Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-07, 04:40 PM   #1
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Crysis is being released tomorrow for us non-lucky mortal ones, so I'm gonna spend some time tomorrow playing around with the configs using tweakguides.com is my basis. But lets all share our most beloved config atm so we can all have the best possible Crysis config tweak ready for release!

I wish I could start out, but it's not final yet so I can't!

Fire away!

EDIT: My personal final retail tweak is up, lookie here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...page=4&post#60
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit

Last edited by Gaco; 11-16-07 at 01:05 PM.
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 04:42 PM   #2
loafer87gt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 424
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

i tried a bunch of different tweaks on my system below, but found that the default medium settings give the best experience. At my monitors native res of 1920x1200, high is borderline unplayable when there is a lot going on onscreen, and very high is reserved for next gen hardware. I played the game until I reached the winter levels, and then decided to shelve the game until I have some better hardware to play it on. Unlike what others have said, I have found the retail runs quite a bit slower than the demo in the action heavy later levels. With all the other great games like COD4 and The Witcher, which run great on todays hardware, I thought there is little point trying to run a game in which my system apparently barely meets the requirements. If you have a beefy enough system and am running it at low resolution, I'm sure the game is a real visual treat, however.
__________________
System Specs:

Intel QX6700 @ 3.2 Ghz
Intel Bad Axe 2 Motherboard
8 GB Corsair Dominator 8500
MSI TwinFroz GTX 470
Soundblaster X-Fi
Silverstone Zeus 850 PSU
Dell FPW2405 LCD
Win 7 64 Bit
loafer87gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 05:13 PM   #3
mortster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

My rig:

E6420@3.2Ghz
BFG 8800GTX OC
2 GB DDR2-800
Dell 2405fpw
Windows XP

Ok so I decided that to run my native resolution, 1920x1200, I would need to sacrifice some settings from HIGH, so I decided instead to accept some interpolation by going down to 1680x1050 and still allowing the Dell to scale, rather than 1:1.

This is with 0xAA and all defaults with the 169.09 driver.

I set all ingame options to HIGH and then used the following system.cfg file located in the \program files\crysis directory.

con_restricted=0
r_displayinfo=0
r_motionblur=0
r_sunshafts=1
r_useedgeaa=0

;these vars turn on color grading, which gives the very high look
q_renderer=3
r_colorgrading=1

; water very high override
r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate=0.05


This gives me the full very high water effects which I love, and then the color grading extra high effect plus sunshafts.

I turn edge AA off as I find using it combined with the interpolation/scaling of the dell makes things too blurry. This gives me back only about 2fps.

I turn off motion blur as it gives me back about 5-8fps.

This combined gives me an average framerate of 35fps, with a minimum of 24fps (measure using GPU benchmark test)

It's playable, but I would love to get an average framerate of 45 or more.
mortster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 05:59 PM   #4
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:01 PM   #5
wazandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Hi guys,

I used the recent XP config tweak for the single player demo, and it definitely improved my performance, then again - my maximum resolution is 1680.

My rig:

Q6600
4 gig DDR2
Nvidia SLI motherboard
8800 ULTRA (factory o/c)

Can someone re-post that XP tweak to bring very high (and certain DX10 effects) in the XP version of the config file? Thanks...
wazandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:03 PM   #6
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

In my sig.

I'm getting 23-30FPS at 1920x1200, high settings, post-processing and shaders medium. A little clunky, but playable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:09 PM   #7
Sowk
STEAM ID: OSE Killer
 
Sowk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 394
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mortster

;these vars turn on color grading, which gives the very high look
q_renderer=3
r_colorgrading=1
So this is what get rid of the tint of the normal high mode, and make the picture more life like in color correct.

If so great!

example
I took screenshots of just HIGH in-game settings and then using the ULTRA HIGH settings via an autoexec file, and the colors where way better, and with better lighting.
Sowk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:13 PM   #8
mortster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sowk
So this is what get rid of the tint of the normal high mode, and make the picture more life like in color correct.

If so great!

example
I took screenshots of just HIGH in-game settings and then using the ULTRA HIGH settings via an autoexec file, and the colors where way better, and with better lighting.
Yes!
mortster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-07, 06:13 PM   #9
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957
Wow, nice one. I think I will be using it as well! Thanks for sharing!
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:15 PM   #10
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

My rig:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2GB Ultra RAM
Evga 7600 GT KO

I am going to kick this games ass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:18 PM   #11
D!Z
Registered User
 
D!Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
In my sig.

I'm getting 23-30FPS at 1920x1200, high settings, post-processing and shaders medium. A little clunky, but playable.

Thats what i have mine at, shaders on med makes it run alot better, high takes a big performance hit.
D!Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-07, 06:42 PM   #12
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957
This is a nice config file, thanks for the link man!
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.