Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-08, 07:38 PM   #1
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default 1366x768 resolution is rejected

My HDTV's native resolution is 1366x768, but my GeForce 6200 LE always rejects that resolution and uses 1280x1024 instead, unless I use a very old version of the nvidia drivers (1.0.9639). Every other version after that will not use the correct resolution.

Does anyone have any advice for me whatsoever? I posted about this 14 months ago with no response.

Here is a section of my xorg.conf:

Section "Device"
Identifier "mydevice"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 0
Option "DPI" "100 x 100"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "myscreen"
Device "mydevice"
Monitor "mymonitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1360x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection

I'm willing to try anything.
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-08, 07:42 PM   #2
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

I do get an error regarding ACPI in Xorg.0.log but it comes after the resolution is determined.
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 03:09 AM   #3
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

You should read the sticky post "if you have problems..." and post the bug report you generated with the verbose logging on.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 10:01 AM   #4
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

startx errors so I couldn't turn on verbose logging, but startxfce4 works. Here is the debugging log. Please let me know if you need more info.

I actually use 1360x768 with the old drivers since they won't work with 1366 either, so that's what I'm trying in the log.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (62.7 KB, 153 views)
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 01:14 PM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 LE at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): HIQ Q320WD DVI (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): HIQ Q320WD DVI (DFP-0): 155.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): HIQ Q320WD DVI (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1360x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1280 x 1024

The log was not made with verbose logging on, so it is difficult to say what is causing the 1360x768 to be rejected.
Probably you need to boot the system in textmode so you can use the documented startx command.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 04:41 PM   #6
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Try this modeline it works for me.

#1360x768 @60 Hz,85.5 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1366x768" 85.5 1360 1440 1552 1792 768 771 777 795
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 11:10 AM   #7
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

I had to trim the tops and bottoms of both logs since they were over 100kb with verbose logging. Let me know if you need the info.

Attached old-driver.txt is the output when starting Xorg under nvidia-drivers-1.0.9639. 1360x768 works perfectly and is reported this way:

Native Resolution (Max: 1360 x 768)

Attached new-driver.txt is the output when starting Xorg under nvidia-drivers-100.14.23. 1360x768 is rejected and reported this way:

Mode is rejected: Mode (1360 x 768) is too large for DFP
Native Resolution (Max: 1280 x 1024)
Attached Files
File Type: txt old-driver.txt (96.5 KB, 138 views)
File Type: txt new-driver.txt (98.1 KB, 183 views)
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 12:20 PM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Try adding this to the monitor configuration section:

Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

The 1360x768 mode is returned by your screen but the Nvidia driver misdetects the native resolution as 1280x1024.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-08, 01:56 PM   #9
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Thank you pe1chl. It works. I know I've tried that option before but I must have put it under the device section.

I tried 1366x768 which is my screen's real resolution, but it is rejected:

No valid modes for "1366x768"; removing.
Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
"nvidia-auto-select".
Validated modes:
"nvidia-auto-select"
Virtual screen size determined to be 1360 x 768

Is there any hope for 1366x768? If not, is there a way to move the display over so 3 columns of unlit pixels are on either side instead of 6 columns on the left?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 02:20 PM   #10
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Thats why I gave you the 1360x768 modeline. I haven't found one that will do 1366x768.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 02:46 PM   #11
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

bacon,

So that modeline doesn't do 1366 even though that's the way it's defined?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 02:49 PM   #12
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

The resolution of a modeline is not determined by its name, but by the 9 numbers that define it. The 2nd and 6th numbers are the H and V size.
An Nvidia card can only output resolutions whose H size is a multiple of 8.
1366 isn't a multiple of 8, but 1360 and 1368 are.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Unable to get other display resolution jcdole NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 04:25 AM
What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.? imtim83 Gaming Central 9 10-04-02 10:17 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.