Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-03, 06:13 AM   #1
DustSmoke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Default Not a normal TwinView question

Does anybody know if it is possible to jump between metamodes without restarting X?

I like to watch movies on the tv (since it's huge) but my crappy tv encoder on this card can only do 800x600. If you ask me, xinerama is unusable for CRT,TV combos "rightof,leftof,etc" and can only be used as "clone" (expecially if you plan on 2 different resolutions) So far multiple X enviroments and exporting the display to head 1/0 for an application is the best bet for linux as it stands. (but extremely cumbersome, xinerama would be possible if anybody would write software to stick to primairy heads instead of it randomly picking a head to display on.)

So what I would like to do is jump between "metamodes" "1024x768, NULL; NULL, 800x600" without constantly keeping the system in runlevel 3 so I can edit the dumb XF86Config file every single time I feel like watching a movie. (so i don't have to wait a year for the system to reboot)

Is there a better way? Is it possible with something other than a mobile processor?

Thanks
DustSmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 08:37 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Ctrl-Alt-KeypadPlus and Ctrl-Alt-KeypadMinus
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-03, 01:49 PM   #3
DustSmoke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Default

I tried that and it doesn't seem to work for me. (doesn't seem to do anything)

Does it work for you? Here's how I have twinview setup.

-------------------------------------------------
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Gainward"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX 400"
VideoRam 32768
Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, NULL; NULL, 800x600"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
EndSection
------------------------------------------------

It seems to ignore the Screen sections modes with nvidia driver loaded on X 4.3.0
DustSmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 12:04 AM   #4
Jayce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Jayce Send a message via AIM to Jayce Send a message via Yahoo to Jayce
Unhappy Twinview resolution switching

ACtually, I'm having this same problem since upgrading to the new .run based drivers. using the usual resolutions switching sequence doesn't work if I'm in twinview. Single monitor mode it works fine. I've played areound enough with everything else, if I just turn off twinview I can change resolutions.

This of course is annoying, because now I can't play any games, since they drop in the middle of the two monitors, and the other turns off.
Jayce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 03:00 AM   #5
DustSmoke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Default

Works exactly the same for me....

nvidia driver bug I guess
DustSmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 06:51 AM   #6
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DustSmoke
I tried that and it doesn't seem to work for me. (doesn't seem to do anything)

Does it work for you?
Yes, but I don't use TwinView, so, perhaps not.

I was under the impression from somewhere (the README perhaps? maybe) that that would work.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.