Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-08, 09:10 AM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

I have never used anything except dialup before, but my ISP was just bought out by a company that claims that they shall offer nationwide DSL by next month. Depending on several factors, I will probably subscribe to it. However, one question keeps running around in my head...is DSL always on, or is there a dialup to connect, like I'm doing now?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 10:53 AM   #2
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

Always on.
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 12:17 PM   #3
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

Thanks, I was afraid of that, since I only have one telephone line and can't afford another. However, I was reading about a new internet telephone service called Ooma, that provides a second line free. The catch is that they require you to buy a telephone hub from them that costs $400. I guess that in the long run it would be cheap enough.

The reason that this is an issue for me now, is because one change made with the buy out of the ISP is that instead of unlimited connection time, it is now only 350 hours a month, which I usually exceed. They don't just charge extra for the overtime, they suspend service til the next month.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 12:45 PM   #4
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

DSL runs concurrently with your phone service. You usually just need a filter installed on your wall outlets and you're good to go. Since DSL is always on the only way they might be able to cap your usage is by actually tracking the amount of data you download, so that 350hrs probably only applies to dial-up, which makes sense, I would check their ToS on the various packages they will be offering for more details, and when in doubt call'em up and ask'em.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 02:14 PM   #5
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

That is good to know, but it still sounds strange that I could dial a regular telephone number while DSL is operating at the same time. However, I'm not questioning it. Just guessing, I suppose that ToS is the baudrate of the DSL...yes?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 02:24 PM   #6
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
That is good to know, but it still sounds strange that I could dial a regular telephone number while DSL is operating at the same time. However, I'm not questioning it. Just guessing, I suppose that ToS is the baudrate of the DSL...yes?
ToS = Terms of service, basically a contract stating your freedoms and limitations on the service.. I wouldn't worry about the technology it's been around awhile, you should also keep in mind DSL can have a limited range, if you don't live usually <10k feet from your telephone's Central Office or a Remote Terminal you won't be able to receive the service. The company in question should be able to provide an availability check for you to determine if you meet the requirements.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 04:38 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

10k feet! If a person must live within less than two miles of the telephone company, then there can't be that many DSL customers. I really don't want to, but I may have to break down and get cable.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 06:40 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

I wouldn't worry. We have DSL here in AU and there are people who live 10-20km from their nearest exchange who get a connection just fine.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-25-08, 06:58 PM   #9
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

I wonder if the quality of service varies much by locale?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 07:50 PM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

It does. Why not do some research with neighbours. Ask if they have DSL, who they are with etc. If they all have nice clean connections the only thing you have to worry about is how good your providor is and how good the wiring in your home is.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 08:05 PM   #11
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

That sounds reasonable, but unfortunately, I live in a complex where I think that most of the residents have cable. I think that it will work out to trial and error. But then, judging by the availability from other companys that I have contacted in the past, I will be surprised if mine actually offers it for my location. They seem to be great at making claims that they can't live up to.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 08:10 PM   #12
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

They always do. ::

Do they offer a trial period? I know a lot of DSL providers here offer a 30 day trial. So you can test to see if you can get it and have it working ok. If it doesn't work, you send their crap back for a full refund. Then again this is Australia. Completely different ball game when it comes to ISPs.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting Nature: Cameras Gain Popularity, Guns Lose News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-28-12 09:30 PM
Video: How Panasas Parallel Storage Tames the Big Data Beast News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-27-12 10:50 AM
Multicore CPU unpark cores and unleash your beast AthlonXP1800 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 21 05-05-12 09:39 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.