Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-08, 02:50 PM   #1
H4yd3n
Embrace the plague!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 194
Default I need some advice.

Okay, I'm going to be getting a computer at the end of the week. I was wondering, what is the best thing I can buy for around $1500.00 USD. I was looking at the Dell XPS 420 with an NVidia 8800 GTS and 4gb RAM with Vista. I also was trying to decide if it was worth it to pay the $300 extra for a
Q6700 instead of a Q6600.

I need your input on what kind of computer I should get, and I'm posting this here, because I want a rig that can run Crysis on Very High DX10 within my price range.

I appreciate the help.

-H4yd3n
__________________

- Q6600 @ 3.06GHz @ 1.2V - EVGA GTX 260 216 801/1338/1727 - ABIT IP35 Pro -
- ZALMAN 9700 - CM Stacker 830 - BENQ 24" LCD - 500 GB Seagate HDD -
- G.Skill 4GB 2 x 2 DDR2 - CM 1000W PSU -
- Logitech G500 - Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Razer eXactMat -
- Logitech G35 - ASUS Black DVD/CD drive - Windows Vista Home Premium x64 -


Quote:
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
- Winston Churchill
H4yd3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 02:53 PM   #2
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: I need some advice.

you won't be able to run crysis on very high.. build your own and save money.

Go with a q6600 G0 and overclock it, you'll get better results than with a QX6700... even if it wasn't overclocked

get two 8800 GTs(good luck finding them) and SLI them so you can save money and still have good performance.

whatever you do, don't shell out the extra $300 for a q6700, definately not worth it.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 02:53 PM   #3
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: I need some advice.

Not to be rude, but there are several threads with a similar topic going on right now. Search around.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 02:54 PM   #4
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: I need some advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
build your own and save money.
Lord is right, and please don't ever buy a piece of trash Dell as a "gaming" pc.
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 02:56 PM   #5
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: I need some advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
you won't be able to run crysis on very high.. build your own and save money.

Go with a q6600 G0 and overclock it, you'll get better results than with a QX6700... even if it wasn't overclocked

get two 8800 GTs(good luck finding them) and SLI them so you can save money and still have good performance.
I you're ok with low resolutions like1024x768 or 1360x768 (in my case) then with that system you can run DX10 very high. Unfortunately most people are not playing Crysis on their TV's so you'll be running a lower res than you're monitors native which never looks as crisp.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 05:41 PM   #6
H4yd3n
Embrace the plague!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 194
Default Re: I need some advice.

I've been looking around, and it really does seem like if I want to save money and get what I want I'm going to have to build one. But it is just such a hassle, I was hoping to be able to just buy it already built.

Also, I know nothing of overclocking so....

Again, thx for the advice. I need it.
__________________

- Q6600 @ 3.06GHz @ 1.2V - EVGA GTX 260 216 801/1338/1727 - ABIT IP35 Pro -
- ZALMAN 9700 - CM Stacker 830 - BENQ 24" LCD - 500 GB Seagate HDD -
- G.Skill 4GB 2 x 2 DDR2 - CM 1000W PSU -
- Logitech G500 - Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Razer eXactMat -
- Logitech G35 - ASUS Black DVD/CD drive - Windows Vista Home Premium x64 -


Quote:
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
- Winston Churchill
H4yd3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 06:16 PM   #7
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I need some advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by H4yd3n
I've been looking around, and it really does seem like if I want to save money and get what I want I'm going to have to build one. But it is just such a hassle, I was hoping to be able to just buy it already built.

Also, I know nothing of overclocking so....

Again, thx for the advice. I need it.
I built my first rig last year... it really isn't difficult. Just a matter of buying the correct parts, knowing some of the basics of putting things together, and taking your time. It's actually quite rewarding.

You should be able to get help every step of the way here anyhow.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-08, 06:17 PM   #8
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: I need some advice.

yes... if you can snap two legos together then it shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-08, 10:04 PM   #9
ClosetFanBoy
Thorazine shuffle
 
ClosetFanBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Elk Grove Ca.
Posts: 829
Default Re: I need some advice.

Check out overclockers.com. Good place to start and ask some Q's. You should be able to build a pretty decent rig with $1500 if you do your homework. Even for $1000 you could build something that would knock that Dell in the dirt.

I'm a fan of Gigabyte and G.Skill myself, but everyones tastes/miles vary.

Whatever you do, look into a good PSU!

Here's a fun place to trip around Xoxide

I think their caffeine section is my favorite.

Like everyone said, building a rig is cake really, and once you do, theres no turning back, it's pretty addicting...
__________________
In order to find his equal a man is forced to converse with God.

iPhone junkie...
ClosetFanBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 12:33 AM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: I need some advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
yes... if you can snap lego together then it shouldn't be a problem.
Fixed.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 01:22 AM   #11
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: I need some advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
yes... if you can snap two legos together then it shouldn't be a problem.
Until you put all the legos together and your motherboard doesn't post :P

It rarely goes smoothly.
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 01:37 AM   #12
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: I need some advice.

Get a q6600, 2x3870s in Crossfire, a nice 600w+PSU, 4Gb of RAM(800Mhz CL4 is good enough), a nice P5K motherboard and you're all set! And it'll cost you a lot less than that Dell.

EDIT: Umm, I don't think there's any computer on the market that is able to run Crysis at very high in DX10(Tri SLi perhaps, but that's waaay out of your budget), but two 3870 in crossfire should give you the performance you need for a lot less than what two 8800gt would cost you.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/605/8/
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need your guys advice with this build.. anything should be added or removed? hirantha CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 05-18-12 08:36 PM
Need advice on GeForce4 Ti 4200 cards marqmajere NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 40 09-26-02 01:01 AM
Suse 8.0 on Nforce - advice hastings NVIDIA Linux 3 08-25-02 04:27 AM
Advice on a CD-RW/DVD Player joltcola General Hardware 10 08-16-02 05:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.