Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-08, 11:36 PM   #13
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

You definitely need to use $399 Monster cables. They upconvert the Wii to 1080pee.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-08, 11:37 PM   #14
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
You definitely need to use $399 Monster cables. They upconvert the Wii to 1080pee.
thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-08, 12:31 AM   #15
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Thanks for the tip evilchris.

He knows HT. I trust everythig he says. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-08, 12:54 AM   #16
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Not to be confused with Crainger's "Pee 1080"
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-08, 03:27 AM   #17
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

You want component cables because then the colors are separated on different cables each shielded (r/g/b (+audio r/w)) oposed to the composite cable (yellow/red/white) where only one cable is responsible for all colors etc and they interfer with oneanother.

Monster brand cables are a bit overkill (pricewize that is) Average player would prolly not see that much of a difference anyway and its only good if you know everything in the chain is high quallity.

Component cables are still Analoge, comparable with say VGA, also analoge. When ever possible use a digital source for flatscreens (hdmi/dvi) to bypass the DAC. And always progressive scan when possible. Else you loose on picture quallity when interlaced is converted to progressive to show on the flatscreen.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-08, 10:08 AM   #18
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

I'm using this.

Actually I finally replaced that with one of these. They both work fine, although the first one was only worth it when the only component cables you could get were $60+ right after the Wii came out.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 02:39 AM   #19
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

This is the one I'm currently using;

SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 08:41 AM   #20
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

We need to market a $400 super High-Def "Bigman Edition" cable

When you plug it it, it makes your TV BIGGER!!!
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-08, 09:21 AM   #21
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EciDemon
Component cables are still Analoge, comparable with say VGA, also analoge. When ever possible use a digital source for flatscreens (hdmi/dvi) to bypass the DAC. And always progressive scan when possible. Else you loose on picture quallity when interlaced is converted to progressive to show on the flatscreen.
So is this possible to do with a wii?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 09:30 AM   #22
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
So is this possible to do with a wii?
Progressive can be done over component cables, but AFAIK it doesn't support HDMI or DVI, so you're going to have to deal with the analog to digital conversion. TBH, most people can't tell the difference though. My two monitors are run on VGA and DVI respectively and even looking very closely I can't see a difference. DAC's these days are pretty good so unless you're a videophile you probably won't notice.

And in any case, if you're that concerned about graphics the Wii is probably not for you.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 09:36 AM   #23
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemecb
Progressive can be done over component cables, but AFAIK it doesn't support HDMI or DVI, so you're going to have to deal with the analog to digital conversion. TBH, most people can't tell the difference though. My two monitors are run on VGA and DVI respectively and even looking very closely I can't see a difference. DAC's these days are pretty good so unless you're a videophile you probably won't notice.

And in any case, if you're that concerned about graphics the Wii is probably not for you.
I like the wii-- I just want to get the best visuals I can.

edit: Just paid $10 shipped for some off of Amazon. I'll report on their effectiveness.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 05:26 PM   #24
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,727
Default Re: wii 480p -- cabling ?

Component on a low resolution system like the Wii is daft ,Id prefer to have the picture a bit blurred to make up for the blockiness.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E3 arrives, Sim City astounds, Wii U bemuses News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.