Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-08, 09:50 PM   #1
sannysanoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Question TV-OUT: tv not detected, but if forced, then main monitor is OFF

Hello gentlemen,

Trying to do simultaneous monitor/tv picture (xinerama, or twinview or
whatever).
When I use Option "ConnectedMonitors" "TV,CRT", then tv is OK, monitor
is not ok. If I don't use this option, then TV is off (signal=0), monitor OK.
Note that when monitor goes off, it is not "out of sync", but "power
save mode" instead. It is LG1501B LCD monitor.

I use old THOMSON color tv, SCART socket on it, connecting via
s-composite to card.

Windows driver works so-so, not allowing to switch away from NTSC
(thus display is grayscale and sometimes not stable). On the dialog
where you normally choose TV Standard, it says no connectors detected
(list is blank, and 'auto' is chosen above it). Other parts same
windows driver (e.g. video tuning) detect 2 monitors and show in the
list.

Linux drivers ver.169.0.7, and ver.100.?? behave the same way, no luck.

Please help me because I bought this card specifically to replace
RADEON 9000 card which I also have problem with (in linux; windows is
OK).

I created the log bug-report log file while launching in "TV mode" (with
monitor not working).

Could anyone provide any help, plz!

P.S. Looking at the file, i see ConnectedDisplays 0x101,
EnabledDisplays 0x001, AssociatedDisplays 0x001
In the "monitor mode", all values are 0x020, which makes me wonder how
to "enable" display in "TV mode".

Best regards,
Alex.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (123.9 KB, 87 views)
sannysanoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 09:54 AM   #2
sannysanoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Smile SOLVED!!! --- TV-OUT: tv not detected, but if forced, then main monitor is OFF

[[[ SOLVED ]]]

My television also has second input, on the front. While problem described above applies to SCART connection (located at the rear of the television), the second input (RCA connector, for quick camcorder connection, i suppose; another input for audio is nearby) works fine. Went to the market, bought this cable - voila!

I want to note that with SCART connection video card did not detect my TV during the boot (POST screen). With RCA input POST screen and linux boot is in clone mode.

RCA input: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Composite_video
SCART: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCART

Last edited by sannysanoff; 01-06-08 at 09:56 AM. Reason: editing
sannysanoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.