something wrong with my Vista x64 install but I'm not gunna bother trying to figure it out.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.